We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,097)
Filter reviews
6,097 results
Traveler rating
3,492
1,772
538
205
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,492
1,772
538
205
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbernard meyerla arcadail limoncellothe general managerana rosacascada barbungalow poollobby bartee timesstring quarteta la carte restaurantsinternational restaurantfishdupont mansionocean viewspecial thanksbeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 6,097 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

When we originally booked our trip to Cuba we booked a different hotel to Melia Las Americas, but changed hotels shortly before travel as original had been open & honest that a couple of restaurants etc were still not open after the hurricane, whereas MLA assured us they were fully functioning...I wish we knew then how many lies they can tell!
Despite our booking being for 7 nights, we spent just 2 nights at Melia Las Americas. Prior to our arrival we had emailed the hotel asking for a specific style of bungalow on the first floor; we received an email response confirming that this was not a problem & that the room type & location would be assigned to us. When shown to our room we expressed our disappointment to be given ground floor, the bellboy rang reception & said we could have a first floor bungalow, which begs the question 'why not give us that to begin with?'
While the room was clean the bathroom was an utter disgrace, with marked & stained tiles (photos attached) A small bath with shower over; an opaque glass window allowed some light into the shower during daylight hours but on an evening it (& the whole bathroom) was very dark...additionally there was no anti slip bath mat or anti slip surface in bath. But the worst aspect was the lack of hot water, it was barely lukewarm, certainly not hot enough to wash off suncream. We had also asked for a quiet location - our bungalow backed onto main road to reception meaning that we had curtain closed constantly.
We visited reception to express our disappointment with room, to be told a more suitable room would be available the next morning. We returned the next morning, explained whole thing to yet another member of staff & still no alternative room, tho this member of staff did admit that they had copy of email correspondence attached to our booking.
On return to room late afternoon our room keys did not work, visit reception, told they'd been stopped as it was thought we'd checked out...quite where to or when nobody seemed to know!
And guess what still no alternative room! Second morning report to reception for mythical alternate room, shown a ground floor suite in main building, nothing like we had requested. Asked to speak to the much praised Mr Meyer (or any manager) referred to customer services. Spoke to Karina explained the farce so far (this was 6th time we had reported story & lack of hot water) Eventually after much deliberation we we told that when we met our rep later that day a manager would also come along to try to sort everything out.
We met our rep. At the same time a group of Sunwing agents visited hotel, so yep you've guessed it managers were fawning over them.
We told our rep Diana from The Holiday Place (who was excellent) about:
* no hot water
* the poor state of bathroom
* how we felt every member of staff we had spoken to lied to us just to get us away from reception
* the cockroach I had seen on plates next to pizza at dinner night before
* the poor standard & choice at buffet, at breakfast we watched fresh donuts being brought out, but when we got one they were still frozen solid
* lots of renovation/building work ongoing around bungalow area (and not as a result of Irma as these weren't hurricane damaged rooms) meaning noise & lots of workmen around
* had been told everything open & working another lie! swim up bar at bungalow pool (which wasn't particularly clean) not open nor snack bar
* Whole bungalow area looked like a derelict ghost town
Diana spoke to reception, we saw the manager also speak to her but he still didn't speak to us! Reception told Diana the room was always subject to availability & claimed they had told us this in email reply, another lie! Manager had told Diana to tell us we could have 10% back for inconvenience, but sadly couldn't be bothered to come & tell us himself! Diana offered to move us to alternative hotel, (I have reviewed also) naturally we did! Within an hour we had checked out!!!
If I could have rated this place 0 I would, but in order to leave a review I have had to give a score. To be honest some of the staff in dining room (Katy) were pleasant.
We travel regularly and it is a long time since we have visited a hotel where there are so many unsmiling faces both of the staff & guests. As guests to be constantly lied to & treated with a lack of respect or care is completely unsatisfactory & I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
8  Thank floradora04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefeventasmla, Director of Sales at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Dear floradora04,
We strive to keep the highest standard of quality and service and we deeply regret for not being able to fulfill all your expectations at Meliá Las Américas. It is evident there were some aspects of your recent stay that could have been handled better during your visit. We will certainly pass on your feedback to the relevant Departments for their immediate evaluation and action as needed. We appreciate your bringing these matters to our attention. We would like to reassure you that your comment was valued as it is only by a careful study of our clients' reports and suggestions that we can correct possible deficiencies and improve our standards of service. We deeply wish we could have given you a better impression in term of employee’s attitude since Cuban people are normally well known for their sense of the hospitality and the majority of our guest’s comments reflect this fact. Again, on behalf of the hotel we apologize for for the inconvenience you had during your holiday and look forward to another chance to rectify our services on your next visit.
Sincerely.
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017 via mobile

It's hard to be a vegetarian in Cuba. The end! The hotel is nice, the beach is gorgeous, & the staff are great!! They have entertainment in the evenings. They have different restaurants on site, but you have to book them in advance. & despite access to liquor, no one can really make a cocktail, so keep it simple.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank 423nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefeventasmla, Director of Sales at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Dear 423nancy,
Thank you so much for reporting your valuable and detailed comments on Trip Advisor about your past vacation at Meliá Las Américas. Thanks for highlighting gorgeous beach and our entertainment program. Nevertheless it is disappointing to know that despite these features your experience here only reflected in a 3 star review. We are sorry that you could not find our cocktails to your liking. We sincerely respect your opinion and thank you for being so sincere, we will analyze your comments along with the F&B Management team to evaluate the areas of improvement. We know that there is still a lot to be done, but we are convinced that our hotel has an amazing potential and we are working harder and harder everyday to make it better. We hope you will give us another chance and you will visit us again in the hotel in order to change your perception of our services.
With our best greetings from Cuba.
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

We had a fantastic seven night all inclusive stay in the Melia Las Americas. Our room was clean and comfortable, the pool was lovely and the beach area brilliant. Beach activities are free, you can help yourself to kayaks etc and go on catamaran rides. We paid for a snorkelling trip which was awesome, the fish were huge.

The food at the hotel is delicious, we absolutely stuffed ourselves each meal. Of the A La Carte restaurants, our favourites were the Sushi restaurant and the Cuban restaurant. The staff are brilliant. There was one lady making omelettes at breakfast, I told her I was gluten intolerant and asked if any of the pastries were gluten free. Unfortunately they weren't, but from then on each day she was working she turned up with 3/4 gluten free muffins! That really is above and beyond service.

We loved the hotel and would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
2  Thank Rtownoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefeventasmla, Director of Sales at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Dear Rtownoflondon,
We are truly glad to know that you enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Meliá Las Américas! We were please to see your positive remarks about our facilities and services. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you were pleased with our service and recommend our hotel. We do look forward to welcome you back in the future and providing you with another great holiday experience.
Our best greetings.
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

you have to visit Melia las America once and i'm sure it won't be your last , I guarantee it!!

where do I start my wife and I and my in-laws arrived Oct. 01 right after Varadero was hit with a devastating hurricane , not knowing what to expect..

what I saw was unreal every employee no matter what level was literally
on hand and knee cleaning beach , hotel , whatever had to be done was done

General Manager Bernard Myers you are absolutely the best. making sure every guest and I mean every guest is having a great time, friendly , tentative to detail , I 've notice him picking up the tiniest piece of paper from the floor, he is the Magnet that keeps pulling you back to paradise (Melia Las America). a leader the leads by example

his supporting staff

Rafael : director food and beverage
hard working dedicated , you'll always see him making sure all is presentable and plentiful very very hard working

Gennaro Salvato : resident chef .
a master in and out of the kitchen prepares some amazing dishes caters to your taste and will also take the time to talk to guest
his assistant Joelle is also an amazing chef

managers:

Zahily , Karina ,Osmani , Isis , will go out of their way to accommodate you , also true master at their profession

Raul: main lobby bar a Master
Valdin : buffet waiter a Master

POOL AND BEACH

Batista ,Elvis,Nelson Carlos , Sergio ,Raul , Lulu you guys are truly awesome

entertainment staff :

Lia (the best ) Roberto ( the best ) and of course the greatest showman ever Julio (the greatest)

again Bernard thank you so much , my hat off to you , a great man and I am proud to call you a friend . and god willing " I'LL BE BACK"

Room Tip: any room , i prefer ocean view
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank RDRMONTREAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefeventasmla, Director of Sales at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Dear RDRMONTREAL,
On behalf of the entire Meliá Las Américas Staff, we would like to thank you for your review. Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we deeply believe our guests deserve. We sincerely believe that we can only gain the loyalty of our guests by providing a exceptional customer service.
We look forward to have the privilege to welcome you back for another unforgettable vacation.
Best regards from Varadero.
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

This was our fifth visit to Melia Las Americas. We had been hesitant to book because of the recent hurricane damage reported on the news.The resort had barely 200 guest when we had visited. We were amazed on the generally great condition of the main hotel and the resort and its facilities. yes there had been some damage to areas of the resort however repairs were well on there way and we did not feel it impacted us on our holiday.The staff and management were friendly and professional as always, The food was excellent. the beach was in great condition. To our surprise the golf course was in the greatest condition we had seen it in the last twelve years

Room Tip: all are good the main hotel more central to restaurants and bars, bungalows give a greater sense of privacy
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefeventasmla, Director of Sales at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Dear Ann H,
Thank you so much for taking the time to report your impressions about your recent vacation Meliá Las Américas. We are glad to hear that you had a nice vacation with us. We were glad that you enjoyed our facilities & services, mainly the condition of the golf course and friendly staff.
Thank you again for your comments and for your recommendation and we look forward to your 6th visit.
Best regards from Cuba
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews