We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC TRIP TO THE MELIA PENINSULA!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our stay was Feb 21 to Feb 28th. This was my third trip to Cuba, first time in Varadero. My husband and daughters had never been. We had a great trip, but I am going to give you my honest account of all areas of this resort:

Check in/out: We arrived quite late, I notice we didn't get the welcoming cocktail, fresh fruit and refreshing towels the other groups arrive to, thats ok. Check in was fairly quick, and we were the first ones out to wait for the guys who take your luggage to your room. They put the luggage on one golf cart, and you ride in the other. The 2 guys brought all 4 suitcases up to the 3rd floor room, and I handed the first guy $10 and said it was for both of them, then the other one turned and asked if I had something for him too. I ended up giving him $5, but I wasn't happy with myself for doing it. Check out was simple, just brought our room cards to the desk. We had a 11:05 pm flight, so we had to be out of our room by 12:00...nothing to do but hang around until the 7:00 pm pickup time. They will allow you to keep your room for an extra $10 per hour, and we asked if we could keep ours until 5:00, but unfortunately the resort was booked to capacity, so they couldn't spare the room any longer. We ended up leaving a half an hour ahead of our scheduled pick up bus, we took a taxi - we wanted to avoid all the huge lines and since we hadn't pre-booked our return seats we wanted to ensure that we got the double seats at the back of the plane so we could all stay together. We were happy we did this.

Rooms: When I booked the trip, I sent a very nice email in English, and translated to Spanish from Google translate saying that we were hoping to get our rooms in block 17 or higher, preferably on the third floor, and because we had our 2 teenage daughters with us we wanted to have the rooms close together. I had read many other trip advisor reviews, and knew that we wanted to stay away from the kiddie pool area, and wanted something more central. What we got was adjoining rooms #2345 and 2356 - on the third floor. We were extremely happy with the location of the rooms - nice balconies overlooking the pool area which wasn't overly loud. There was only one night that they had a water ballet in the pool which started at 9:45 - if you wanted to sleep early it may have been an issue, but we enjoyed sitting on our balcony watching the ballet from above. The rooms were also very close to the snack bar, which was handy for drinks. We decided that if we could have our choice of any location on the resort, this would be the perfect one, or the block directly across from us. Now..having said that, #2356 - our room with the king sized bed - had some issues. The air conditioner was a nightmare, spitting out water all over the floor, and being quite loud. As a result the room was very damp and the bathroom smelled of mildew pretty bad. The toilet ran constantly, and then stopped flushing altogether. It took at least 3 visits and us constantly calling to complain on the customer service line every time it stopped working before it finally got fixed. The A/C issue never got resolved. Our daughters A/C was super quiet and efficient. The toilet stopped working once, but it got fixed quickly. There were no issues with hot water and the pressure was good. Our maid, we LOVED. I am very good to our maids anywhere we go, every day we left her a few pesos and gifts - clothes, perfume, tylenol, cheap kids crocs from the dollar store (I brought 1 small suitcase filled with items I knew I would be leaving in Cuba) She was so appreciative, and I was very happy to know that someone would benefit from anything I left, even if she handed it off to someone else. Our towels were always fresh and clean - no mildew smells, linens smelled clean. She made us cute towel animals and personally thanked us for everything, giving us some little souveniers to take home on our last day, which was very nice. All in all the rooms are spacious but a bit dated, we didn't see one bug - I think being on the third floor helps. The beds are kind of hard, we were happy to come home to our bed. There's not much on the t.v., but we weren't there to watch t.v. so that was fine. There's a shower stall and a deep bathtub in each room, and a walk in closet. There is also a digital safe, and you can choose your own password for it.

Beach - The beach is the best I've ever been to. White sand, crystal clear blue water - just gorgeous. We had superb weather on our week, the first couple of days were hot and a bit windy, so there were lots of waves, the next couple were extremely calm and the last couple of days the swells were a bit stronger, although the waves weren't so high, you could feel yourself being sucked in, so we didn't go out too far. There are free kayaks and paddle boats you can use, snorkel equipment is harder to get - we had to go check several times over a couple of days before we got to use some on the last day. There are also Hobie-Cats that they will take you for a free ride on, but for 20 pesos each they will take you about 15 minutes away to a reef for some better snorkelling. They said we could stay as long as we wanted, but we didn't go so I'm not sure how nice the reef was. For the most part we didn't have any problems finding chairs on the beach, there is a guy there if you go early who will un-stack the chairs and drag them wherever you want - we were always looking for the shade which he found for us, and we would give him a peso - worth it. We didn't have any issues with sand fleas either.

Grounds: The grounds are immaculate, they work very hard to keep them lush, with lots of tall palms and pretty hibiscus everywhere. They had the kids playground roped off, and a sign saying they were refurbishing it, it looked a bit worn, so thats good. There are several wooden walkways over water, and I saw they had drained the water and had stacks of new wood, so it looks like they were replacing them as well. The lobby is very nice, lots of sitting areas, comfy chairs - very open with a nice fountain area which does not need to be fenced off, as a previous reviewer stated..it would just look silly. There are hazards everywhere if you have young children, keep an eye on them. Also, I brought bug repellent, and we didn't have to use it once... not one of us got a bite.

Restaurants/food: Here we go.. YOU DON'T GO TO CUBA FOR THE FOOD! I have heard this and repeated it countless times. It was hit and miss. I didn't starve, I always found something I could eat and my kids and husband were fine too. I loved the pancakes at breakfast, and my favourite was the guy who makes fresh donuts, and there was melted chocolate that you could drizzle on them...so good! I don't love eggs, but my kids and hubby loved the omelettes - there are 2 stations and one of the guys is a rock star at making them. His line up was always longer, but it was because he just made them better. Bacon was like a rare animal - you didn't see it often, but when you did you could appreciate it - and it was gone quickly. We found the lunches at the buffet restaurant were far better than at the beach buffet, and lunch was usually better than dinner. They don't get a lot of fresh veggies in Cuba, but tomatoes, cucumbers, onions, green peppers, potatoes seem to be plentiful. There seems to be a lot of canned foods. I enjoyed rice and meat every day - there is a guy frying (not grilling unfortunately) different types of meat, but the line was always long - I think they don't cook it in advance so that one person comes and snags it all - it was made to order. My kids loved the ice cream. We didn't eat a lot of the desserts, but the fresh crepe station was nice.. yes.. I had a total carb-fest of a week! There was also a big variety of cheeses - feta, chèvre, blue, cream, etc every day, and LOTS of fresh breads and rolls which are very good. We went to 3 al a cartes - if you ask nicely like we did, the girl taking the reservations will do 3 instead of the usual 2 per week. These were our best meals. The Mexican was really good food and entertainment. The Italian was also good food, and I loved the 3 piece band that entertained us, and the Japanese had a GREAT show, we had a lot of fun watching and participating in the cooking - but the food wasn't quite as good for us, we eat a lot of Japanese at home, it was just ok. The snack bar had lots of sandwiches and pizzas, burgers and hot dogs. The only thing I really enjoyed there myself was the french fries - they were really good...unfortunately they didn't have any the last 3 days we were there. They were always running out of popular items.
Drinks at the bars were always really strong for us - I think rum is probably cheaper for them than the mix. We just always asked for less alcohol, and it was ok. We loved the Pina Coladas, but they were not consistent at any of the bars - some days awesome, some days..meh. The most consistent that we found were at the snack bar. I also loved the cappuccinos at the lobby bar - they were excellent. I highly recommend bringing a "Bubba" to keep your drinks cold - my husband brought one, and I didn't, and I was jealous all week. haha. The drinks are very small, so you also avoid having to make several trips to the bar.

Excursions: We paid 5 pesos each to take the double decker bus to downtown Veradero. It was fun, we stopped and did some souvenir shopping and did the complete round trip to take in all the sights. Its worth it, because for 5 pesos you can get on and off as many times as you want all day long. We also did the Havana trip. It was 59 pesos each, the bus picked us up at 7:30 am, and dropped us off at 7:00 pm. It was an interesting trip, lots of walking and we got harassed a bit by beggars, but honestly not anything like other places I have been such as Jamaica. There is a lot of history in the city, it included a stop at a museum, a cigar factory which we bought some cigars for friends and the prices were much better - don't ever buy cigars from anyone off the street, they are not good quality. They also sold Havana Club rum there, and it was really cheap too. Our lunch was ok, nothing special. Our guide was pretty good, but she spent a lot of time saying what she was "supposed to say" to paint a rosy picture of Cuba, even though she seemed a bit defeated. We went for Mojitos at an old bar that was supposedly the birthplace of the Mojito. Everyone says you haven't been to Cuba until you've been to Havana, but for me I could have passed on it. The other excursion was the Jeep Safari tour.. I HIGHLY recommend this one! It felt like we did so much in one day. It was $81 pesos - worth every penny. The only thing is someone has to be able to drive a stick. There was 4 of us, so we had a jeep (not really, some type of jeep wannabe) to ourselves. My husband drove, and they took us off-roading. It was a long convoy of jeeps, which was fun. We did so many things, a snorkelling trip to a nice reef, a boat ride down the Canimar River, which you drive your own boat, a trip to a ranch where we had a quick horseback ride, and visited a colonial ranch house. The people who lived there were so nice - the old man showed us the shackles in the room where the slaves used to be kept which was one of those "wow" moments. He showed me around his house, and pointed out his Canadian Flag that he was proud of. We had lunch here, and it was a nice buffet, and for an extra 10 pesos you could have a huge grilled lobster tail which was awesome! We ended the day off at Saturno cave, where there is a crystal clear spring that you could jump in and swim in..it was super refreshing after our long day. 22 meters deep and you could see right down to the bottom! If you like adventure, this is the excursion for you!

Entertainment: We only took in a few shows. They weren't great... we liked the International show, but the Disney show was horrible, just a bunch of lip-syncing. the animation team isn't really present a lot of the time..the best day was Wednesday by the pool they had a live Cuban show and some games. There was water aerobics every day either in the pool or the beach. Also dancing lessons on the beach. I guess there was a full agenda of activities to be had, but I just didn't see as much going on as I have at other resorts.

All in all, I really do recommend this resort. We came back with a lot of great memories, nice pictures and we enjoyed everything on the whole. Our resort looked nicer than a lot of the others on the strip, and my conversations with people staying at the RIU nearby told me that it was pretty much the same types of issues at their resort. If you can't make a resort like this work for you in Cuba, maybe you should consider going to a different destination. The Cuban people are wonderful, appreciative and super friendly. If you hate tipping, you just won't get the same service. These people live off their tips, and although its not expected, the service you get reflects the tips you give. We had no problems in that department, but we are generous tippers too. It is like this everywhere.. Sorry this was so long, but I was trying to be as informative as possible!

Room Tip: rooms from about 18 or higher are closer to the beach, away from the kiddie pool - 3rd floor ensures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank 148sandrac148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 4,819 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed four nights at the end of a tour, seeking a relaxing beach location to unwind before travelling home. Met just about all of our expectations - spacious suite-type rooms arranged in 'blocks' two or three stories high in a lovely garden setting. Two excellent pools (one for children) and easy access to beautiful uncrowded beach - enhanced by the lack of noisy boat/jet ski-type activities and beach touts so often encountered in the Caribbean. Food and drink is all-inclusive with good range including four a la carte restuarants. Food quality varies from good through average. Buffet choices so varied that hard not to find something that suits. A la carte (advance booking only) a bit variable - eg. Mexican was good, Italian less so - but staff try hard to please. Friendly staff and good service are the norm with small tips always eliciting a very warm response. Public areas relaxing - with good music in the evenings. Nice feel to the whole site.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIchael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Wonderful time away from the crazy world. Staff were outstanding, food was wonderful, we love omelet guy, drinks were always there and the staff over the top. Hey we didn't have a king bed but this made the experience a challenge but fun. Great experience I thank you for making my third time in Cuba, why I keeping coming back. Only complaint the Air Transit rep Dominic sucked big time, they need someone who cares about people. You will love this place and Cuba, the food outstanding, beaches clean, warm and lots of sunshine and drinks. The Rooms big and comfortable with walk in closets. At the end of a hot day go to the kids pool and have a ice cream and relax the kids are sleeping the pool is empty. Thanks to everyone a Meila Peninusula Varaderi. Take the trip to Havana and experience theTropicana, WOW!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed and check when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siddory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This is my second trip to Cuba and have been to many other all inclusives and this is my first review.
Got in late, had requested a queen or king bed on the second floor, got 2 twins on the first floor and was just told sorry, got to the room and our keys didn't work and had to walk to front desk to exchange them, finally got in the room but had no power, had to go back to front desk and get maintenance to fix it... By now it was 2:30 am, oh well no big deal we were on vacation. Started to put my luggage away and came across the biggest cockroach we have ever seen, too late to complain so one dead cockroach later and a room smelling strongly of raid ( I bring my own) we try to sleep ( with the lights on, in case of more cockroaches). 7am we are startled awake by someone pounding on our door, we go to the door and look out to see a highly intoxicated young man kicking our door, we holler through the door that he's at the wrong room but he continues to run and kick our door...finally my fiancé opens the door and tries to tell him he's got the wrong room but he is so intoxicated he physically continues to try and come in, so my fiancé removed him nicely twice and the third time by the neck and closed the door...he continued to try and kick the door down, had to call security eventually and they showed up and took him back to his room which apparently was in the next building. Security came back and said sorry, then eventually came back and painted the door because it was so damaged from the beating it took. This was day 1.

The rest of the week was very repetitive, same food, same piano player, and a few people playing the same music every day in the lobby. Very little entertainment on this resort at all.

The food which is usually not great by Canadian standards where ever you are in cuba, was very bland, unidentifiable at times and caused gastro problems for me. Also the cooks at the hot station were using the same tongs for everything, he would pick up raw chicken with the tongs and then pass cooked beef or pork with the same ones.

Beach was great, water was warm and we had great weather while there. No activities on the beach.

Took the excursion to Havana. 118 cuc for 2 of us. Good price, left at 8am, returned at 7pm...Havana is a beautiful place but was unable to comfortably enjoy the city because we were constantly harassed for money, if you stopped to look at something, tried to take a picture, or even made eye contact they wanted money. Would be nice to explore without that. Also everyone says how poor Cuba is but our tour rep told us that they are not as poor as people think they are, and I believe that to be true but why not ask for money if people continue to give it

There were also very few English speaking guests at this resort. Seemed to be mostly French, Spanish and perhaps Russian?

Also everywhere we went on this resort we felt we had to tip, which I don't mind doing most times for services but it was near impossible to get small denominations, perhaps a new method to get better tips??

Anyway you will never truly know about a resort unless you visit yourself but I know I won't return to this resort and probably won't return to Cuba anytime soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cathy2742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Friends,

Receive a nice regard from Meliá Península Varadero.

We would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We can assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, we hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hola: A most enjoyable and relaxing stay at Melia Peninsula Varadero. Staff very helpful. Spacious clean rooms. Very good buffet, multitude of choics. Fresh meat and fish grilling everyday,also omelettes, pancakes, crepes. Delicious huge selection of breads, buns and pastries. Also good cheese and cold cuts choices and fruits and vegetables. Try also a la carte at Japanese and French Restaurants. Great beach and pool area, plenty of lounges. Lovely grounds. Long wait for money exchange. Otherwise no complaints here. C.& W. Burlington, On. Can.

Room Tip: We were near pool and beach. Perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I just got back from the Melia Penisula Varadero ( used to be Tryp). This is our third time at this property and I love it every time I go. It is a mid size resort with beautiful greenery and lots of tall palms.the Melia group just took over so are just starting to make some changes to it but all seem very enthusiastic about its future. Rooms are clean and comfortable( tho beds are a little hard)There are four al a cartes and the food is great in all. Japenese and Mexican were our favs.
The beach is one of the best, long white sand and water perfect for swimming or anything you want to do. sometimes a little windy as you are on the point but don't let that stop you. guys on beach are very helpful as well.
Not a big party resort so if you are looking for that, look elsewhere. but for a quieter, special place I highly recommend it.
Would go back again!

Room Tip: NOt many rooms on beach but not far to go in the 18-28 buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachloverhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff at this hotel make your holiday a truly memorable experience. From the Manager to the chambermaid, the staff are charming and cannot do enough for you. The Mexican a La Carte Restaurant deserves a special mention for the excellent food and service and the accompaniment of a three piece group consisting of a female singer a violinist and guitarist who played songs for every nationality in the restaurant making it a most enjoyable evening.

Room Tip: We had three rooms and all were to an excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2016

Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
4.2 mi away
Iberostar Bella Vista
Iberostar Bella Vista
#12 of 64 in Varadero
534 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel
Blau Varadero Hotel
#3 of 64 in Varadero
7,090 reviews
4.8 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
5,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
6,545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
7,073 reviews
5.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Peninsula Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#22 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing