We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Peninsula Varadero
Ranked #33 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a fabulous holiday at the Tryp. Our room smelt a bit musty at first but this soon cleared and it was cleaned thoroughly every day and the towels were also replaced every day. This is the friendliest place we have ever stayed. All the staff were fabulous, from the bar staff and waiters to the entertainments team and the gardeners and cleaners, who all wanted to chat and practice their English! The shows at the theatre each night were brilliant and the dancers were fantastic! There are also brilliant groups of musicians performing at the various bars and restaurants around the resort. The food in the buffet restaurant was reasonably good, with plenty of choice. The breakfast chef deserves a special mention for his fabulous omelettes cooked to order with a good choice of fillings which varied each day. You can also go to the various a la carte restaurants twice during a one-week say. We opted to go to the Mexican, which was OK, and the French, which was fantastic. The staff also put on a special meal for the English guests one night, which was a lovely idea and gave us a chance to get to know each other. As for the resort itself, it is very attractive and the gardens are beautiful and very well kept. The pool is huge and the beach is gorgeous, although we couldn't get on the beach for the last couple of days of our stay as the beach was being built up ready for the main holiday season. Overall, a great holiday and we would love to return to the Tryp one day!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a balcony with a lovely view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sue99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, August 23, 2016
Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    1,616
    937
    511
    315
See reviews for
1,705
1,585
98
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As an individual who has been working in the hotel industry for the past 10 years, I usually do not harp on the little things and/or flaws of a hotel but in this case it was just necessary to point out certain things.
First of all, I understand that the standards in Cuba are different from those in Canada or majority of western world in general. That being said, it is still NOT ok to have dirty rooms. I was there with a group of friends, 12 adults and one child to be exact. Although hurricane Sandy hit the other side of Cuba just a day before we arrived in Varadero, the beach was still very nice and the ocean was just amazing!
My issues, however, were with the actual rooms and the resort rather than the beach. Our room was never cleaned properly, nor were the towels ever replenished adequately. We had a coffee maker in our room but there was no coffee EVER! Even after I had left a note for the housekeeper to leave us coffee, none was left in the room. Our bathroom shower was never cleaned. There were hairs (yes, our own, but still...) left on the shower floor. The shower glass was never wiped, as shampoo and water marks were clearly visible every day. Our bathtub (which we never used) had dust and dirt at the bottom of it when we arrived, and it was never cleaned.
Other thing that I noticed were: lack of fruit at the buffet. Guava and popaya every day is not enough! Canned peaches and pineapple are not fruits!!!
You need to have more than 2 choices of cereal for breakfast. Also, look into adding dried fruits and nuts to the breakfast buffet.
The pool bar often ran out of things like the tuna sendwich and other choices on the menu.

On a positive note, most of the staff were quite pleasant and friendly. Spoke to a lot of the entertainment staff and they were very nice and friendly. The dancers were amazing. And few of the ladies at the buffet restaurant were super accommodating and nice. Unfortunately I didn't get their names.

Overall, I wouldn't say that this is the worst place but I definitely wouldn't say it's great either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zorica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, August 23, 2016
Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

we love it so much we have book to go back next year, The staff are lovely, weather was fab, rooms allways clean and lots of designs with the towels,the pool bar and the snack amazing,
Roll on next year. Paul,Anne, & Megan, from the UK.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, and corner suites are larger and sunny,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, August 23, 2016
Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I LOVED IT !! I recomende Tryp Peninsula to all! The staff service is exeptional, they treat you like Royalty ! Loved the buffet the beach my room was allways cleaned with towel designs on my bed #so cute... we had the time of our lives :) the organised accivites was awsome ! Jose at the snack bar by the pool was amazing ! And our best bartender Rubeir alsoo :) Love them ! If you are going to Varadero please welcome yoursevles to Tryp Peninsula ! See you there !

Room Tip: Take the room nearest the beach... It is right beside the snackbar the pool and the beach ! With a 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, August 23, 2016
Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgenorth, ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Another awesome time at the Tryp in Veradero. Won't even consider another place. Just like family now. Staff is excellent. Weather was super. The new Japanese restaurant was terrific! Andy, Pablo, and Carlos and Yalyn of the entertainment staff are gems! Yaima and YoYo and Vladimir and Rigo and Noel from the Pool Snack Bar were awesome. Miguel and Juan in the Disco will make your night. Dona, Michael and the rest of the gang from the Lobby bar will serve you the best drinks. Take them a glow light bracelet when you go, and tell them that Angie sent you! See you there in about 6 months.

angie D - Canada

Room Tip: the ones near the pool or the beach are your best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank pepper6848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, August 23, 2016
Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here with a large group and everyone was pleased with it. My room smelled a bit like mildew but that is par for the course in Cuba. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the buffet restaurant was quite tasty and filling. The pool was great but closed fairly early. They spray for mosquitos so getting bitten is rare. The facility is spread out so be prepared to walk to get anywhere.

No doubt the greatest asset is its beach. Wonderful white sand beach with thatch-roof shelters to shade you from the sun is beautiful. There are numerous paddle boats, Hobie craft and windsurf boards to use if so inclined.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, August 23, 2016
Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
val-belair
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was my third time at the Tryp and the service and staff once again treated me like Royalty. The staff makes you feel welcome and like a part of their family and are so kind and giving even though they have less than we do. When I got there I was recognized right off and told that the room I had requested, the same as last year in Block 29, was waiting for me. Magalis took care of my room and was so friendly and always made things out of my bath towels with flowers always added. I was given two beach towels at the beginning of my stay and went back after three days to change them but was told that they had ran out of clean towels (it had rained the night before) and that most of the guests were being mean about this. I told them it was not their fault and to have a nice day and hung up my towels to dry instead of complaining. I had also brought two of my personal towels from home together with facecloths since they do not have any there. YoYo at the snack-bar is fantastic with his cappucinos and impeccable service at the snack-bar. The staff and food at the main buffet is also excellent. Every morning at the main buffet there is a pancake and omelette bar with fruit and bread and cereal and all things breakfast mixed in between. At lunchtime there is always a new soup and bread and cheese and cold-cuts and salads and desserts always freshly made. At suppertime there is a different meat or fish cooked every night. Yadenis and the rest of the staff are so helpful and friendly. As for the entertainment staff, Yadira-Pablo-Romles-Andy just to name a few love to have everyone participate in their activities and want everyone to have a good time. As I said at the beginning, it was my third time at the Tryp and I enjoy every minute I am there because of the grounds, the amenities, the entertainment , the security and the superb staff. There is always something to do to keep you busy or just rest if you want to. Cannot wait to be back next year!! Ciao-Ciao....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank petiteacadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review, August 23, 2016
Dear Customer :
First of all, greetings from Melia Varadero Peninsula.
We regret the fact that you never has come a response from management. We would like to come back to share with his family Melia Peninsula.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
3.9 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
0.9 mi away
Blau Marina Varadero Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Varadero El Patriarca
2.4 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,144 reviews
5.1 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Peninsula Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Property: Melia Peninsula Varadero
Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#25 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Melia Peninsula Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing