We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Las Americas
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$219
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$215
$186
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$140
$89
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$450
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$388
$236
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
$91
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
$140
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,900)
Filter reviews
5,900 results
Traveler rating
3,407
1,704
513
193
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,407
1,704
513
193
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbernard meyerla arcadail limoncellothe general managercascada barana rosalobby barstring quartettee timesa la carte restaurantsinternational restaurantfishdupont mansionocean viewspecial thanksbeautiful beachmain building
Filter
Updating list...
1,868 - 1,873 of 5,900 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I have been multiple times to the Melia Las Americas and it just seems to get better and better. We have travelled to many many destinations and we consider this hotel our home away from home. We have considered other destinations but our love for this hotel and the staff keep bringing us back. We have always been treated with kindness, respect and love. The new manager Bernard Meyer is a pleasure always making himself visible and available. We will return sooner then later. Already missing the hospitality and our great Cuban friends. To those who complain about tipping please remember how much a small tip can mean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PresleyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Presley Toronto,
I am quite pleased to read that you spent another fabulous time at our resort and you are already missing the genuine hospitality and attitude of your Cuban friends. It is nice to know that mainly our wonderful personnel, whom we are very proud, and your love for Meliá Las Américas made you visit us many times. We will gladly inform all our Staff about your kind comments as they will give them confidence to maintain the quality of their daily services.
We assure you that we will continue working hard to satisfy our guests’ needs and expectations.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back anytime soon.
With sunny regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

What a wonderful adults only resort. We stayed on the 4th floor ocean front and enjoyed every minute of our trip. The beach was spectacular and so close to the main lobby. I have been to Cuba 4 times and this was the best time yet. The animation team during the day made my stay memorable. Specifically Roberto who worked so hard on the beach to get everyone involved in activities especially beach volleyball. Thank you! The Spanish teacher Lireena's interaction with the guests was excellent and made my mother's day each day! The general Manager (Bernard) is very professional and understands the meaning of customer service. The food in the gourment restaurant was amazing - with wonderful violin players and amazing waiters. I think the main buffet servers could learn from them as they are so attentive to when wine needs to be refilled and water etc - the morning/lunch buffet crew servers were a bit overwhelmed by traffic and could not keep up with the guest need's for refills. (I think management would do well to watch the interaction between the servers and guests in morning/lunch and to help them learn how to be more attentive). Conversely, the evening servers had a very good handle on making sure that tables were looked after timely. The Teppanyaki was wonderful. I have to agree with another review of the Robleza restaurant. My steak was absolutely terrible (1/4 inch thick and as tough as leather) - I think that restaurant will need a makeover if they want to get good reviews. We spent a wonderful day with a private tour guide that we hired for the day to take us to Havana - His name is Ricardo De Urrutia. You can look him up on tripadvisor and facebook for his website. He is currently in University and is most knowledgeable about the history of Cuba - you will be so pleased when you book a tour with him. I have already recommended this resorts to other friends and will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Decvballclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Decvballclub,
The greatest motivation for us is to know that you recommend our hotel as a wonderful adult’s only resort. We really appreciate for sharing your review on Trip Advisor with other travelers and for letting us know that you won’t hesitate to come back in the future. Reading that it was your fourth visit to Cuba and choosing Meliá Las Américas was your best time is an incentive for us. We know that we have still a lot to be done; we are working everyday to make it better.
We take good note of your suggestions for improvement, particularly about the service in the Buffet Restaurant and we thank you for it.
Your valuable comments have allowed us to identify opportunities for improvement
Regarding our La Robleza Restaurant, I’m offering my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations regarding the quality of some food you ate there. We work every day to improve our food variety and quality, as we know this is one of the main aspects vacationers value during their stay.
We will be pleased to welcome you again soon, when you could appreciate our progress.
Cordially,

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have been to Melia Las Americas 3 times and I have always been happy with the place. The rooms are great, the service is good and, most importantly the food os good, even for Cuban standards ! The beach is 30 seconds away, the golf course is a minute away and the bars are all great places to meet and mingle. The management really cares about the quality of the service, they listen and most of all, they are nice people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vezina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Vezina D,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful impressions on Trip Advisor about your third visit to Meliá Las Américas. We are grateful for your preference.
We appreciate particularly for rating us with 5 points as a true expression of your good memories of your recent stay. It is good to know you enjoyed our hotel and services and valued particularly our Food and Beverages offer.
We will be honoured to welcome you personally soon again during your fourth visit.
Warm regards from sunny Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

After 6 times in Varadero we found paradise at Melia Las Americas. We spent 2 glorious weeks of pampering and amazing hospitality. The new gen.manager Bernard Meyer is the perfect man for the job. Walking around all day checking on guests and staff with so much respect and great personality, have never seen that in any other resorts you will think he has a twin, such a caring man. We had an upper bungalow very well kept everyday thank you Nancy. Customers services
in also unbelievable, so friendly & so many people to say thank you to Osmani, Issi, Angela F.&
Ana Rosa at front desk. Great prof. massage from Rafael and thank you again for walking me back to our bungalow your kindness was much appreciated. Sergio at the beach, running in the
morning with a mattress to put over lawn chair thanks to you also. The bar and Robleza restaurant by the pool, you must have the rotisserie chicken and rice pudding like mom used to make, amazing staff thank you to Raul, Exay, Angela, Nurian and the Chefs, delicious meals noon and night time. Limonciella italien restaurant with impeccable services and very tasty meals what a peaceful ambiance with the piano player. La Arcada is a must, what unforgettable
meals, the beef tenderloin so tasty and melted in your mouth, the lobster bisque better than ever, to end your meals delicious crêpes flambées. Again so many people to thank, Ariel, Pedro, Ivian, Osvaldo, Reynaldo, Cohaya and the great Chefs. This very romantic restaurant has violonists that play during dinner, amazing!. La Cascada Bar, excellent service and the best
Cappucino many thanks Roberto. What a lot of pressure this staff has to work under, trying to
please so many clients at once, and some that don t even tip, shame on you, your lack of respect is unforgivable. Many thanks to Cutting, Ivis, AnaBelle your smile and the pride in your work is very noticeable. Julio, you must get to know this "fou du roi" what a beautiful personality, so many talents and if you can relax, because you are on holidays, talk to him he is
very interesting and will put a smile on your face. Julio you are a joy to be around. Buffet, we could not try all the food in 2 weeks, the variety, the fresh fruits and salads, the soup was great. Having the bread and dinner rolls is a must, the desserts are fantastic. Alexis the pasta chef makes great sauces, so tasty, thank you Alexis. So sorry I do not have the names of all the
friendly staff at the Buffet but you are also a very caring group of people. Making me special tea
at times your good services were appreciated. Mentionning the gardeners is a must, the grounds are kept so nice and many flowers for us to enjoy. Bringing little gifts for the ground keepers would be nice, a little pesos here and there bring tears to their eyes, we did and the
appreciation we got was unforgettable. Animation, the shows, the teams, what a great bunch of
people to meet, the shows will take your breath away. Thank you for so much devotion to you people in animation, Mr. Tremblay, Luisma and Lirenia and all of you teams. So much pride for hard working people. Let me explain at this time that ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT does not mean
no tipping, if that is your mentality, let me add that you are wrong, the staff in resorts do deserve and need for us to tip, and they are so much appreciative of them also.
come on, do you go out in your country and not leave a tip!! Bring them clothing, tootpaste, tootbrush, good clothes you do not wear anymore,cologne, everything is a blessing for them. Again thank you to Bernard Meyer for running such a friendly, amazing resort. We will be back!!
ROGER AND LOUISE WINNIPEG MANITOBA CANADA

Room Tip: we will get a bungalow again, so nice and quiet and of course close to everything. The real king size bed was like new, will try again for same bungalow, it was so perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAIKI154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Roger and Louise,
First of all, I want to thank you for choosing Meliá Las Américas for your 7th Cuban vacation and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is really a pleasure to read such beautiful words to describe your stay in our property, the glorious week you spent here and your sincere high regard for the services we provide.
I am quite pleased to read that our personnel made you feel welcomed and pampered. I am convinced that this is what definitely makes the difference. We are sincerely grateful for taking the time to mention so many of them by name, those who excelled in the service offered. Looks like you made many friends here… We will gladly inform all our staff about your comments as they will give them confidence to increase the quality of their daily services.
Thank you for letting us knows that you enjoyed so much your first visit to our resort, I hope that was the first of many vacation among us.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back for the second time very soon.
“VIVA MELIA LAS AMERICAS”

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in 2011, it was very nice. I loved the piano in the lobby by the bar and loved how you could come down stairs, walk right out the back entrance, and the sand was there in just a few steps. I loved how our room was on the third floor ocean view and we left the sliding door open all night long listening to the waves. Night storms were so fascinating I didn't want to miss them. In the morning you would never know it had stormed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fittrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Fittrim,
We are deeply moved knowing that you visited Meliá Las Américas three years ago and you are still remembering the good times spent here that made it so unforgettable. We appreciate your positive comments about our privileged location and the magic time of piano playing in the afternoons.
It will be my pleasure to welcome you once again anytime.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews