We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobster”
Review of Barracuda - CLOSED

Barracuda
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Atikokan, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Lobster”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We loved this place! Right on Varadero beach, excellant seafood, wonderful musicians. We recommended it to several other travelers!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    72
    25
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harriston, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“looks like a dive”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

There was only 1 of us that ate there and they served lobster and shrimp which apparently was very good but the atmosphere leaves little to be desired as its not the cleanist place ive ever been to... sunset although was awesome

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, B. C., Canada
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Romantic location”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited the Barracuda in the last week of November to celebrate a birthday. We all chose the lobster dinner, which was very good and about 15 CUC. I had creme caramel for dessert, which was home-made (not from a packet!) Boy, was it delicious!The service was excellent and there was a wonderful band (maybe the best I have heard in Cuba!) which came to play twice during the course of our meal. The highlight of this evening had to be the ambiance - outdoors (but with a roof), right on the ocean edge with palm trees lining the shore. I can't think of a more romantic location. If you are looking for a special evening out, then this is the spot for you

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best steak ever! in Cuba of course!!!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Real red meat!!! Excellent for Cuba. And its in a beautifull spot. Right on the beach! It was gorgeous! Cheap too! Good service, would recomend this to anyone who needs meat while in Varadero.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eat here!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We ate at the Barracuda twice during our stay in Cuba! We loved it. I am a chef and VERY picky about what I eat and it got the thumbs up from me.
The driver of our horse and buggy ride told us to eat there.
Had a great Mojito too!
The washroom is a bit "dated" bring your own toilet paper, girls ;)
DON'T FORGET TO TIP!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChefCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barracuda also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing