We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Mallorca

Mallorca
Ranked #63 of 113 Restaurants in Varadero
Cuisines: Cuban
Description: On the south side of Avendida 1 at Calle 62
Restaurant details
Description: On the south side of Avendida 1 at Calle 62
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The food and service were very good. We had the paella for two and it was delicious. We ate outside, the waitor was really nice and accomodating. They were really busy but we were still very well served.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nasmous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    21
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Generous on service, quality and value. Well worth a repeat visit”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We arranged to meet at this restaurant with a couple of people from another hotel we had met on an excursion. The waiter welcomed us and gave us the time to peruse the menu and get drinks whilst we were waiting and didn't hassle us at all. Just the right amount of courteous. The portions were good (luck we were hungry after a fishing trip) and a good variety of seafood, meat and paella. There were also some veggie options as well. There was a great wine list of Chilean wines and reasonably priced as well.We thought our friends had cancelled so we ordered and they arrived as our starter came. The waiter very kindly held off on our mains until they had finished the starter they ordered, which was probably no bad thing considering the size of them! I definitely recommend the garbanzos to start - sounds plain, but they were in a lovely sauce which was well flavoured and seasoned. One of our friends had the paella which he said he would have eaten again for his main meal as well. We stayed there for drinks and the mojitos were made to perfection, although our charming waiter said that he could tweak them anyway necessary if required. Our friends got out some cigars they had bought in Havana and the waiter kindly cut the tips at the table - he told our friends that they were not going to smoke well and brought a gratis cigar which he said would be much more palatable. So to test his theory, our friends tried to light their cigars which didnt light very well and they ventured on to the waiter's gift which having tried it, I have to say was a very good cigar! He was the perfect waiter all evening and the cost of the meals and drinks came to 102CUCs which was in our opinion incredibly good value. Right next to Calle 62 so no need to restaurant music. It was perfect. I can't think of too many places in the UK where the service has been any better than here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Every time we are in Varadero, we make sure to stop and have dinner. Food and service was awesome. The waiter remember are names from the year before. Made as feel like we where part of the family.
Lobster was amazing.. Went out of there way to get my wife a steak..
Will always return when we are back in Varadero..

Helpful?
1 Thank chrisandsusie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Location was Av 1 between Calles 61 & 62. (Within walking distance of the Arenas Blancas/Solymar)
We ordered the paella, the Langosta (Lobster) Special, dessert, and a bottle of South American Gato Negro red wine.
The Lobster Special was 18 CUC and included one drink, two 6-7” lobster tails, 1/3 cup shrimp, rice, potato, and a sweet potato.
Dessert was a chocolate cake with vanilla and chocolate layers.
Portions were large, tasty and served at appropriate temperatures. Service was personable and relaxed (dining rather than fast food timing).
Atmosphere: older building, air conditioned, upholstered chairs inside. Outdoor seating is plentiful. They were playing English songs; we asked for Cuban music, the waiter was very accommodating to this and all other requests.
We would highly recommend this restaurant and will return on our next visit. Our group included children, seniors, and teens. Everyone enjoyed it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blueskies100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
“OVER RATED”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

First restaurant I went and each outside my resort and it was not a good experience. My lobster dinner was tasteless and service was slow. Not a very friendly place. A waste of money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallorca also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing