We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, beautiful people, and Dana”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Varadero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Reviewed September 13, 2013

From the minute that you get off the bus, and check in you fall in love with this resort! It is my 2nd time going to Ibserostar Laguna Azul...and flying solo is always intimidating but the beautiful people at the resort always went out of there way to make sure that you felt at home. Especially Dana, who works at the resort in the Kidsclub. Amazing personality, and always made me feel welcome. Invited me to the theatre and I had a very enjoyable time. I will definitely be retuning for a 3rd time. Sincerely, Katharine

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katharine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Owner at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,385 - 2,391 of 7,303 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

after previously going to dominican republic last year and staying in a 5* hotel after paying slightly more for this holiday it did not measure up in comparison and i would definately not rate this as a 5* holiday. Grids around the pool broke every time you stood on them and the food was terrible ( apart rom the freshly cooked food in the buffet restaurant were they make it infront of you. Not all restaurants were open and we was not advised of that before travelling, so do check. Also was a nightmare making reservations and we struggled to actually book any restaurants, we were only able to book La Romantica restaurant twice and nothing else was available. There was no air conditioning in the restaurants at all and was very uncomfortable eating. However, on the plus side Entertainment was amazing along with the entertainers themselves who made you feel at home and constantly tried to make your experience the best they could. Entertainers completely made the holiday in particularly BRUNO and 50Cent (randy). Entertainment was on all day and there was rarely a time when something wasn't going on. Enthusiastic and friendly entertainers, only reason i would return to the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jade r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, to make your holiday unforgettable. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

All was great at this hotel except I was concerned about the health and safety about guests using their plastic cups which they use daily at the beach bar. The plastic cup they served me had some lipstick. I'm sure my PINA Colada shouldn't have lipstick! Later that day, I carefully observed and noticed there was a gentleman who was collecting the cups and taking them back to the bar. That's when the bar closed and there was some washing being heard as I walked by. I asked if this was the case but of course why would one admit to such an unhealthy practice? This type of hygiene practice makes me feel uneasy about travel to such a hotel. If management happens to read this, I hope its addressed promptly as we frequent the island 2-3 times annually. Thank You and my sincerest apologies for the negative review however this type of staff behaviour MUST be addresses as appropriate. People could contract illness by this behaviour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bobby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went for the second time at the same Hotel Iberostar Laguna Azul: beautiful resort, amazing beach, great cocktails, animation very friendly, very sweet with the children. The Lobby is stunning as well as the pools (the one with the falls). The terrace area is somptuous and very pleasant when at night you drink a Pina Colada and listen to the real Cuban Musicians. You'll love your vacations...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Estrellas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This resort was too large and busy for our taste but overall it was a nice place - good service, decent food, and a beautiful beach. There were a lot of children and it could be very noisy at times. With all the activities, it seemed well suited to families but isn't the best choice for a couple looking for peace and quiet.

The best part of this vacation was the music. There were many talented musicians at the resort but we especially enjoyed the pianist, Gloria, and looked forward to attending her performances.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great pool with swim up bar and terrace area. We tended to park ourselves near the garden bar side of pool away from the activity area for convenience as closest to our room.Pool waitress service excellent.
Tipping appreciated but not essential.Staff always pleasant and helpful.
Hotel has good facilities.Gym small but functional.
Rooms have all the basic essentials with separate bath and shower.
Good beach
Food quality good although lacking variety at times particularly with supply of fresh fruit particularly Mango.Did get a bit monotonous at times but as Cuba has US emargo still inforce hotels have central purchasing contracts with govt controlled distribution not all produce plentiful especially beef. Coffee and cakes brilliant.
Took the Red open top bus trip into varadero which is located outside hotel security barrier.Had a night out in town at live music venue returning at midnight in a 1930 Argie cabriolet which looked Like Chitty Bang Bang ...fantastic.
Took a private taxi for day trip to Havana just over an hour away cost around £30pp.... Ernest ex Thomson Rep what a guy knew his history and guided tour of the city second to none.
Kids and wife Skydived out of a helicopter onto hotel beach for £120 pp what an experience!
Did the speedboats thing around the bay.

Good hotel in decent location at end of Varadero strip.

Travelled June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hodgy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just returned on Sept 5th 2013 after two weeks.Unfortunately for the first week both my husband and I were seriously ill.Violent diarrhea and generally unwell.Went to the pharmacy and was sold antibiotics which thankfully were effective.We followed all precautions as I am a nurse and I'm aware of what to avoid but being educated did not help either of us.The resort itself is amazing.Very clean with curtious staff.We found the food so salty that it would burn our tongues.It's unfortunate because if the food had been prepared properly it would have been quite palable.We heard of many other travellers not necessarily from this resort who had similar symptoms.

Room Tip: Would advise caution when travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank maree1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director D, Manager at IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Friends,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Laguna Azul we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
4 mi away
Iberostar Bella Vista
Iberostar Bella Vista
#12 of 64 in Varadero
534 reviews
2.1 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel
Blau Varadero Hotel
#3 of 64 in Varadero
7,090 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
7,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Tainos
IBEROSTAR Tainos
#16 of 64 in Varadero
4,271 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#8 of 64 in Varadero
6,545 reviews
4.6 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
5,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul

Address: Autopista Sur Km 17 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#8 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#9 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#20 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Laguna Azul 5*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Varadero beach. Approximately 160 km from Havana and 20 min from downtown Varadero. It has 814 rooms allocated in different buildings, 24 are suites and 8 are for handicapped. Reception 24 hrs. open, currency exchange, internet 24 hrs. Buffet restaurant with show cooking and 4 a la carte restaurants and Ranchon near the beach. Lobby bar, Cigar bar, aqua-bar, and 2 snacks bars at the pool. Conference rooms, SPA, gym, and beauty salon, 2 tennis and paddle court. Ice cream saloon, animation theatre and disco. 5 outdoor swimming pools. Miniclub (4-12 years). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Laguna Azul Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing