We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Las Americas
Nearby Hotels
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$219
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$215
$186
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$140
$89
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$450
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$388
$236
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
$91
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
$140
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,900)
Filter reviews
5,900 results
Traveler rating
3,407
1,704
513
193
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,407
1,704
513
193
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbernard meyerla arcadail limoncellothe general managercascada barana rosalobby barstring quartettee timesa la carte restaurantsinternational restaurantfishdupont mansionocean viewspecial thanksbeautiful beachmain building
Filter
Updating list...
1,870 - 1,875 of 5,900 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have been to Melia Las Americas 3 times and I have always been happy with the place. The rooms are great, the service is good and, most importantly the food os good, even for Cuban standards ! The beach is 30 seconds away, the golf course is a minute away and the bars are all great places to meet and mingle. The management really cares about the quality of the service, they listen and most of all, they are nice people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vezina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Vezina D,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful impressions on Trip Advisor about your third visit to Meliá Las Américas. We are grateful for your preference.
We appreciate particularly for rating us with 5 points as a true expression of your good memories of your recent stay. It is good to know you enjoyed our hotel and services and valued particularly our Food and Beverages offer.
We will be honoured to welcome you personally soon again during your fourth visit.
Warm regards from sunny Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

After 6 times in Varadero we found paradise at Melia Las Americas. We spent 2 glorious weeks of pampering and amazing hospitality. The new gen.manager Bernard Meyer is the perfect man for the job. Walking around all day checking on guests and staff with so much respect and great personality, have never seen that in any other resorts you will think he has a twin, such a caring man. We had an upper bungalow very well kept everyday thank you Nancy. Customers services
in also unbelievable, so friendly & so many people to say thank you to Osmani, Issi, Angela F.&
Ana Rosa at front desk. Great prof. massage from Rafael and thank you again for walking me back to our bungalow your kindness was much appreciated. Sergio at the beach, running in the
morning with a mattress to put over lawn chair thanks to you also. The bar and Robleza restaurant by the pool, you must have the rotisserie chicken and rice pudding like mom used to make, amazing staff thank you to Raul, Exay, Angela, Nurian and the Chefs, delicious meals noon and night time. Limonciella italien restaurant with impeccable services and very tasty meals what a peaceful ambiance with the piano player. La Arcada is a must, what unforgettable
meals, the beef tenderloin so tasty and melted in your mouth, the lobster bisque better than ever, to end your meals delicious crêpes flambées. Again so many people to thank, Ariel, Pedro, Ivian, Osvaldo, Reynaldo, Cohaya and the great Chefs. This very romantic restaurant has violonists that play during dinner, amazing!. La Cascada Bar, excellent service and the best
Cappucino many thanks Roberto. What a lot of pressure this staff has to work under, trying to
please so many clients at once, and some that don t even tip, shame on you, your lack of respect is unforgivable. Many thanks to Cutting, Ivis, AnaBelle your smile and the pride in your work is very noticeable. Julio, you must get to know this "fou du roi" what a beautiful personality, so many talents and if you can relax, because you are on holidays, talk to him he is
very interesting and will put a smile on your face. Julio you are a joy to be around. Buffet, we could not try all the food in 2 weeks, the variety, the fresh fruits and salads, the soup was great. Having the bread and dinner rolls is a must, the desserts are fantastic. Alexis the pasta chef makes great sauces, so tasty, thank you Alexis. So sorry I do not have the names of all the
friendly staff at the Buffet but you are also a very caring group of people. Making me special tea
at times your good services were appreciated. Mentionning the gardeners is a must, the grounds are kept so nice and many flowers for us to enjoy. Bringing little gifts for the ground keepers would be nice, a little pesos here and there bring tears to their eyes, we did and the
appreciation we got was unforgettable. Animation, the shows, the teams, what a great bunch of
people to meet, the shows will take your breath away. Thank you for so much devotion to you people in animation, Mr. Tremblay, Luisma and Lirenia and all of you teams. So much pride for hard working people. Let me explain at this time that ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT does not mean
no tipping, if that is your mentality, let me add that you are wrong, the staff in resorts do deserve and need for us to tip, and they are so much appreciative of them also.
come on, do you go out in your country and not leave a tip!! Bring them clothing, tootpaste, tootbrush, good clothes you do not wear anymore,cologne, everything is a blessing for them. Again thank you to Bernard Meyer for running such a friendly, amazing resort. We will be back!!
ROGER AND LOUISE WINNIPEG MANITOBA CANADA

Room Tip: we will get a bungalow again, so nice and quiet and of course close to everything. The real king size bed was like new, will try again for same bungalow, it was so perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JAIKI154954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Roger and Louise,
First of all, I want to thank you for choosing Meliá Las Américas for your 7th Cuban vacation and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is really a pleasure to read such beautiful words to describe your stay in our property, the glorious week you spent here and your sincere high regard for the services we provide.
I am quite pleased to read that our personnel made you feel welcomed and pampered. I am convinced that this is what definitely makes the difference. We are sincerely grateful for taking the time to mention so many of them by name, those who excelled in the service offered. Looks like you made many friends here… We will gladly inform all our staff about your comments as they will give them confidence to increase the quality of their daily services.
Thank you for letting us knows that you enjoyed so much your first visit to our resort, I hope that was the first of many vacation among us.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back for the second time very soon.
“VIVA MELIA LAS AMERICAS”

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in 2011, it was very nice. I loved the piano in the lobby by the bar and loved how you could come down stairs, walk right out the back entrance, and the sand was there in just a few steps. I loved how our room was on the third floor ocean view and we left the sliding door open all night long listening to the waves. Night storms were so fascinating I didn't want to miss them. In the morning you would never know it had stormed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fittrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Fittrim,
We are deeply moved knowing that you visited Meliá Las Américas three years ago and you are still remembering the good times spent here that made it so unforgettable. We appreciate your positive comments about our privileged location and the magic time of piano playing in the afternoons.
It will be my pleasure to welcome you once again anytime.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have mixed reviews of this resort. The positives-great beach, nice, clean resort. The negatives-the food, some of the staff. The food is not horrible, and we certainly did not go hungry, but it's pretty much the same choices every day. And everything is tough, either under ripe fruit, or overlooked meat. Wished I had brought a steak knife, but you really shouldn't need one for pineapple or roast beef. The specialty restaurants weren't a whole lot better, except La Arcada, which was very nice. Had steak at Roblenza, was about 1/2 inch thick and tough as nails. The staff-most were good, the hostess at the buffet restaurant made us feel very welcome every meal, our maid Nancy was very nice and helpful (she actually hugged us whenever we saw her) and most of the waitresses were good. When we got there, we were given a horrible little corner room, despite the web site stating all the rooms in our category had a balcony or terrace. We went to the front desk the next day to ask for a change, and though we were given an appropriate room, they were not very nice about it, and we had to go back 3 times because the room wasn't ready. Oh yeah, you can't use Canadian electrical appliances without an adaptor, which I didn't know despite researching this hotel extensively. Apparently they have an adaptor at the reception desk they will supply you with. They assured me they would send it with a porter, and never did. I just gave up on using my curling iron.

The rooms were clean, the furniture and decor a bit outdated, but OK. Every room I saw had two twin or doubles pushed together, and the mattresses were old and hard. They should have forgotten about putting bidets in the rooms and splurged on new queen or king sized beds.

But,oh the beach!!!! Best beach we've ever seen with clean blue water and white sand. Never had a problem getting a beach lounger, or moving to another spot on the beach to follow the sun. And no annoying vendors on the beach, hawking products. Few items for sale, but in little huts and very non aggressive. Nice and quiet, too, they have some activities if you want to participate, but very low key. Pool was very small, never bothered with it.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, lie-on-the-beach holiday, and you're not too fussy about the food, this is the spot for you. No kids, lots of couples and elderly folk, and best of all, no screaming American teenagers on Spring Break

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurseval9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Nurseval9,
We appreciated your overall positive opinions about your last stay in our Hotel, particularly reading that you enjoyed a quiet and relaxing time because our Adults Only features. We also appreciate your sincere assessment about the beauty and cleanliness of every area of our resort and especially regarding our beach when you wrote: “Best beach we've ever seen with clean blue water and white sand”.
I would like to reassure you that your comment was valued as it is only by a careful study of our clients' reports and suggestions that we can correct possible deficiencies and improve our standards of service. We will continue working every day to improve our food variety and quality, as we know this is one of the main aspects vacationers value during their stay.
Thank you for letting us know you found most of our personnel good, mentioning by name some of them, who excelled in the service offered. We will gladly let all our staff knows about your comments as they encourage them to continue increasing the quality of their daily services. We know we have still a lot to be done; we are working everyday to make it better.
We thank you again for having chosen our resort for your recent vacation and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you personally on your second time at our resort.
Best regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent a wonderful week at this property Feb 9-16. It is beautifully located on a lovely private stretch of white sand beach, and is next door to a great golf course (although hole 16 is devilishly difficult). The food was good, the room top notch, and the common facilities of a high standard. However, the most important factor is the excellent friendly service we encountered from everyone working there. The staff obviously take pride in their work and genuinely strive to offer their best. Smiles and helpfulness were in abundance, making one forget about the few issues that exist. For example, here were too few staff in the bar areas so wait times were too long. Also, the method of serving coffee in the morning breakfast period is not efficient (why load this on waiters instead of having a self serve coffee bar?). But overall, an excellent choice for a Cuban golf vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank golffan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Golffan2014,
I agree when you said that the most important factor is the excellent friendly service you encountered from everyone working at Meliá Las Américas. We are sincerely proud to have a highly skilled and trained Staff who has been acclaimed by the majority of our guests for the excellent quality of their service as well as their genuine friendliness and courtesy.
It is very significant for us you recommend our resort to other golfers on Trip Advisor, after spent a wonderful golf vacation at our hotel. We are also pleased to read that you spent at Meliá Las Américas and you enjoyed our facilities.
We take good note of your suggestions for improving the services we offer, and we thank you for it.
We hope to have the occasion to count you among our frequent golfers’ guests in the future.
Best regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews