We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad resort”
Review of Melia Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have mixed reviews of this resort. The positives-great beach, nice, clean resort. The negatives-the food, some of the staff. The food is not horrible, and we certainly did not go hungry, but it's pretty much the same choices every day. And everything is tough, either under ripe fruit, or overlooked meat. Wished I had brought a steak knife, but you really shouldn't need one for pineapple or roast beef. The specialty restaurants weren't a whole lot better, except La Arcada, which was very nice. Had steak at Roblenza, was about 1/2 inch thick and tough as nails. The staff-most were good, the hostess at the buffet restaurant made us feel very welcome every meal, our maid Nancy was very nice and helpful (she actually hugged us whenever we saw her) and most of the waitresses were good. When we got there, we were given a horrible little corner room, despite the web site stating all the rooms in our category had a balcony or terrace. We went to the front desk the next day to ask for a change, and though we were given an appropriate room, they were not very nice about it, and we had to go back 3 times because the room wasn't ready. Oh yeah, you can't use Canadian electrical appliances without an adaptor, which I didn't know despite researching this hotel extensively. Apparently they have an adaptor at the reception desk they will supply you with. They assured me they would send it with a porter, and never did. I just gave up on using my curling iron.

The rooms were clean, the furniture and decor a bit outdated, but OK. Every room I saw had two twin or doubles pushed together, and the mattresses were old and hard. They should have forgotten about putting bidets in the rooms and splurged on new queen or king sized beds.

But,oh the beach!!!! Best beach we've ever seen with clean blue water and white sand. Never had a problem getting a beach lounger, or moving to another spot on the beach to follow the sun. And no annoying vendors on the beach, hawking products. Few items for sale, but in little huts and very non aggressive. Nice and quiet, too, they have some activities if you want to participate, but very low key. Pool was very small, never bothered with it.

If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, lie-on-the-beach holiday, and you're not too fussy about the food, this is the spot for you. No kids, lots of couples and elderly folk, and best of all, no screaming American teenagers on Spring Break

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurseval9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Nurseval9,
We appreciated your overall positive opinions about your last stay in our Hotel, particularly reading that you enjoyed a quiet and relaxing time because our Adults Only features. We also appreciate your sincere assessment about the beauty and cleanliness of every area of our resort and especially regarding our beach when you wrote: “Best beach we've ever seen with clean blue water and white sand”.
I would like to reassure you that your comment was valued as it is only by a careful study of our clients' reports and suggestions that we can correct possible deficiencies and improve our standards of service. We will continue working every day to improve our food variety and quality, as we know this is one of the main aspects vacationers value during their stay.
Thank you for letting us know you found most of our personnel good, mentioning by name some of them, who excelled in the service offered. We will gladly let all our staff knows about your comments as they encourage them to continue increasing the quality of their daily services. We know we have still a lot to be done; we are working everyday to make it better.
We thank you again for having chosen our resort for your recent vacation and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you personally on your second time at our resort.
Best regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,487)
There are newer reviews for Melia Las Americas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,646 - 1,652 of 5,487 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent a wonderful week at this property Feb 9-16. It is beautifully located on a lovely private stretch of white sand beach, and is next door to a great golf course (although hole 16 is devilishly difficult). The food was good, the room top notch, and the common facilities of a high standard. However, the most important factor is the excellent friendly service we encountered from everyone working there. The staff obviously take pride in their work and genuinely strive to offer their best. Smiles and helpfulness were in abundance, making one forget about the few issues that exist. For example, here were too few staff in the bar areas so wait times were too long. Also, the method of serving coffee in the morning breakfast period is not efficient (why load this on waiters instead of having a self serve coffee bar?). But overall, an excellent choice for a Cuban golf vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank golffan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Golffan2014,
I agree when you said that the most important factor is the excellent friendly service you encountered from everyone working at Meliá Las Américas. We are sincerely proud to have a highly skilled and trained Staff who has been acclaimed by the majority of our guests for the excellent quality of their service as well as their genuine friendliness and courtesy.
It is very significant for us you recommend our resort to other golfers on Trip Advisor, after spent a wonderful golf vacation at our hotel. We are also pleased to read that you spent at Meliá Las Américas and you enjoyed our facilities.
We take good note of your suggestions for improving the services we offer, and we thank you for it.
We hope to have the occasion to count you among our frequent golfers’ guests in the future.
Best regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from Melia where we spent 2 weeks with a group of 6. This is the nicest resort in the area situated on a beautiful beach. We stayed in a two storey bungalow which had a nice roomy feel. If you coming from Canada note to yourself to bring a power converter as all outlets are 220. Food is good, no complaints from anyone in our group; anything you can possibly want at the buffet. International restaurant is the best place for dinning. Highly recommend trip to Havana and a visit to a cigar factory.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank KarenSmith00100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Karen S,
We are very happy to read that you had a relaxing vacation at Meliá Las Américas recently with your group of friends. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers and for rating our resort with 5 points, the highest rate on Trip Advisor.
It is so good to know you enjoyed particularly our beautiful beach, as well as the quality and variety of our culinary offer.
I hope to welcome you all soon again at our hotel and to have the occasion of greeting personally.
Best regards from sunny Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Truly a five star resort ...great service great food and excellent staff ...particularly the general manager that takes the time to host the hotel guests during breakfast lunch and dinner
i have been to a lot of great hotels in all my years of travel ..and its very rare that the general manager makes himself visible to their guests .....his name is Bernard Meyer
i would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: ocean view is breathtaking
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Nick L,
We wish to say thank you for identifying Meliá Las Américas as a truly 5* resort and highly recommending us to other travelers, sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
I am very glad to read that your visit to our resort was a lovely trip. We are sincerely grateful for your remarks: “great service, great food an excellent staff. We will keep on working hard to upgrade our quality to meet all our guests´ expectations.
We hope to count you among our many loyal guests in the future.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Melia Las Americas for 12nights from the 1/02/14. We had already had 4 days in Havana so it was nice to arrive to a pleasant easy check in , our room was ready on arrival 3pm.
The hotel is in a perfect location, the food is very good ,the usual as with all inc. it can become repetitive but there are other options and the food was always fresh.
There is room service at no extra cost which was great if you wanted breakfast on your balcony as we did a couple of times.
I had emailed the hotel in advance to inform them of our anniversary and ask was there any chance of a sea view room! Needless to say I was pleasantly surprised when the hotel gave us a room with a view of the golf course and bay (lovely) as the sea view rooms were all taken. Also they had booked us in all of the four themed restaurants over the duration of our stay which was a nice touch ,they were ok but the best were the Arcadia and we liked the Italian.
The hotel is very clean and the grounds are well kept. We went over to the golf club for a drink, even though we don't play we felt welcome and it was nice to walk around the house.
I took Ill on one of the days went straight to the Dr on site and she was really good and sorted me out think 25cuc for the visit but well worth it for me.
The beach is beautiful we had fab weather so because of the breeze we spent most days on the beach we found the pools too hot.
Had a problem with the lady on wifi basically she was missing on the three occasions I trecked up from the beach when she was there she was very rude! 4.50 cuc for 1hr. I went to customer service in reception ,the lady was very helpful, understanding and efficient she waited for her to return and went with me to purchase my wifi, she explained she doesn't work for the hotel they come In to do the internet service.
The problem with this hotel for us was the staff or shortage of it! The bar at the top of the steps la cascada (I think) really lacking In staff with the exception of Evis and Annabel who were good but had to cover a lot of tables, orders and clearing away, you can wait up to 20 min for anyone to come out to take your order we ended up going in to the bar but the chances of somebody being there were hit and miss, the buffet dining room is the same especially if my husband wanted a beer with his lunch the staff had to go out to the other ridiculously slow bar in reception to get it by which time he'd finished his meal, the beach bar is the same slow and understaffed, we are quite easygoing people so turned it into a bit of a joke but it did become tedious.
Would we stay here again? Probably not it lacks the wow factor and it's more of a 4* than a 5* , having said that I appreciate the manager who is always around and cheery has only been there seven months and these things take time especially in Cuba.
We had a lovely restful holiday and thankyou to all who made it a lovely break for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeep24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Jeep24,
Allow me to offer my most truthful thankfulness for sharing your review about your lovely restful holiday at our resort.
With regard to the incident with the person in charge to WiFi service, I personally apologize. As our Customer Service informed to you, this it is an extra service provided by the Company of the Telecommunication of Cuba. We have informed this enterprise in order to guarantee in the future the service our clients deserve.
Thank you again for your remarks about the services we offer. I assure you that the information you have provided will allow us to identify opportunities for improvement. We will continue working to guarantee with more efficiency our guests´ needs and expectations.
We would be very pleased to have another opportunity to offer the service you merit and to change the image you had.
Sincerely.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

In general, we were pleasantly surprise by the quality of service, food and on-site amenities & organized activities at Melia Las americas. Management, Mr. Bernard Meyer and his assistants were checking constantly on guests to ensure that everything is OK. The varadero golf course is located right next to the hotel. We were able to book 5 rounds of golf during our week stay, but it's not easy to get tee times in the morning.

A few things that Melia team could try to improve: Coffe at breakfast in the buffet restaurant is often luke warm, not hot as to our standards ... as coffee is not kept in "thermos" type carafe. Towels are not available at the gym, so we have to bring one from our room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank super_peanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Super_peanut,
Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback on "Trip Advisor" regarding your golf vacation in Meliá Las Américas. I am glad to know that our services, culinary offer and Entertainment activities were a pleasant surprise for you and exceeded your expectations.
We are also grateful for your remarks for improving; it is only by a careful study of our clients' reports and suggestions that we can correct possible deficiencies and improve our standards of service. We know that there are always a lot to be done; we are working everyday to make it better.
I really hope to welcome you soon back to our resort.
Warmest regards.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have just spent our third visit to the Melia Las Americas. We had a fantastic time and would like to thank all the staff from the maid who cleaned our room to the management who were present around the hotel for making it a very pleasant stay. Just great value for money.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms have the best views
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Paul T,
We are genuinely grateful for choosing Melia Las Americas to celebrate your birthday and for sharing your fantastic experience with other travelers. Third time to our resort and you are now officially one more member of the Meliá Family!
Thank you very much for letting us knows how much you enjoyed your vacation in our hotel. I will gladly inform to all our staff about your gratitude for making your stay so pleasant and unforgettable.
It will be my pleasure to welcome you soon on your fourth visit.
Best regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.8 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,782 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Address: | Playa de Las Americas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $239 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing