We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Varadero”
Review of Melia Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed at Melia Las Americas for the past 2 years. This after vowing NEVER to go back to the same place twice (the world is too big!!). After staying here in March 2012 we simply HAD to re-book. The hotel is furnished to the highest standard. The staff are both friendly and efficient and will do their utmost to make your stay as perfect as it can be.

Only slight criticism is that the outside of the buildings could do with some TLC

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel with others. I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Las Americas was as great and relaxing as you expected and will be honoured and pleased to greet you personally during your third visit.

Cordially,
Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,487)
There are newer reviews for Melia Las Americas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,905 - 1,911 of 5,487 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from a great 2 week holiday. Relaxing and quiet. If your a couple, pay the little extra and come to this hotel, no kids! no Americans! Practically on the beach with the sea like bath water. Lots of things just a little better than neighbouring hotels, brands of spirits that you recognise and house wine from Chile that is really rather drinkable. Most of the food is OK just give the fish restaurant a miss as none of it is cooked to order, have your fish in the main buffet where you can choose your fish and watch then cook it. Staff are on the whole very friendly but need to learn a few customer skills to bring it up to a 5 star, only tip them if you think you have had good service, you will find the Canadians tip for a pastime and don't get any better service. If you find this useful tick the box please!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for your comments. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you were pleased with our service. We will be very happy and pleased to pass your kind remarks to our staff, as comments like yours encourage them to improve and offer the best of themselves.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Las Americas once more.
Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have been to Cuba at least 10 times but this was our first stay at Melia Las Americas. We choose this location for the golf course but were very impressed with the rest of the resort. This was a very relaxing vacation. We played golf every morning and then just relaxed on the beach reading or snoozing or swimming in the ocean which was just fabulous. We really enjoyed our bungalo suite which was walking distance from the main building and restaurants. Most of the staff is very friendly and helpful and the service at the buffet was just great compared to other locations we have been to. The food was also very decent given the importation problem, but they still need to learn how to cook crambled eggs. Downside for which they are not responsible, altought this is an all adult resort, sometimes you wonder if kids are not better.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2013Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for your comments an thar your are thinking to come back to Melea La Americas. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you were pleased with our service.We will gladly inform our staff about your comments as they will give them confidence to increase the quality of their daily services.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Las Americas for the second time and please let me know in advaced any details to look after your requests with pleasure.
With warmest regards,
Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

March 2013 was our first visit at Melia L/A and we will go again. Our main purpose was to play golf and we sure got our money's worth on the free green fees and beautiful surroundings... cart rental is pretty expensive though. The course was in great shape. It is highly recommended you book your tee time a few weeks before you leave as it's very busy. The short walking distance to the hotel made us appreciate our stay even more especially with all the great Canadian golfers we met. Our room was on the ground level (as requested) close by the main lobby. We were impressed with the size and cleanliness of this 3-storey suite which included 2 bathrooms, a bar, a TV sitting area and then the bedroom in the loft with another TV....to watch our CTV news at 11:00!!!. Most of the time we ate at the main buffet area and the food was great. The chef cooked absolutely everything I wanted. He was well recognized for his pleasant and helpful demeanor. In regards to restaurant reservations at this hotel however, we were not so lucky with the timing as we only could get seatings for 9:00ish which was way too late for us. We did eat twice at the 'international' restaurant and all the dishes were excellent and so was their wine and their 4-piece orchestra. All of the hotel staff were really polite and helpful and kudos go out to Reynaldo and Dayanet for their professionalism -- Great golf tournament arrangements on Wednesday night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LucyC52458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for your comments and I really appreciate your words. Thanks again for trust Melia La Americas. We will be very happy and pleased to pass your kind remarks to our staff and in particularly tour fantistic chef Executive Gennaro and all the staff uder his supervision becouese comments like yours encourage them to improve and offer the best of themselves.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Las Americas again and let me tell that will celebrate the V Edition of the Meliá Cuba Golf Cup from october 24th up to october 26th, on this event will take place golfers from more than 12 countries and a lot of fun is guaranteed.
DO NOT MISS IT!

Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

April 2013 was our third year to Melia Las Americas. We continue to visit this location, for many reasons! We play golf every morning, relax on the beautiful beach, swim in the ocean, and enjoy the pool for the remainder of the day! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, food is very good, and the grounds are beautiful! My brother and his wife, joined us, last year, and we are all going to return this December! Melia Las Americas is our vacation destination!

Room Tip: The suites located among the garden areas, are very large and offer a quiet peaceful area to enjoy e...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Maureen F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to express my most sincere appreciation for your comments. The greatest motivation for us is to know that you were pleased with our service and food. We will be very happy and pleased to pass your kind remarks to our staff, as comments like yours encourage them to improve and offer the best of themselves.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Las Americas for your fourth time and let me tell that will celebrate the V Edition of the Meliá Cuba Golf Cup from October 24th up to October 26th, on this event will take place golfers from more than 12 countries and a lot of fun is guaranteed.

DO NOT MISS IT and please let me know in advaced any details to look after your requests with pleasure.

Best regards,
Stefano Sturni
General Manager





I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Las Americas once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my third visit, and I brought 3 people with me. The grounds were clean and beautiful as they have been in past. The food in the main buffet restaurant is varied, and we all thought it was very good. The service was fantastic - very friendly people! The International Restaurant impressed all of us with the atmosphere, food and music. I will return again next year!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank SandiStokoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel with others.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Las Americas was wonderful and you are still dreaming to come back. We will be very happy and pleased to pass your gentle opinions to all and specially to our Executive Chef Mr. Gennaro and all of staff of Internacional Resteurant, because comments like yours, motivate them to improve the quality of the services they provide.
I hope to have the honour of greeting you in Melia Las Americas soon.
Best regards,
Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you'll scroll down to April 8/13 you'll find my last review of Melia Las Americas. We love this place - it's wonderful and everyone goes out of their way to make us happy. Zahily is someone we will never forget - she is a charming, concerned and caring person and credit to Melia Las Americas.

We do hope to be back this fall, but we'll have to wait and see as we have a business to run but if we don't get there this fall you may be assured that we'll be there next spring.

Please read my other reviews - or, just make plans to go to Melia Las Americas - you won't be sorry and you meet the nicest people at Melia. Please have a swim for me

Bynan

Room Tip: We don't spend that much time in our room so we are very happy with the room provided to us whic...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BYNAN74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,
Comments like yours are definitely nice to read. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed every years your Holiday to our hotel.

We are also pleased to know that our staff and of course to Zahily, whom we are very proud of make you feel so welcomed. I am also very glad that you love thos Hotel!
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back again during this year to Melia Las Americas.

Best regards,
Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.8 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,782 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Address: | Playa de Las Americas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $239 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing