We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Varadero
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,529)
Filter reviews
9,529 results
Traveler rating
3,361
2,721
1,793
891
763
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,361
2,721
1,793
891
763
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza main pool lobby bar a la carte restaurants fish main buffet japanese restaurant beautiful resort chicken quiet pool fries other resorts every other day recommend this resort star friends bring your own magic show
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 9,529 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family Holiday - 2 adults + 1 child (4 years old)

Firstly i want to emphasize the good parts which are only a few:

- Nice view of the hotel , from the outside
- Good location near the Varadero Airport, 30 minutes by bus
- Wide beach with sunbeds

Bad parts - these are the most:

Rooms :

- are dirty, full of mold and grease; the daily cleaning is poor; i asked the stuff to put me
a thicker blanket, they said ok but didn`t put it;
- beverages in the room are poor (1 cola + 1 fanta + 1 beer)
- the towels were broken
- The bed linen was dirty
- there were bugs in the room and in the restaurant

Food :

- worst food i`ve eaten : meat is not well rosted , vegetables are raw,
the sauces are rude, the fruits are unripe
- the drinking water from the bars and restaurant is yellow, it has some
microorganisms in it - drink only bottled water
- the dishes were not washed, full of leaking food
- food was full of hair and nylon fibers

Stuff:

- the staff was unfriendly and rude

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 192edym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Edym,

We always welcome the opinions of our guests as they give us an insight into areas of our hotel through their eyes.

Gastronomy, service and cleanliness are the pillars of Iberostar hotels and resorts, so we regret you felt any of these areas were anything less than perfect. All our staff are carefully selected and trained to the highest standard to deliver impeccable service, exquisite cuisines and to maintain the property spotless. Nonetheless, we have taken on board your comments which will help us in our quest to deliver unforgettable holidays.

Please rest assured that we have taken your concerns seriously and we hope that you will allow us another opportunity at one of our hotels in the future.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very dirty and old furniture in the rooms. Smell of mold and bugs everywhere. Urgent need of renovations.

We initially got room 15110 which was filthy. I got it changed to 19207 which was slightly better.
We were a group of 42 people for our friends wedding and majority of us had to get our rooms changed as we all experienced the same "cleanliness".

Poor management, everything was disorganized, service personnel would not make eye contact and were not responsive to our requests. Getting a glass of water or any other drink was so challenging!

Bar lobby was small and always busy. Only one bar on the beach - not enough for the size of the hotel.

Overall, a very poor experience, I would never recommend, nor come back to this hotel!

Room tip: Don't waste your money here
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
2  Thank 400raisap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion of our tropical island resort Iberostar Laguna Azul.

Firstly, we believe our friendly and dedicated employees are one of our greatest assets and they always receive praise from our guests for making them feel so well looked after, so we are saddened you may feel this was not the case during your stay. Additionally, they follow a strict daily cleaning routine of each room, as well as carrying out a deep clean before the arrival of a new guest. We apologise if this was not the impression you received and we will pass on your comments to the relevant departments.

We hope you will choose to experience one of our other strategically located Iberostar hotels, so we can conquer you with our quality and passion.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Liset in the front desk greet us and answer all questions in courteous and profesional manners.
The room was clean, airconditioning, king bead. We have the closet door missing and the fixtures started to rust in the bathroom. Regha, keep our room clean, She was always pleasant and happy and change our towells everyday.
The buffet have all kind of choices, you always find something to eat. David did our omelet everyday and he take time to ask us if we were ok and say something nice. Wendy and her team give us all we need at breakfast and lunch profesional and pleasantly. Yamielie, at supper was our girl. Always happy and nice, gave us all we need. The students are also great to look after you. Cristian at the beach bar and Jessy at the terrace bar were such a nice kids. All smiles and nice manners.
The Animation department keep you entertaint and busy all the time. Streching, dancing, doing games, playing music, spanish classes, etc. Jorge, Alain, Nancy, Nelly always having time to talk and see if you are fine.
We were at the night show everyday and was great. Dancer and singers very profesional. They also have every evening different entertaintment in the main lobby that were excellent.
The beach, the gardens, the pool area well kept, except the outside bathrooms that need and urgent improvement.
A la Carta restaurant nothing to impress you really. We prefer Romantico best.
Best beach in Varadero and best Service We are coming back for sure. We have a great time

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Escape16250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We want first of all for you to know that we are really pleased that you had such a fabulous holiday with us and we want to thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with others. As we work hard on a daily basis to exceed the needs and goals of our valued guests and provide them with a feeling of joy and total comfort, we are obviously flattered by your kind words.

Again, we want to express our gratitude for this wonderful feedback and hope to have the honour of serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room had no cold water, ceiling fan didn’t work, tons of mold, ants crawling around, shower head was not attached to the wall and was broken off prior to arrival, toilet flush hardly worked. Tried to get our room cleaned by the maids(which I tipped $5 to everytime figuring it would help). But they just hung up our old dirty used towels instead of replacing them. They also didn’t give us toilet paper or water or beer in the mini fridge for 2 days. Asked the front desk three times to get new towels, toilet paper and water. Nothing happened. Had to borrow toilet paper from a friends room, which they also ended up not getting any either afterwards. Their room was pretty much the same with the expection of they had hot water. Also the last two days our toilet started leaking and they didn’t do anything.

The rest of the resort was great though! Staff were friendly, pool bar guys were great, buffet/restaurants were great. Everything except our rooms.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Brett414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Brett,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad that overall you had a wonderful time at our resort and that you found the cuisine delicious and our team friendly. We are of course disappointed that the room fell short of your expectations and that some items were missing. We have taken note of your observations and will pass them on to the relevant department. We wish to deliver a perfect holiday to each and every guest and we know this is only possible with constructive feedback such as yours.

Again we thank you for this review and hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 7 days as a family of 6 at Laguna Azul Varadero.
Positives:
-staff are very friendly. beaches are beautiful. weather was very good. no vendors hassling you on the beach. Nightly entertainment is very good.
Negatives:
-edible buffet food is very limited. we were all sick at some point during our stay. a Hawk is brought in to keep birds away from the outdoor snack bar and sits at a table close enough that we witnessed it defecate on the buffet bar. cockroach crawling on our table during our Japanese a la carte. rooms are falling apart. both our rooms had an awful smell to them...urine, fish and mold. washrooms in common areas have no soap, missing toilet seats and missing stall doors in the mens bathroom.
My family and I will not be returning to this resort. If you are considering a stay here READ THE REVIEWS and do your research. After booking our trip I started reading reviews and trust me the negative ones are accurate and is what we experienced as well.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank JoannaBanana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Joanna,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on our fantastic resort Iberostar Laguna Azul, surrounded by tropical vegetation.

We are renowned for our cuisine and take great pride in providing quality meals using fresh and locally sourced ingredients so we are disappointed you felt the food at the buffet was anything less than exceptional. We are constantly updating our gastronomic selection to offer our guests a wide variety of options at each meal not only in our buffet, but also in our themed Japanese, Italian and Creole restaurants. Additionally, we can assure you our professional chefs follow hygiene regulations meticulously to guarantee the health and safety of our guests as well as being subject to regular inspections.

Furthemore, we are sorry the room was not to your liking and we are surprised to read you found there was an unusual smell. We promise to investigate the points you raise and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We are delighted that overall you had a fantastic stay and that you enjoyed the beach and our superb staff.

Best Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Laguna Azul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews