We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We went from Nov 1st to 8th” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We went from Nov 1st to 8th”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The first half of the week it was only about half capacity so it was very good. Food was excellent. From reading comments here we were worried but the food was the best we have had and we have been going to Cuba every year for the past 10 years. The resort was nice and clean, the room was a good size. We had a room overlooking the shuffle boards and pool. Very good location. The service was excellent we never had a problem with any of the staff. Near the end of the week the resort got very busy.

Would go back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanandNicole2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,063
    2,097
    1,316
    603
    424
See reviews for
2,124
2,680
100
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here November 23-30, 2013. The resort is beautiful, although I was a little disappointed that it isn't really on the beach. The view is obstructed by trees. Even though that is best for the ecosystem it was a bit of a let down that my "ocean view" room was not that.

This was my first time to Cuba and every person I know said the food is terrible. I went in expecting the worst and was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of food at the buffet. While not great by any means, it was certainly better than the quality of food I was told Cuba offered. The reason for the title of my review is the a la cartes. You get three a la cartes, Romantico, Japanese, and Italian. Although the Romantico and Japanese were disappointing, the food was at least edible. The Italian on the other hand was horrendous. 3 of the 7 of us were sick that night, with one of us having to get up before finishing their main course to be sick. I was sick later that night and again at 4am, and 7am. It wasn't the best send off as I got on my plane home at 11 the next morning.

The highlight of the resort is all of the activities available. From renting catamarans, to playing tennis, to the nightly disco there is plenty here to keep you entertained. We had a blast.

This resort is worth visiting and if I go back to Varadero I would gladly return here. It is clean, well maintained, plenty of activities to do on the resort, and the staff are a lot of fun. I had a great time and would highly recommend staying here. Maybe just eat at the buffet every night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford BC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have been to Varadero 4 times now. After a lot of reviewing and debating we decided to stay at Laguna Azul. Based on the very good reviews and the youtube videos, we thought the extra cost would be worth it. To be honest if we paid $250 to $300 less per person, we wouldn't really have that much of a complaint. But we did pay alot and it is not justified.

The Pros
The resort is very pretty, the pools are pretty, the lobby is pretty, the art work is pretty, the way the food is displayed in the buffet is pretty. The bed was probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in while visiting Cuba. They served drinks to you while lounging around the pools. The shows were better than most. More English singing than most. (sorry for admitting this preference).

The entertainment staff were sweet. Not only were some of the games a bit of fun, but simple conversations with them, hearing about their lives and lifestyle in Cuba was very interesting.

The Cons
The food is not bad, it is not untasty, it was just boring as hell. Very repetitive. We recently stayed at the Melia Las Antilles which is noted as a four star and the food was WAY better. They served cold crab legs, lots of shrimp, and other seafood on the buffet, served grilled lobster in the buffet. The grill station at Laguna was the same each night, the special meat was often served in the buffet too! Some are trying to justify the lack of variety on Cuba's embargo, but they can get food from other sources, and the food is not limited in other resorts! Five star resort should have Five star food, not three!
They ran out of beach towels constantly, it was partially because all the towels and linens for all Iberostars are washed at a separate location, but it was also because they were holding the towels in storage too lazy/ obstinate to get them.
Our room was on the bottom floor and a moldy smell is expected and usually dissipates shortly after. This room didn't and it was because the pillows on the couch were showing signs of visible mold. I hid the worst one in the cupboard and it was a good enough, thank goodness we thought to bring air fresheners.
The pool was surrounded by plastic grates and they were deteriorating fast. My husband and at least three others broke through the grates and injured themselves. One was on crutches. I believe that a simple sign recommending stepping over the grates instead of on, would eliminate the issue.
The pool loungers were hard plastic. They did offer cushions, and I did take them, but they were filthy, really doubt they ever laundered the covers.

The conclusion:
Pay less stay somewhere else. If you pay less, and the food is so so, you can enjoy the restaurants within the town of Varadero.

Room Tip: Just ask for anything off the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenintherain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Cuba and also our first all inclusive vacation. The resort met our expectation. We were there for our daughters wedding and the wedding planner was great trying her best to accommodate all our plans. The resort is on a BEAUTIFUL beach. The rooms were ok and were clean and comfortable. We had requested a king bed but we had two twins when we arrived. We had a large group for our wedding and booked very early and it seemed like our group was spread out all through the resort with some having some disappointing locations. I thought since we booked early at a higher price that our rooms would be allotted much better, but everyone in our group seemed to enjoy the week despite some of the louder poorly located rooms. The housekeeping staff was great with some people having wonderful towel art in their rooms on every day. The food was ok. The buffet food got a little tiring but we found enough interesting foods to keep us well fed. The Romantico restaurant was excellent and everyone in our group who got to the Japanese restaurant really enjoyed it ,but said it was pretty hot in there with all the grills going to cook in front of you. The wedding meal was great,it, was a great Cuban dish Ropa Viejo and all the staff that night were absolutely wonderful during our meal and dance in the Cuban restaurant! A GOOD TIME WAS HAD BY ALL! There were many interesting activities going on all the time and the bartenders and staff at the pool bar were also wonderful. All in all it was a good experience and we really enjoyed the experience I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a beautiful location at a reasonable price,without too high of expectations,but would definitely recommend for a wedding! We were in building twelve on the second floor and it was a nice quiet location,overlooking a quiet pool. Also I would like to say the trip was booked with Transat Vacations and the planes and flight attendants were the NICEST we have ever encountered!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimMicheleCamrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

and you want to go to Cuba, 5 stars will probably be mandatory. (This property was 5). Staff (reception, kitchen, wait staff, room staff as well as entertainment) are friendly and willing to please. Grounds are clean and well laid out.
Food was plentiful although unimaginative and lukewarm, except for the soup which was hot. Pasta made to order was worth the wait and deserts were plentiful from jello to mousse to pastry, cake , ice cream or a nice selection of cheese to finish off your wine.
A young lady named Manaris (?) was attentive even if we were not in her section. A young fellow in the entertainment group named Adrian (Rafa) made it a point to visit with my mother once a day.
Beach was great. If sun, water, lots of food and lots of booze is what you are looking for then you will probably not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ground floor of main building accommodates special needs. Upper floors with balconies are nice if fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Werner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel November 24-Dec 1 2013,First night after traveling for 18 hours - my room had a terrible smell like cat pee not a regular humid musty smell.the bed our first night was dirty there was sand in the sheets and very wrinkled and sweaty smelling.
This is not normal because the next day they were changed and didnt smell or look like that.The staff when you arrive are ok but definatly not welcoming people,no hand towels in the room unless asked the maid. I had to argue with the maid to get towels for the pool.
The food is ok! but I can understand spanish and he was talking about the idiot canadian tourists in front of me while they were making their order. I would never in my life stay with another Iberostar resort.This was absoloutly the worst vacation i have ever had Very dissapointing

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed Nov. 18-25 and had a spa room (15 block). Since we were placed next to the disco it was loud late at night. We asked the next morning for a room change and were told the next day they would have something available. It was actually three days later before we got our new room in the 16 block. It was much better. No loud music until 2 am.

I found the food lacking. There are a lot of choices at the buffet, and my boyfriend always found something to eat. We booked our a la cartes the morning after we arrived (you should do it as soon as you are booked in! We were nearly out of luck, only Saturday and Sunday left on a Tuesday!) All of the a la cartes were small which would explain why they fill up so fast. We had the Del Chefs which was in one of the snack bars. It was quite nice. The Japanese, was awesome! The food was VERY salty but the show was great! We also ate at the Romantico, nothing special there. Soups at both the Del Chef and the Japanese were delicious!!

We took the bus to Varadero twice. It was great for the price, $5 hop on/ off all day.

On the main drag in Varadero is El Rancho. It has a statue of a Chef holding a lobster in front. This was a great restaurant. The seafood was out of this world. It was our best meal during the stay.

We also did the Jeep Safari, and if you are thinking of an excursion, THIS IS THE ONE! Driving jeeps through the country, snorkeling, riding horses, holding crocodiles, speedboating, this tour had it all. Even if a full day is not your cup of tea, I would recommend taking the time to visit Cuevo Saturno, the underground swimming cave. It is on the road to the airport, you will pass it in your travels. It was amazing, the best part of our trip. I would recommend taking candy to hand out to the children as you drive. I second guessed myself on this regard and regretted it right away.

The people of Cuba are amazing, the beaches are stunning, and the grounds of this resort are amazing. The food, not so much. Really the only issue I found was the towels. It seems so minor but made the stay much worse than it should have. You are provided with two towels on arrival, you may switch them for new towels at the clubhouse by the swim up bar pool. Twice we tried to exchange our wet towels for new dry ones and were told the laundry was still not back. In all other resorts I have stayed there are towels by the pools for your use. Not here. Also, after we switched rooms we were told to leave our towels in the old room and they would place new towels in our new room. No towels when we switched and we did not get the towels until the next day at noon after much complaining to the front desk, and guest services. We were told 4 times that the towels had been dropped in our room. Four times, they were wrong, no towels. It took us about 3 hours to get the towels after we really started to get after them.

The showers never got close to hot. It said 50 degrees celcius


The spa room was great since it gave us access to the spa jaccuzzi and steam rooms. The jaccuzzi was great. You have wonderful views up there. We also had a couples massage that with our discount only cost us about $50 CUC. Well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. Priority in our hotel is the improvement of all our services and continuous work to obtain our guest satisfaction. We have taken all your comments and suggestion into consideration and we will do the best we can to improve all the mentioned points. However, if you decide, to visit us again in the near future, please do note hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
1226.3 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1242.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
7.1 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul

Property: IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
Address: Autopista Sur Km 17 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varadero
#7 Family Hotel in Varadero
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#22 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul 5*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero's Beach. Approximately 160 km from Havana and 20 min. from downtown Varadero. 814 rooms allocated in different buildings, 24 are suites and 8 are for handicapped. Reception 24 hrs. open, currency exchange, internet 24 hrs. Buffet restaurant with show cooking and 4 a la carte restaurants and Ranchón near the beach. Lobby bar, Cigar bar, aqua-bar, and 2 snacks bars at the pool. Conference rooms, SPA, gym, and beauty salon, 2 tennis and paddle court. Ice cream saloon, animation theatre and disco. 5 outdoor swimming pools. Miniclub (4-12 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Laguna Azul Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing