We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - But some room for improvement”
Review of Melia Las Americas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Las Americas
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Melia Las Americas in Varadero, it is an all inclusive hotel for adults only, it is right on the beachfront, and it is about a ten minute bus ride to downtown Varadero, it is also right next to the only golf course. The hotel has ocean view rooms and garden view rooms, if you get a garden view room on the 2nd floor, or higher, then chances are you will also have a sea view as well, since the sea is on both sides of the hotel. Overall impression was that the staff were very friendly and attentive, both in and around the bar and also in the restaurants. The hotel has 5 restaurants, 4 of which have to be booked up in advance, you are allowed to dine in each of them as part of the all inclusive. Some are not open every single evening, so you need to plan your meals in advance
A buffet style restaurant, open every day, no need to book, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. We found this to be a typical buffet style dining experience, that you will find all over the world i.e. the food is mostly warm unless you have something cooked to order, there generally was plenty of variety and you could always find something to suit. On a point of hygene, the chef station that cooks things for you, i.e. omlettes and fried eggs during breakfast, and meat during the evening meal, often receives cash tips left while they work, these notes then get pocketed by the chef. I think that the chefs should not be allowed to handle money while cooking food, it's just bad practice, I'm not against tipping but think that they should be provided with a seperate bowl or something that is left alone until the end of service.
The A la Carte international restaurant, the food here was excellent, piping hot and really tasty, hurricane Sandy struck while we were dining here and the electricity failed for around 3 hours, however chef managed to still serve up some stunning food. This restaurant also has a string quartet playing along and will take requests.
There is a Japanese restaurant named Sakura, the guests all sit around a show cooking station and then watch as the chef prepares the food, often with spectacular flaming results. Food here was also hot but perhaps a little bland. The downside was when one of the guests noticed the appearance of a couple of cockroaches under the loose woodwork around the perimeter of the cooking station. (Management to Note).
The Italian restaurant is called Limoncello, however, we did not managed to get along to this one, it is not open every night and we could not tie in a booking in view of other arrangements we had made.
Finally a fish tasting restaurant called Roblenza, this is open at lunch time for meals, and in the evenings for bookings only. Excellent tasting menu of lobster bisque, main course of assorted fish and lobster, followed by a dessert.
Hotel room we had was a garden view on 2nd floor, bed was comfy and plenty of room for storing clothes, in room safe provided free of charge, air conditioning ( a bit noisy), a flat screen television showing numerous international channels, mostly American or Spanish speaking, some Chinese as well. Room was kept clean and tidy every day by Yanis. Only complaint would be the state of the bath, this looked very tired and worn out and really needs replacing (Management to note).
The hotel is right on the beach and has plenty of sunbeds and shaded stations, although the beaches are public, the hotel does ensure that no locals try and avail themselves of the facilities.
Overall this hotel is nearer 4 star rather than 5 star, but don't let that put you off, we had an enjoyable stay, so thank you Melia.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LesGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,172 - 2,178 of 5,522 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

First time at Meliá Las Americas. Weather wasn't as agreeable the first few days, but as the week progressed it got a lot better. Food was decent, some days better than others. I enjoyed the à-la-carte restaurants more than the buffet, but the special stations that cooked up the food in the buffet were great. La Robleza BBQ had exceptionally good food (I recommend the chicken!), and Orlando and Ivan there were a great help! A lot of the staff were very helpful, and the nightly entertainment was enjoyable. The beach and resort are beautiful. Only wish there was a better variety for the foods, and we had some problems with our room keys on multiple occasions where it stopped working. Special mention to the entertainment team, in particular Dee, Ravi (Javi?), Miguel, and Julio. They were great at involving everyone and ensured everyone had a good time. (The dancing was a lot of fun!) Made the trip very memorable. I would go back to Meliá Las Americas. (:

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandee_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel, the a la carte Restaurants and the Service provided by our Staff, specially from Dee, Javi, Miguel y Julio.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived October 14 to warm weather. The check in was quick and efficent. Breakfast in the buffet was delicious with great omellets and fresh fruits. We arose to a beautiful sunny day and had a great time on the beach. The entertainment staff got us involved with games and kept us busy. Than we have Julio the showman what a great entertainer that kept us laughing. Beach bar is great with Ley, Havi, Annabel what great bartenders. We ate at all the restaurants and everything was delicious.We enjoy sitting at the sushi Bar and visiting with Rey a great chef. The Italian has got very good canneloni and wonderful service. The la Arcadia is also very beautiful and with music and great food. All the staff are very professional Ariel, Irian, Rey, Pedro, Sergio, Oswald we thank them so much. Lunch in the barbecue was great, the calamari appy was delicious. The great staff Rebecca, Irma, Marcelle,Mailyn, Raul the bartender and many more were very efficient. The pools were kept beautiful. Hard work from Carlos, Batista,and all the beach staff sure make a difference on why the beach and pools look so good. As this is the slower time of year the snack bar and pool by the bungalows was closed. They are repairing the pool to even be more beauty. This was not a problem as we still had 2 pools open.
We came for the Melia Golf tournament which was a huge sucess. The weather did not want to cooperate, but we still enjoyed ourselves. The golf course was very green and the greens were a little rough with sand being used. The tournament Dinner was a huge success, absolutely delicious. All the staff from the Golf Club Richard, Chope, Edwardo, Victor a big thank you. Reynaldo, Elizabeth, Daya, Ernesto you are the best for putting on such a great golf tournament, Thank you!
The first week we were there the weather was beautiful and than Came Hurricane Sandy which we survived golfing through, the winds were strong. We went for two weeks, but this did not dampen our spirits the friends that we have met and that also come for this tournament and the wonderful staff, make it a happy place. The customer service reps Zahily, Isis, Anna Rosa and Osmani are very special, they go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Our room was always kept immaculate. The only negative I have is I was disappointed in was all the washrooms, most of the time running out of toilet paper and could be kept a little cleaner. Looking forward to returning in February for another great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kmprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and the Melia Cuba Golf Cup, specially the Award Dinner at La Robleza.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. when we will do our utmost to ensure that you have another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I cannot say enough about the hospitality of the Cuban people at the resort and the surroundings of the hotel.

However, the virgin rating system is laughable as this hotel, a relic from the communist era enjoys the same 'V Rating' as the Mandalay Bay resort in Las Vegas - Las americas is a very long way from Mandalay Bay.

The room was a marble clad blast from the past but was overall well equipped save the lack of tea and coffee. The room was however overall clean and comfortable. Storm Sandy did pass to the north of the resort and one night of heavy rain and high winds resulted in the room flooding and presenting several hazards.

Ablutions were in good order with plenty of hot water and other amenities.

Food - we could only book two of the four restaurants available and ate several meals in the buffet. raw pork (bloody!) and mainly cold food was an enormous disappointment and left a lot to be desired.

By far the worst aspect of the trip was the flight (virgin atlantic premium economy) a recent advertising campaign harked back to 1982 I was not expecting the airframe we flew in and the level of service to be from the same era, frozen in time. The V-Room - forget it and eat at the shopping area you will enjoy it more, get more, and not be made to feel like you were stealing the food. Our return flight had VA executives sat next to me - take my advice gents - fly with an Arabic airline and see how it should be done! I had a bulkhead seat on a 747 and had no legroom at all, considering that is what I pay the premium for it was just another disappointment - along with the boarding scrum due to an unannounced 45 minute delay - for goodness sake Branson stop crowing about your new CRM system and get back to some good old fashioned tete-a-tete customer service.

I have tried to like Virgin Holidays, but each time I have used them it has been a let down and poor value for money - I shall not be using them again and I would recommend you do likewise - vote with your feet and we may all benefit from better service in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Six of us travelled to Meliá Las Americas for a week starting October 11, 2012. Four men were golfers and we golfed seven days straight. The ladies enjoyed the hotel and took a side trip to Havana.

Last year the weather was grey all week but this time it was hot and mostly clear. The winds were there for the beginning of the week but became calm for the rest of the week. This made for some hot days while golfing and warm swims in the ocean.

The golf course was in generally good shape except some greens had a fungus and were very bumpy and slow.

We ate in the main buffet, International, Japanese and Italian restaurants and the food was very good as usual as well as the service. The only change that I saw from last year in the bar was that there is no more clamato juice and there is no smoking in the lobby bar.

The hotel seemed less busy this time of year compared to last. This suited us just fine.

We would like to especially thank Reynaldo León Díaz, Sales Manager of the hotel, in making our stay just that much more comfortable and enjoyable. Thanks too, for getting us the golf chits expeditiously.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Hello

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our Hotel, the Golf Course, the Beach and the Service provided by our Staff, specially from Reynaldo.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed many times at the hotel and in fact now know the staff very well with some would say real friends. It is they that ensured the service delivered. Think a recent change in management and this shows as they seem to be cutting back on staff and delivery - often also lack of food/drinks ( realise the situation in Cuba and used to some shortages - this was different)
Room service/maid not as good or clean as previously
All above believe reflects a new management team either not really from the industry or just trying to make too high a return - thus very tired /smaller staff numbers

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to bring to our attention the problems you experienced and the deficiencies in the quality of our services.

In our regular Quality and Guest Service Meetings we analysed carefully all remarks received from the guest questionnaires, emails and the TripAdvisor. Your comments have been of great value.

There is a fully accessible Guest Service Centre located in the Main Lobby of the Hotel which can also be reached by dialling extension 700 internally. We would like to encourage our guests to use this service so that we are immediately alerted to any problems and can take measures to resolve them without delay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Melia Las Americas in the future when we will do our utmost to ensure that you have a very enjoyable stay.

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Melia Las Americas
Varadero, Cuba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just got back from Melia Las Americas from an unforgettable vacation! I've stayed at plenty of All-in's (all 4.5 and more, all in tropical destinations) and this one was perhaps my favourite. Some folks are complaining about tips ... this is a 3rd world country ... their base pay is pitiful ... tips improve their quality of life. Staff at the resort asked us for toothpaste ... imagine life without toothpaste? That made it easy for me to tip. The hotel was impeccably clean (I couldn't believe how quickly dishes were cleared) and the room was lovely. The mattress was a bit hard for us. Our maid, Doneres (hope I got that right), was sweet and attentive and asked us daily if everything was ok. The food was a typical resort buffet ... some North American food prepared differently but plenty of other options (my husband's the picky eater and he ate like a King!). The restaurant at lunch by the pool bar has delectable roast chicken and great service. Went to the International restaurant which was wonderful ... could have cut the steak with a spoon it was so tender and the service and string quartet made the experience magical. Get your cappucinos at the lobby bar and enjoy the pianist playing at night! So lovely. They had an event for honeymooners and those having their anniversary that made us feel really special. The shows at night were decent (I'm a trained dancer and the skill of the dancers was very good) ... some shows better than others but something I looked forward to every night. The entertainment staff was very personal with a lot of fun to be had during the day. A special thanks to Frankie for all of his attention to us as well as to Javie, Dee, Ariel and, Oly from the entertainment staff. The beach was breathtaking not to mention romantic and the veiw from the hotel of it even more beautiful. Met lots of couples who have come again and again and soon into the trip I understood why. We look forward to returning for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLAGeneralManager, General Manager at Melia Las Americas, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Hello

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel, the beach and the entertainment provided by our Staff, specially from Frankie, Javie, Dee, Ariel and Oly.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
Meliá Las Américas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.9 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
1.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,820 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#11 of 64 in Varadero
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Las Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Las Americas

Address: | Playa de Las Americas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#4 Family Hotel in Varadero
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#5 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $236 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Las Americas 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meliá Las Américas is the premier Golf Resort in Cuba and it is also the only one with direct access to The Varadero Golf Club. Located on The Varadero Peninsula, a tropical paradise jutting into the clear waters of the Caribbean on Cuba’s northern coats. Poised between the beach and championship golf course, the 5-star hotel is an upscale all inclusive adults only (over 18 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Las Americas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Las Americas Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Varadero
Melia Hotel Las Americas
Melia Las Americas Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing