We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pictures”
Review of La Casa De Al

La Casa De Al
Ranked #22 of 112 Restaurants in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This is Al Capone's house that has been converted to a restaurant
British Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pictures”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Didnt eat here but went inside to take a whole bunch of pictures....awsome to see the history here, The prices in the menu seem to be pretty fair, the old photos and views are priceless!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    146
    60
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely location”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

casa de al is a must visit,if only for a drink on the beach side varanda.the beach is nearly deserted & the deepest turquoise i've ever seen,beautiful.i only had a drink,but there was people eating there,& the food looked good,none wasted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vance59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful night.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Absolutely enjoyable evening. The lobster was large and excellent and enjoyed on the patio overlooking an awesome sunset. This was my second visit to this restaurant ...I had been wanting to return to it for sometime and was not disappointed. Excellent service, food... never disappointing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank katrin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had dinner at this restaurant on a recent trip to Cuba, and enjoyed it very much. There was only one other couple there besides us, and the staff couldn't have been more attentive. We sat on the patio overlooking the beach, and watched the sun set across the water while we ate. Gorgeous.

We were a party of 4 and all had the special, which was a lobster tail, shrimp, and small steak with rice and veggies. One in our party isn't a huge lobster lover, so they suggested a substitution of extra shrimp and a bigger steak - no problem. The portions were generous, and the shrimp was especially delicious. Drinks were cheap, sangria was $3 per glass. The special was $25, so not cheap, but certainly cheaper than a similar meal at home would be.

I think the connection to Al Capone has become a bit of an urban legend, maybe a bit dramatized / exaggerated for the tourists... from what I understand after visiting there, this was never his 'home' but was used as part of his bootlegging operations. In any event, it was a fun evening in a beautiful setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great place to get away from the cuban buffet known to all resorts. Great seafood and steak, don't forget its cuba not 5 star cuisine from home but by far the best meals I have eaten in cuba. I have been 10 times to cuba and even had my 25th bday dinner at this restaurant! Food was great, service was impeccable and the view of the ocean is beautiful! Try to go for lunch so you can enjoy the view!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melly6359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa De Al also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to La Casa De Al? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing