We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved every moment of my stay in this paradise”
Review of Melia Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We just got back from an amazing vacation at Melias Las Americas. The place was spotlessly clean and beautifully designed. The food was fresh and delicious at the buffet everyday. We ate at all the four restaurants and all of them were great. The staff were so friendly and professional as well. Julia, the lady who cleaned our room, was amazing and always designed our towels beautifully in shapes of heart and swans with flowers on our bed.
We came back last night and I already miss it there.. I will go back to this resort at the heart beat and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taranehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Taranehl,
First of all, I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for your wonderful feed back to us so soon after arriving home, actions like this compromise us more on the way of continue improving the quality of the service we offer.
I am very glad to know that you loved every moment of your visit to Melia Las Americas you are still dreaming to come back. We are deeply grateful for taking some of your time to share your experience at our Hotel and for recommending our resort to other travelers.
We will be very happy and pleased to pass your nice opinions to all our staff.
I take the opportunity to wish you and your family a Happy New Year.
We hope to welcome you again anytime soon.
Warm regards from sunny Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,769 - 1,775 of 5,565 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

FOOD & BEVERAGE:
More than what I had expected. Always had grilled meat. Buffet selection was great.

ROOMS:
Cleaned daily. TV had mostly Spanish channels. There were 2 English channels

SERVICE:
Phenomenal.

BEACH:
Very very nice

AMENITIES:
We were mostly playing golf, so really did not have a chance to use other facilities. But the swimming pool was cold.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Norbert C,
It is with pleasure that we have read that you describe our resort as an excellent place. We appreciate greatly your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel with others.
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed our hotel and services, that you evaluate as phenomenal. We will gladly inform to our staff about your kind comments. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you were pleased with our service and recommend our hotel.
We will be pleased to welcome you again soon. I take the opportunity to wish you and your family a Happy New Year.
Cordially,

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was our first trip to Cuba but when we booked we didn’t expect it would be like home but did not expect Milia Las Americas not to be up to the standards of all-inclusive resorts in Mexico or Jamaica as the price was similar. The check in was fine but the first of many disappointments was the elevator. There was only one and it was under repair so we had to use the dirty freight elevator. When the elevator was running it was small (hold 6people) and smelly. It took for ever for it to come and it only had four floors to travel. We spent a lot of time looking at the floors changing at a snail’s pace.
The food was mediocre in the buffet; breakfast was ok except for the orange juice was watered down so much it hardly tasted like OJ. The coffee was similar; it was hard to tell it was coffee. After a couple days we had cappuccino that was ok, and then we had espresso, it was very good. I don’t care for it being so strong but I added their coffee to dilute it and it gave it a good coffee taste. The staff we very friendly and helpful. We were allowed three visits to the restaurants but this could not be reserved by phone. There were long waits to make a reservation and then the fish La Robleza and Italian restaurant, Il Limoncello were a joke. We arrived at the La Robleza restaurant at 7:15 as reserved and we were the first there. In about twenty minutes another couple showed up and by the time we left, less than one hour, there were maybe 6 tables occupied out of 20 tables, and all this fuss about getting a reservation? The food was absolutely terrible; we went to the buffet to have something decent. The staff were very unfriendly and it seemed like we were a bother to them. The Italian Restaurant Il Limoncello, was a similar experience, except the food was eatable, the choices we’re not gourmet by any means pizza or pasta. Again, not many people in a good sized room. The best restaurant La Arcada was very nice. Four violinists playing wonderfully, in a very nice room. The only complaint would be the lobster. It looked great when they brought it but there was very little lobster and it was very mushy and tasteless. The staff here were not particularly friendly and didn’t check to see if everything was ok and totally ignored us near the end of our meal. So much for dining in this hotel!
Bar service was very poor at the bar that looked after the outside patio. The bar tender would not be busy and would look at me then turn around and talk to a co-worker, wipe the counter and then finally serve me. Someone said that they are expecting a tip. We have never seen so much tipping for an all-inclusive resort. On the other hand the main bar was great; as soon as I walked up they may be busy with someone else’s drink but would ask what I wanted. I felt good leaving them a peso for their good service.
Our room looked over the ocean and golf course, very nice. The Air conditioning was ok, but seemed it was either too hot or too cold. To be comfortable we needed a blanket. A ceiling fan would have been far better than a/c. The housekeeper did a superb job of looking after our room, but there was always a sewage smell present, not only in our room, but in the hallways also.
The whole hotel was air conditioned but it still felt warm and humid, there was never any air movement. One time in the buffet dining room, a window was opened with a beautiful breeze blowing through, it was wonderful. There again, it should have been all open air, rather than having a poor air conditioning system.
Overall, this hotel is overrated, the only things it has going for it is the beach and golf course, needless to say we will not be returning.

Room Tip: The 4th floor was great with ocean and golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Bill C,
I am truly sorry to read that you did not enjoy our hotel not any of our services. We are sincerely thankful for your taking the time to give us your opinion about the insufficiency quality of our hotel services that you experienced. We do value your comments as it is only by a careful study of our clients' reports and suggestions that we can correct possible deficiencies and improve our standards of service.
Regarding your comments about our personnel, we analysed it with their Heads of Department and corrective actions have been taken to guarantee that the quality of their service excels the first-rated one provided by our Hotel chain.
We are sorry you could not find the food to your liking, taking into account that all standards are checked on a regular basis to ensure that our guest’s ´ requirements are met and they are fully satisfied. I personally regularly monitor the quality and standards of all the Food and Beverages served in the Hotel and I am disappointed that it was not to your liking. We work every day to improve our food variety and quality, as we know this is one of the main aspects vacationers value during their stay.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Melia Las Americas in the future. I take the opportunity to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Cordially.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This will be one of my shortest reviews on record because the title says it all. For once, I don't need to go into detail about finding the positives. Great beach. Great customer service. Helped us celebrate our anniversary in style. Great food, wonderful cheese selection! Great drinks and international selection. Great animation team (Julio and Ariel in particular). Only downside was Cuban mattress. I don't quite understand why they can't get better mattresses... But I have slept on worse than those at this hotel.

Bernard, Boris and Yudmala at the reception very helpful. Israel the bellboy is terrific. Rossana and Dunay at the bar. Marcy at the buffet. All around lovely hotel. Be sure to take a jaunt into Varadero and visit the beach there. Cubans are such friendly people.

Room Tip: The adjoining rooms can be noisy, especially if you don't know the people next door and don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dkqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear DKQC,
Definitely, your review’s title says it all: “Consistent Quality”. It was our pleasure to read that you enjoyed intensely our resort and services. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are also pleased to know that our staff, who we are very proud of, make you feel so welcomed. We will gladly let them know your kind words, because comments like yours give them confidence to continue offering the best of themselves.
It will be my pleasure to welcome you personally anytime soon. I take the opportunity to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Best regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

It is important to have the right expectations when travelling to Cuba as the star rating system is not the same as other countries. That being said, based on my travel experiences, I would rate this hotel at 3.5 stars. We travelled Dec 3 - 14, 2013.

Check-in was easy and smooth. We were in a renovated bungalow and the room was huge! We decided that we would prefer an ocean view and went to the front desk to inquire about changing rooms. Elizabeth at the front desk was wonderful and very helpful! We ended up changing rooms the next day and had an entire 'bungalow building' to ourselves! It was close to the pool/snack bar which closed around 5:00 so no noise and it was totally peaceful and quiet! We could faintly hear the music from the Theater but it was not an issue for us. I would recommend a bungalow as they are very spacious, not in the main area of the hotel and offer beautiful views and a relaxing atmosphere. Friends stayed in the main building and their room was dated, hallways were noisy and the elevator exceptionally slow and very small. However, they did have a breathtaking view of both the Ocean and the Bay, and we saw the most spectacular sunsets from their room! The bungalows are further from the main building, important to be mindful of if mobility is an issue.

Beach was beautiful and we never had an issue finding beach loungers or had to get up at sunrise to reserve them. The pools looked beautiful but very seldom was anyone in them as they are not heated and were freezing! No issue finding lounge chairs and bali beds by the pool either. Love that they have mattresses for floating in the pool so you don't have to totally immerse yourself in the freezing water! An increase in the pool temperature of 5 to 7 degrees would make it refreshing and useable.

Food was better than expected for Cuba. The speciality restaurants were fantastic from service right through to menu options and food quality. Make sure you get your reservations asap! Buffet had a good variety and they had a grill where you could choose your meat or fish and have it grilled just how you like it. This is a great addition to the buffet! Need to give a shout out to Mercy and Mercedes who work in the buffet - delightful women who were always happy to see you, remember you and we had so much fun with!

We were at the resort for our anniversary and let the hotel know this at the time of booking. We had a bottle of champagne in our room and were invited to a special honeymoon/anniversary celebration cocktail party and dinner. This was wonderful as we were all given champagne, appetizers, entertainment, photos were taken and then we were whisked away for a romantic dinner on the beach! Wonderful way to make people feel special (and at no extra cost!!)

The fitness facilities were fairly good - they had enough equipment for me to get a great workout in each day. I would suggest that towels be available, more mats (there are only 2) and add a few medicine balls and stability balls.

Loved the terrace facing the beach - beautiful view of the ocean and wonderful place to enjoy a coffee or cocktail. However, it seemed to be the smoking area so if you don't smoke you won't enjoy sitting there and won't be able to breathe. Would really like to see a non-smoking area so all guests can enjoy the terrace.

We did not really see the entertainment in the theater so can't really comment on that but thoroughly enjoyed the piano in the lobby bar in the evening and the singing in the 24hr bar. There isn't a disco and not a lot of night life at this resort. Love the string quartet in the Gourmet restaurant (they were fantastic!) and would suggest they play in the lobby bar too - just to switch it up a bit.

Definitely worth doing a trip to Havana. We hired a driver and tour guide ($40 CUC per person)and were in a 1957 Chevy for the trip, which was just super cool! We learned a lot about the history, culture and people first hand from our guide.

Xanadu Mansion is right next door and worth seeing. There is a beautiful lounge on the top floor with a small outdoor balcony which is perfect for watching the sunset and enjoying a spectacular view with a glass of wine. We did not have dinner there but heard great reviews from other guests. If interested in the history of the mansion you can do a tour for $2 CUC each.

Overall, had a great vacation and would recommend this hotel for travellers to Cuba.

Room Tip: Definitely get a bungalow! It is in a quieter area of the hotel, but we love having the best of bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayfun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Holidayfun99,
Thank you very much for choosing Meliá Las Américas to spend your vacation. It is great to read that you enjoyed intensely our Wedding Anniversary’s Special Program. We want to thank you for the good comments about our food, drinks, entertainment, service and the facility in general.
We have read with pleasure your nice review. Your suggestions will have an impact in future improvements.
We are deeply grateful for recommending our hotel to others and for sharing your experience with other travelers.
I take the opportunity to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. We will be very happy to welcome you back again.
Warm regards

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is our second trip to Cuba and first time at this resort. We stayed the first week of December and could not have asked for more. The check in process is probably the only area for improvement. There were only about 5 couples checking in at the same time as us but we waited almost 45minutes until someone could finally check us in. There was only one person checking everyone in but once we got through this process, we had a fantastic time. We stayed in a bungalow suite and it was beautiful. It had plenty of room but our mini fridge was never restocked once while we were there. But given that everything is all inclusive, this really is not a huge deal! The food is surprisingly very good. There are so many choices to pick from at every meal, it is sure to satisfy even the pickiest eaters. The only thing I would advise is that if you have any dietary restrictions, you have to be very careful. My husband does not eat pork and often, there would be pork in some of the sauces that you may not expect, so he just had to remember to ask. We only ate at the International and the Japanese restaurant. The Japanese was fun but by far, the best meal we had all week was at the International. The food was outstanding but the staff there are so amazing. I wish I could remember their names as their service was fantastic! Jose in the buffet was great and always had a smile on his face. We also used room service twice, and each time the food was brought pretty quickly and was delicious.

We really enjoyed this hotel and would go back in a second!!

Room Tip: Get a bungalow. It's quieter and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank naiomi379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Naiomi379,
It is nice to read that you had a fantastic first stay in Meliá Las Américas and you are still dreaming to coming back.
We are grateful for letting us know that you enjoyed our hotel and services, especially our various foods’ offers. We will gladly let our staff know about your nice comments.
Also, we appreciate sincerely for bringing to our attention areas for improvement. It is very important for us that our guests comment either good or bad in order for us to keep improving our service standard operations.
I take the opportunity to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. It will be my pleasure to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards,

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Melia LA is a lovely resort with a nice sized, gorgeous sandy beach. Pools looked nice but with a beautiful beach and view, we spent every day on the beach. Swimming was wonderful, waves were a lot of fun. Warm friendly staff everywhere. Rooms are clean, food was decent. A little variety at the buffet was nice, extra nice touch being able to choose from a variety of fish or meats and have it grilled right in front of you. We enjoyed 3 a la carte dinners, all very good.
We would return to Melia LA again and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Cuba.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Cathy,
First of all we want to thank you on behalf of Meliá Las Américas Hotel management and staff for your nice review. Was a real pleasure reading your comments and sharing them with our personnel, which encourage them to continue improving the service they provide. We really appreciate your comments.
Thank you for the time invested in sharing your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor and for recommending us resort to other travelers.
Hope to see you soon again. I take the opportunity to wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.
Warm regards from Varadero.

Bernard Meyer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.9 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,884 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Address: | Playa de Las Americas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $254 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing