We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuban getaway”
Review of Melia Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This resort was incredible. Had a wonderful vacation filled with fun adventures. Our room had amazing views of the golf course, staff was very friendly, beach and water were fantastic. Highly recommended resort! Cuba was a blast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaclyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel with others.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Las Americas was incredible and you could enjoy the amazing views of the golf course, the beach and the fantastic water and we will pass your kind opinions to our staff .

We will be honoured and pleased to greet you personally during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,487)
There are newer reviews for Melia Las Americas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,041 - 2,047 of 5,487 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived at the Las Americas in Veradero on Febuary 2nd, with some reservations about Cuba, Hoterl, food ect. After 14 days I was so pleasently suprised with the quality of the hotel, Excellent foods, The specialaty resteraunts were wonderful which we used 7 times in our 14 day stay, I played 11 rounds of golf , most enjoyable .
The hotel staff are the most pleasant people you could ever meet,I believe all Cubans are very nice.
I would, and I have recommended this hotel, and look forward to my next visit to Varadero and no doubt where we will be staying. Thanks Bill Prevost

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel with others. I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Las Americas was wonderful and you will be coming back.

We will be very happy and pleased to pass your gentle opinions to our staff because comments like yours, motivate them to improve the quality of the services they provide.

I hope to have the honour of greeting you in Melia Las Americas soon.

Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Love this hotel. Staff is exceptionally nice. It was our 2nd time. Food at Il Limoncello, Sakura, La Robleza, the buffet (breakfast especially) and the 24 hour bar is excellent. Our favorite is La Arcada restaurant where customer service staff had a special birthday cake prepared for the occasion. We enjoyed there are no children, at the pool, beach and restaurants. There was no shortage of chairs at the pool or beach. We are golfers so it’s the perfect location as the Varadero Golf Course is adjacent to the hotel. Last year, we had a standard room. We had the view of the golf course and water. This year, we stayed in a bungalow junior suite, there is no view but it is so spacious, we would have liked to stay longer. It has a living room, 2 TVs, a walking closet in the separate bedroom with king size bed, a mini fridge with a table and chairs. You can sit outside on the equally spacious deck. We had the best of time, it was absolutely perfect and we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guests,

I am delighted to read that your visit to Melia Las Americas was a lovely trip and that our staff made you feel welcomed. We will keep on working hard to upgrade our quality to meet all our guests´ expectations.

We will be very happy and pleased to pass your kind remarks to our La Arcada staff, as comments like yours encourage them to improve and offer the best of themselves.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Las Americas again and again.

Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed the hotel the first week of February. My husband and I wanted a week away without the kids for the first time in nearly a decade. We considered the Dominican and the Mexican Riviera, but opted for Cuba as we’d never been before. We enjoyed seeing Havana and were lucky enough to see the Buena Vista Social Club live. However, we would never return to or recommend this resort.
We thoroughly researched areas and resorts before opting for this one. We read good reviews and although we are not golfers, decided to take a chance. Unfortunately, the hotel did not live up to expectations at all. Regardless of the fact that this is Cuba and we know the standards are not the same as elsewhere, this hotel is definitely not a 5 Star – more like a 3 on a good day and a 2 the rest of the time. The location gets a 5 but that’s about all.
The average age of the hotel patrons is 65 with a few 30 and 40 somethings thrown in. We are aged mid-40 and mid-50 but would have liked to have seen more younger couples to liven the place up a bit. This was our error in choosing a golfing location. The course is apparently really great, and the golfers who stayed were all very pleased and have likely been the ones writing the favourable reviews.
There is ONE lonely elevator in the entire hotel (other than one service elevator). It is approximately four feet square. We like to work-out so opted for the stairs most of the time.
We paid a lot for an ocean-view room, but it was a huge disappointment. It was relatively spacious and comparable to a North American Marriott or nicer Days Inn in space and design, and the view was lovely. However, the room itself was truly lacking. The bathroom wasn’t bad with the marble tiles (some poorly laid), and some painting mishaps here and there. The TV was okay and had CNN and CTV, as well as Cuban, Spanish, French (from France), and Asian channels. The worst was the bed. It was an instrument of torture with its 4” thick rock hard mattress on a boxspring of what must have been cement. Ugh! The linens were paperthin and likely 50 threadcount if that! At least I had a nightly exfoliation treatment courtesy of the sheets! Not only that, but the linens were too narrow for the size of the bed. The décor is pretty lacking as well. We know this is a poor country, but the lobby is gracious, and the hotel is part of a huge Spanish-owned chain. We just expected better and were very disappointed.
Entertainment on the beach consisted of the same canned music on a loop played at approximately the same time every day, and the same 20 to 30-minute basic salsa lesson every day on the beach. If you know how to do zumba, you know salsa. So after the first mini lesson, it was a little dull and very repetitive to say the least. The beach staff appeared to be on auto-pilot, and none seemed to sincerely like the guests very much.
On the plus side, there was a nice live group (2 women and 2 men) that played Cuban music outside by the beach bar. However, on their breaks the inevitable flogging of CDs put a downer on the overall appeal.
A trio of girls sang in one of the hotel bars most evenings, and they were fantastic with lovely harmonizing voices. After the third evening listening to them it was a little dull to hear the same music over and over again. The hotel would do well to hire some other acts during the week to add some variety. These girls would also tour the room in between sets to attempt to sell their CDs.
The bathrooms near the beach bar were always out of either toilet paper, soap, paper towels or a combination of the three. Custodial staff were nearby but didn’t seem to attend to much of anything! The same was true for the interior washrooms in the hotel’s large main lobby. It was very frustrating to find them out of toilet paper or soap on a routine basis as well!
The beach is truly beautiful and the location is superb. There is a lovely café with steps leading down to the beach – it is the main thoroughfare to the beach. However, it is also the sole location for the smokers to congregate as they aren’t allowed to smoke in the other common areas of the hotel. It was a shame as sitting at a view table inhaling smoke from all angles ruined what would have been idyllic.
We didn’t use the pool because it is unheated. It was very nice though with loungers around it. People would greedily place their towels on loungers before going golfing to “reserve” them for the day, so it was impossible to gain one without getting up at 5 AM.
Service left a lot to be desired. I could have aged a decade waiting for someone to take our order, and even longer for it to be delivered! We are not huge drinkers, but we do like service when we are at a resort. We would sit in an area when it wasn’t particularly busy, notice a waiter nearby and never get served. We would call him or her over or try to wave them down, usually to no avail. The majority of the time we got our own drinks. We eventually opted to get two at a time out of sheer frustration! We would stand at the bar and wait seemingly forever to be waited on. We always tipped and smiled, and never complained, but this horrible service was the case for the entire week. This was the case at ALL of the hotel’s bars. The bartender at the beach bar told me they were understaffed and she seemed mad (normally there were apparently four waiting bar – there was usually only one person and occasionally two). Still, at times it was just deliberate rudeness in not wanting to wait on people who were clearly standing patiently waiting to order while being actively ignored.
The outdoor restaurant near the beach is a lovely location and a perfect spot for lunch. However, although there were four people taking drink orders (shockingly it didn’t take forever), there was only one person taking food orders. The woman who took my drink order didn’t inform me of that until I managed to grab her as she was passing by (she never asked if I wanted a second drink although it was 15+ minutes since I had been brought my first!). I asked her if I could order and it was only then that she explained that there was ONE person taking food orders, and casually pointed her out halfway across the floor! My menu had been sitting with me the entire time and nobody saw fit to explain this silliness to me. Flabbergasted, I eventually managed to have an order taken. The food was horrible though so it wasn’t worth the wait. Great location – awful service and food. The hotel’s theme!
Another major complaint would be the variety and taste of the food. The buffet items were often mislabeled (especially the desserts). It was also very bland and featured too many stews. The desserts were pretty much the same thing each day as well and also very bland. The bread selection was fantastic though, as was the coffee!! Coffee and tea are only served at breakfast. If you want them for lunch or dinner, you have to exit the buffet restaurant and attempt to get someone at a bar to make you one! Good luck! It might be breakfast time again before you get the coffee to go with your dessert!
Also, it was obvious that although they wore the tell-tale hats, the chefs are not trained and did not know how to properly carve any of the meat (turkey, ham, chickens, etc.). This was especially true regarding beef. The beef was cut against the grain making it extremely tough. It was hilarious watching them hack away at the meat! They might as well have used an ax! Beef is served rarely as it is extremely expensive in Cuba.
There are four a la carte restaurants on site. You must queue in the lobby for a reservation and hope that you can be seated before 11 PM. The International Restaurant is by the far the best of the lot. Service was actually good – the staff stood out for that fact! The food was nice too. There is an option to purchase a bottle of wine (the meal and the one house red or white wine on offer are covered by the all-inclusive). What surprised us was that we were told there were only a couple of spots vacant when we got our 8 PM seating. However, more than half the restaurant was empty and only one other table of four came in while we were there! This was also the case when we ate at the Limoncella Restaurant (Italian). More than half of the tables were vacant and others were not entering while we were there!The food was not very good but service was better than normal. Of the two, the International was superior but why the mystery with the empty seats?
We both used the gym. We went in the morning as it is not air conditioned. Even so, it was exhausting working out in the heat without air conditioning. The equipment is very old consisting of four really awful bikes (no clips; not spinning bikes), one stair climber without a cup holder, one elliptical (no cup holder), a couple of treadmills and some handweights weights and nautilus equipment. The yoga and aqua fit classes were amusing to watch – not much of a workout at all! You’d be lucky to burn 50 calories.
One of the biggest issues for us was the fact that although the majority (but not all!) of the staff were friendly, they only smiled when we were overly friendly to them first. The opposite of what one would be used to in any hotel anywhere else in the world, especially where tips are such an issue. We routinely tipped everyone but service was nonetheless appalling. I would however like to point out that the lady in charge of the computers was really nice, friendly and kind, as were the front desk staff.
None of my electronics were working even with an adaptor plug, so the staff were kind enough to charge them at the front desk computers, for which I am very grateful. (Note – Canadians will require an adaptor plug for their electronics – hope you have better luck!)Tips are an important aspect for the staff whose monthly salaries are often only $30. Knowing this, I brought small gifts for the maid and we tipped her daily. However, she made a point of approaching us on Thursday to inform us that the next day would be her day off – hint hint. More than a little tacky we thought! I guess we were luckier than other guests though. People we met in the hotel said that their bathroom was not cleaned even once during their entire week’s stay. And they are Melia Hotel members but did chose to stay in a regular room for this, their second stay at this particular Melia. They said their room was half the size of the ocean-view rooms, and was crowded with the suitcases.
The nightly entertainment was quaint but very “high school” in its performance calibre. The kids (and they are kids – ages to 16-20 we estimate). We would have live or even canned Cuban salsa music for the guests for a few hours each evening rather than cheesy shows such as the 70s Disco-Themed event. This was a horrible event, showcasing awful but intentionally obvious lip-synching to 80s and 90s music (ironically nothing from the 70s). The Cuban show was worth seeing and the dancers all worked hard to perform, and clearly love their job. These nightly themed dance shows were just a little too over to the top at times. And the audiences barely moved or seemed conscious throughout most of the performances!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are apparently twice as big as regular rooms but cost more. Ask for a room on the 2...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank famillehamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

I’m offering my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations regarding your comment.

We have already analysed with our staff about your negatives comments to increase the quality of their daily services.

We should also like to inform you that we are carrying out some renovations to update the image and improve the whole product to meet all our guests´s expectations.

We will be honoured and pleased to have an other opportunity to receive your again and greet you personally during your next visit.


Kind regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

After changing rooms twice, we finally got the right room. Food and service was excellent at the buffet, the best I had ever experienced for an all-inclusive. The resort is quiet and not much in the way of nightlife as it's geared at golfing. The beach is great, quiet and uncrowded. It's private so you don't have to worry about being harassed. Negatives was room housekeeping. The first night, the blankets were gone and we had to use the spares in the closet. The next day THEY were gone, despite tipping graciously.

Room Tip: Golfers should stay in the main hotel (the rooms are small, but close to the golf course). The '...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chere701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very thankful for your taking the time to share your experience with others and for your kind comments about our hotel.

I am quite pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Melia Las Americas and we had informed our Hose keeping manager about your comments as they will give them confidence to increase the quality of their daily services.


Looking forward to having the pleasure of your visit any time soon.

Kind regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Flying with SUNWING was bad choice, but once we got to the hotel after a 14 hours of delayed flight, i was surprise by the hotel elegant and beautiful lobby, the room, food, and yes the entertainer Julio. I would definitely go back to Melias Las americas.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Zubair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We deeply appreciate your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel with others.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Las Americas was as good as you expected and you could enjoy our beautiful beach and relax among us.

We will be honoured and pleased to greet you personally during your next visit.

Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Melia las Americas has all the trappings of a spiffy resort hotel. Many bars and restaurants, beautiful beach, well tended golf course, nice rooms, knowledgable and helpful staff. (But for some odd reason it seems to have too few elevators.) But it could just as well be in Mexico or California or Florida. For anyone who wants to experience Cuba, this is not the place. In our visit, virtually all the guests seemed to be European or Canadian (along with the rare Americans such as us, traveling with approved groups). Not that any Cuban could afford to stay in the place, but the only Cubans we saw were staff. Fortunately the hotel is close to such interesting places as the French Pharmacy and the San Severion Fortress.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EkimEvanston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.8 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,782 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Address: | Playa de Las Americas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $239 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing