We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!”
Review of Naviti Varadero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Naviti Varadero
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing service!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We (my girlfriend and myself) stayed here from may 15th until the 22nd. Previous to this stay my mother and a few of my other familly members had stayed here and had mostly positive things to say about it. Upon arrival we were greated by a very friendly front desk lady and a nice but stern faced bellhop. We declined his service as we hadn't had a chance to exchange our money into peso's just yet. When arriving at our room we were pleased to see that everything was very clean and tidy. The rooms are a tad outdated and some things are a little worn out but that's cuba pretty much all across the board (who goes to the carribean to hang around in their room). We were pleased to find that our shower always had hot water, our safe worked without issue and our TV always turned on without any problems. Later on when we went down to the buffet we discovered a wide varsity of food. Throughout our stay the food was always hot and plentiful and although we didn't like every single morsel that we consumed we never had trouble finding something that we liked! The buffet staff was extremely friendly and courtious! Every day we were greated with a smile and awesome service. If you are lucky enough to get Annie as your server then you will be in for a real treat! The beaches were beautiful and among some of the best that we've ever seen. We had a few pushy lifeguards who would attempt to sell us things such as cigars and rum but once your firm with them they leave you alone. Just a warning: if your allergic to cats you may want to avoid this resort. There are a lot of stray cats who hang around the buffet area hoping for scraps and attention. They are all friendly but careful not to feed them all at once or you may end up with some scratches from frantic kitties trying to get the food out of your hands. The bar staff were also great the entire time we were there. A special shout out to the snack bar by the pool that always made us food regardless of the time of day or night. Overall this place was awesome for service and pretty good for quality of rooms. There were shows almost every night we were here as well as boats for use and snorkeling (and other activities on the beach) on a daily basis. We thourghly enjoyed our time here and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taylor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    640
    476
    369
    353
See reviews for
489
670
87
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Me and my boyfriend (both 22) stayed here May 20-27. We had an awesome time, and I can't figure out where the bad reviews are coming from. I was a bit nervous to go but it was great!

Our room was always kept very well cleaned, and even though we paid for a garden view room we had an ocean view (opposite the beach side). The only thing in our room was that the door to the toilet in the bathroom didn't close all the way but there is also a main bathroom door so it is no biggy. Our safe, lights, air conditioning, etc. all worked fine. Not sure if our patio door locked, we never tried seeing as how we are on the 5th floor, we didn't worry about it. We never had bugs in our room. We tipped the maid a CUC or 2 every day and also left a little gift such as a nail polish or lip gloss, and she always kept our room spotless, even taking the time to clean the sand out of our tub and leave fun towel art behind. We also had clean towels everyday and always had two rolls of toilet paper. Honestly, I don't know why people don't think they should tip the maid at least 1 CUC, it is the standard everywhere else in the world to tip your maid at a hotel and 1 CUC for them can go pretty far, so be kind to people and you will receive excellent service. She even made sure to thank us whenever we passed her in the halls and left us wonderful notes every day also saying thank you. She also delivered our bottled water every day, even if she didn't have it with her at the time of cleaning our room, she would mention it in her note and it would be done before we even got back to the room again. Our beds were really comfy, we had an awesome sleep every night and we didn't experience any "musty" smell that some people talk about. I think it's just that they don't expect the humidity in Cuba but you notice it the minute you step foot off the plane. We set our AC on low all night long to create some "white noise" and block out any hotel noises so maybe some people should try that if they are upset about any noise. The whole hotel is wide open so any noise can echo a lot but we didn't have any problems sleeping, or sleeping in. Our sheets and pillow cases were also clean, no stains!
We celebrated my boyfriends birthday while we were there and they made it very special for him. They were going to book us at an a la carte but we wanted to go into town for dinner, so instead they delivered a full cake to our room. We also had a late night ice cream snack at the buffet after and they turned off all the lights and got everyone to sing happy birthday to him and delivered another cake to our table!
Overall the hotel was very clean, the bathrooms were always stocked and we often saw the staff mopping the floors, handymen doing repairs, etc., it is obvious that they are always trying to better the resort. The beach was amazing, it was pretty quiet when we were there too which suited us just fine. Maybe if you were looking for more of a party resort you would want to go somewhere else. In the mornings you could tell that the beach was swept too. Most of the staff were awesome, all were kind but some stood out more than others. Unfortunately we can't remember their names (Cuban names are hard to remember to Canadian ears!!) But one particular lady at the lobby bar, she works in the mornings until around 3, and our server we always had for dinner were both awesome and took time getting to know us. None of the staff expected tips from us, and all were grateful when we gave them after any service. We didn't need to tip first in order to receive service.
We only ate at the buffet and the snack bar but all our food was good, we always found lots to eat, lots of pasta at dinner time, mini pancakes, omelets and fruit at breakfast, mini pizzas, fruit and veggies, and pasta etc. at lunch and more. Some of the food may be more "plain" or different than in Canada but I wouldn't say any of it was bad or inedible! The bread is the best, and the ice cream! All the drinks were good too, but stronger than I am used to!
They also had entertainment every night which was good. They had a couple dance nights where they pulled you up on stage afterwards, and one night they had karaoke around the pool and salsa lessons in the afternoon. We tried to adventure lots off the resort but it seemed like there was always something going on if you chose to stay at the resort for the day instead.

Overall, I have only good things to say about this resort, feel free to ask me any questions!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank s_thomson9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Cuba is Cuba - beautiful beach, great weather, but in a country lacking wealth you'll find problems with rooms, such as chips in tiles, but really I can't say there is a whole lot to complain about. Staff are very kind, rooms are kept clean and tidy. (For those who don't know, it is best to tip a few peso's to your maid the first day).
The entertainment was actually really good. There was something different every night. A comedy night, a salsa night, synchronized swimming, an audience participation night - they were all great.

The food wasn't amazing- but most people going to Cuba understand that the food won't be wonderful - but it wasn't bad. You'll find certain things you like and you'll stick to those. We only did one a la carte because they fill up fast so I suggest booking all of your a la cartes on your first day there.

We did the day trip to Havana which was one of the highlights of the trip. It was amazing. What a brilliant city. You go with a big group, and have a tour guide, you get to see the best of the city and you have a lunch included at a nice restaurant. I believe it is about $50. It is a full day as well, so if there is a day that you know isn't going to be the best weather, I'd go then.

All in all, I would say you're in for a 3 star experience when it comes to room and food. Beach and entertainment is more 4 +. The beach really is great. There is the main beach, which is beautiful, and the smaller beach which is more for those staying at the beach club bungalows (which are nothing special) is rocky, and louder. They have a dj, and volleyball games, and it is a fun area, but if you want to just nap/read on the beach, stick to the main beach.

If you're getting this hotel for less than 1000, I'd say go for it. If you're paying more (say its spring break and more expensive) I'd try elsewhere than Cuba, but sun and beach is sun and beach and you can't go wrong there.

Ps. It's also worth the trip into Varadero city - you just take a bus all the way there its like 20 mins, and there are some vendors, and a few good places to get a bite to eat.

Pss. Get the fresh coconut drink on the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach bungalows which in terms of quality of room isn't fabulous, but it is mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here April 12 - 20 / 13 . Stayed in room 4118 , the rooms are somewhat outdated but that didn't bother us as we didn't go there to spend time in our room . Had super weather ,HOT HOT HOT ! . Great beach ! No problems with the food however it could have been labeled a bit better . Can't comment on the a la carte as we stuck with the buffet . If you like condiments , take your own ( none there ). I would suggest taking your own facecloths ( no facecloths there ) have run into this at other resorts in Cuba . And take some extra hangers from home . Our room was always kept clean ( but we tip and that certainly helps ) no shortage of towels or bottled water . No kleenex so take your own . The pool was kept clean . Only 1 time did we have low water pressure , always had hot water . The lock on the balcony door did not work . If you dislike cats this might not be the resort for you as there are cats there . We did try the burgers and fries one day at the 24 hour snack bar , the burgers were not well cooked , I got a second one but it was the same . So we didn't try that again. Stuck with the buffet, no problems there . Our room was large , had one chair could have used another one . The bed pillows were due to be replaced . The resort could definitely use some sprucing up. But for us it worked, as the price was right . An April deal . We arrived there at midnight ( on the 12 th ) and check in was quick . We found the people working there to be pleasant . If you give smiles you usually get them back . Some more shade huts on the beach would be nice , the ones there are due to be replaced as they are quite weather worn . We would return to this resort .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4118 of main building and that worked well for us .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Regarding our vacation with your company Nolitours to Varadero Cuba, The Allegro (Club Upgrade) Booked through Flight Center Kitchener Fairview Mall

Take NOTE CLUB upgrade pays for the following
Separate check-in
Concierge service (8 am to 8 pm)
Exclusive beach area, adult pool, children’s pool, whirlpool, bar, swim up bar, and buffet
Welcome cocktail

Bottle of rum in room upon arrival
Priority reservations at à la carte restaurants
Late check-out until 2 pm (subject to availability)
10% discount on massages
Hot tub

At the flight Center in Kitchener Ontario we went in to book our vacation to the Sol Sirens Coral, at that time the girl booking our trip told us not to go there but to pick the Allegro instead as she knew we were new to Cuba. That the Allegro was a better hotel. So we took her advise as she is the travel agent and know better than us.
We paid for the Club upgrade rather than the normal room, after explained its benefits of separate speedy check in and late check out, bottle of rum, exclusive section, adult only pool! Those were the draws for us with the Club upgrade.

Upon arrival in the evening, There was no Welcome cocktail (paid upgrade) we were not provided with any separate check in (Paid upgrade), we had to wait in line with everyone else, then we were carted to the "Club" section. This is where the Nightmare began...
There was 2 working lamp posts in the club section! It was pitch black! You could not see to go ANYwhere! We were excited to check out the resort and have a bite to eat at the 24hr food bar and maybe a few drinks. We were ready to start out vacation.

There was NO open bars at the Club section or food available.
There was no Map provided so we had NO idea where we were let alone ability to see how to get there. So we were forced stay in room so we thought we would have a drink with the Rum that was paid for in the Club upgrade, NO rum..And NO water, Nothing..Now forced to go to bed and not able to start our vacation.
We had requested upper floors from travel agent for specific reasons but, we were placed on ground floor. No working locks on balcony, bathroom was rusted and leaking. (and this is what we paid to upgrade to?)

Early Next Morning after asking several workers how to get to main building, we went to reception and requested a move to upper floor, I explained how unhappy we were that everything "paid for in upgrade" did not exist. We were moved to another room quickly which was appreciated but the Rum and water would come with new room. Entering new room no rum, no water. We called front desk, and were told it would be there in 2 days !?!

We proceeded down to Club pool side. It was filled with regular members that were not club upgrades. The Adult pool filled with children, regardless of signs stating no children allowed. These groups of children eating in the pool off their floating mats. There was food floating in the pool as the kids thought it funny to throw it at each other, cups every where. We were cleaning out the cups and then had enough! SO we were unable to use Adult pool.

Swim up bar was never opened, it was instead used as a running and jumping platform by kids in adult pool.
By day 4,5 we began asking why this continued.

We have photos of signs and video of asking the club security why there were kids in adult pool, why there were basic hotel guests in club section. He said I dont know, did nothing, he told us to complain to the Nolitours rep. Which we did, and then complained to general manager desk.

One rep tried to tell us that the Club wrist bands ran out, so some people may be in club with general bands and just not to worry about it, the friends we made were general guests and thats who they pointed to we all had a good laugh as we knew one another and knew very well they were in general hotel...SO we proceeded to the lobby where Club members arriving were getting the Same color wrist band as we had, so insult to injury was the lie to cover up the lack of care or respect given to the "Paid Club Exclusive".

We spent hours each day waiting in lines to request things that were PAID for in upgrade rather than enjoying our first vacation to cuba before my major surgery.

The Rum was finally delivered on day 6 (only 7 day vacation)
Water we were only lucky to get every 2 days only after we tipped to get it. :(
Hot tub out of order entire stay
Adult pool unusable -entire stay
Swim up bar closed entire stay
Club section not for club members entire stay
Club section not cleaned, torn apart lizards from stray cats ect was on walk way for 3 days (we left so not sure how much longer)
Stray dirty flea infested cats everywhere! Sleeping on chairs and loungers following you! Disgusting.
No toilet paper 1 entire day after several requests
No sheets or pillow cases 1 day again several complaints till fixed
No towels 2 days after several requests
Hot tub broken all stay no one ever even working on it lol

Upon check out, we were forced out of our CLUB room at 12pm, we had late check-out (paid for in upgrade)
We were told we had to pay $10 per hour that we wanted to stay in room!! They refused to honor the PAID UPGRADE!

Disco BEWARE- Kids are allowed in :( ?!?!?! Nothing like 7 yr olds grinding to dance music around drunk adults in a room full of smoke. Disco runs out of booze by 12am lmao (just opened at 11pm)!!

Food is not bad, we always had something to eat, some days was really good actually! Get there early it can go fast! Pig roasts were amazing! Love the bread!

FYI Tipping and Gift giving, Cuba officials are trying to stop the unnecessary gifts/tips.
It creates a situation where you have to pay for an already paid service before they do their job, tip/gift for exceptional service NO different than at home! The workers are now demanding tips for work they get paid to do and want the tip before they do their job! This is because of you people that tip/gift without thought of how HOW that affects a society! This is the new Cuba because of those type of people! Gift people when leaving to those that were exceptional and did their job without demand of tips or for special service!

In town Cale 43 has an amazing lobster place!!! Great price and wonderful food! We spent alot of time in town and loved it! Drinks in a pineapple on left side of street just past Cale 13 :) very very tasty!

Bring snacks!!

This was the worst vacation I have ever had! I regret ever booking with Nolitours and the Flight Center that suggested this resort, and pushed the Club Upgrade which was suppose to make our vacation amazing worry free. Quite the opposite! Upgrade is a scam.

I have video and pics of these situations to ensure there was proof so they cannot say that did not happen..
Several of us made sure to document this awful vacation experience through pics and video!

Room Tip: DO NOT pay for Club upgrade!! Nothing you pay for exists other than the oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank trishbaby100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

first of all, when me and my boyfriend arrived we had to wait 4 hours for our room to get ready.
when we did finally get our room we found that the floors where disgusting and the beds were not made. Half of the hotel (the better half) was under construction and basically you were left with one small section of the resort which only had one pool. the beach was good and the food was pretty good. but other than that it was horrible. throughout the 7 days, we had someone coming in every morning to "clean" but when she left it was as if she only made the beds and nothing more. this hotel was horrible. DO not waste your money. i would not go back if it was for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney ns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent the week of apr 23-30 at allegro, what a shame!! I was there with 3 other girlfriends and we made the best of it, we read the reviews and hoped for the best, I'm not gonna get into details about everything because it just gets repetitive, the beach was beautiful, and by weeks end you knew which staff to go to if you wanted something, shame on occidental resorts for letting this place get so run down like this because the place really does have lots of character.
If you would like to know anything please feel free to message me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capegirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
4.2 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#7 of 63 in Varadero
1,393 reviews
1.4 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#27 of 63 in Varadero
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Be Live Experience Turquesa
3.5 mi away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#36 of 63 in Varadero
4,925 reviews
3.5 mi away
Be Live Experience Las Morlas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naviti Varadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naviti Varadero

Property: Naviti Varadero
Address: Autopista Sur, km 11, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Allegro Varadero)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Naviti Varadero 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naviti Varadero is an All inclusive family Beach hotel, offering entertainment for all age, with a large variety of food and drinks to please everyone. Hotel just finished renovation in dec 2016, and offers the best rooms in a modern style. laying on the most beautiful beach of Varadero, clients can enjoy a day on the beach, and participate at many entertainment activities during the day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Naviti Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing