We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I stay at Varadero, in this nice hotel. The first night whe stayed in a standard room because the hotel whas full. Bud at the reception there where verry friendly and whe got are superior room with frontal see view. My friend had room 220, no balcony, bud large windows and super view, I had room 308, with terras and everything you need, and alsow a working safe. Thats a bit of a problem, the safe in different rooms dont work are they have no door. The breakfast has everything you need, and for lunch its ok, whe are vegetarians so for us it was compleet. Rice, beans, squach pumpkin, guave fruit, pineappels etc... For the evening, whe go to the different restaurants outside, verry good lobster and other seafood for a bargain; Surtenly at restaurant le chef, a whole menu for 12 Cuc, and there where verry friendly to. Go with a old car to havana, its 80 Cuc, but what a experrions, you stop and sea what ever you like, have a nice chat with the driver, get some interesting tips what to sea etc.. Havana is incredible, so a relaxing atmosfeer, many things to sea, and don't forget the coktails and the music... Whe loved it and wont to go back.. Yes, cuba is a dream ...

Room Tip: The superior rooms are the best, nice seaview and a working bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanni55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    323
    291
    138
    125
See reviews for
195
385
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent one night here which was more than enough. The rooms are shabby, uncomfortable and a little bit dirty. The pictures of the pool area look fairly cheery but in reality it's all slightly depressing - a kind of low calibre Butlins, with plastic chairs lined up next to the pool in front of a shabby stage, and full of people getting sun burnt and drunk out of plastic cups.

I should admit that I'm not used to the whole resort thing - they put a plastic bracelet on you at reception!!!! - so I wouldn't recommend going to Varadero at all, but if you do then staying here can be nobody sane's idea of a holiday.

We were at Tortuga as part of a kind of package arrangement, so I guess it must be cheap, but we ditched the package after one night and up-graded to Hotel Sirenis la Selina - also a resort but infinitely better. Note that this was our only other option as everything else was booked up and I believe that Hotels in Varadero are often full, so best not to risk having to change at the last minute - avoid Tortuga from the off.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank i-escaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varadero hotels

Cayuga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Spent Mar 3-10 at Villa Tortuga. The beach is fabulous with lots of chairs and palapas. The rooms were rather small but we didn't spend too much time in the room. The resort although older was kept very clean. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. The food was ok , you could always find something to eat. Beef was tough and the chicken and bacon fatty. Delicious soups, rice/beans , lots of fruit, salads and lovely fresh baked bread and lots of desserts. Omlette station at breakfast was good but took awhile to get served as long line ups. Lots of options for liquid refreshment, but they ran out of mint for mojitos , pineapple juice, wine regularly. Entertainment was what you would expect. I personally found people watching to be much more entertaining. Money exchange on the resort was convenient and although they charge a percentage they were always totally honest and gave receipts upon request. Overall we had a good time. We met some new friends, a lovely extended family who adopted my husband and I and made our trip very enjoyable. We have been taking sun vacations to the Caribbean for a number of years and feel that your trip is what you make of it. If you are open to new experiences, are not too picky and go with the flow you will truly enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

The resort itself was very nice for the price, decent food, nice staff, clean rooms. We were there for two weeks and for the first week, we were disgusted with the smell coming from the oil refineries which were close by. We were totally not prepared for that. It was especially bad in the evening when the breeze settled. It permeated in your room through the vents in the washroom and it was very hard to sleep because of it. There were a lot of grouchy people the following morning. We really enjoyed Varadero otherwise but we would not go back because of this putrid smell. Another negative was sand fleas on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaeguill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We just returned from our 2 week vacation Feb 10-24 2012
We stayed at the Villa Tortuga Varadero.
We absolutely loved it......as we are not into the party scene and night life, this resort suited us just fine.
Small resort, clean rooms, incredible staff, AMAZING beach, decent food (btw I am the world's most picky eater)
People must realize they are in different Country therefore the food will indeed be different.
I stayed at a 5 star in Varadero a couple of years ago and the food was no better, but I was a happy Woman, as I was this time around. Why? Because I didn't have to go to work, cook or clean for two whole weeks!!!!! Amen.
All in all......no this resort isn't a posh 5 star, but the service we received was 5 star in my books and we plan on returning real soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Villa Tortuga is overall a fairly nice resort. The beach is good, but somewhat littered with plastic cups and cigarette butts, although that has more to do with the general ignorance of guests than management, as there are ash trays and garbage containers. It has a good pool with shallow areas that are great for kids. Lots of lounge chairs both around the pool and on the beach.
Our room was a reasonable size. There were electrical covers that were hanging sideways and the floor never felt clean. The patio door was very hard to open and all the chairs needed to be replaced. The beds were comfortabe.
Food in the ding hall was fair to good, what I have come to expect in Cuba at a lower cost Hotel.
In conclusion, the resort is OK, if you don't pay too much. Don't expect perfection and be prepared to overlook some of what is lacking.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cousinkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Our first family vacation and how lucky we were NOT to listen to all the rotten comments about Tortuga. It by far exceeded our expectations. Not a posh resort but rooms clean, food good, service EXCELLENT. You couldn't ask for nicer people, always willing to help you out. We have daughters and not once did we have to worry about them. Our waiter at night had our table set and ready to go with drinks for everyone as we walked in. For those of you that believe that because it's an all inclusive you don't need to tip, trying giving the staff a peso and see just how much better service is. Each day I left gifts(from the dollar store)on our bed for our maid, our room was spotless and we had more then everyone, Great experience going back soon.
FUN, SUN and a Whole bunch of RUM, watch out Cuba because here we come!!!!!!
Jeff and Shelley
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JeffandShelleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
1234.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga

Property: Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga
Address: Calle 9 e/ Boulevard y Ave. Kawama | Matanza, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accepts VISA, Mastercard, and AmEx from non-US banks only ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gran Caribe Villa Tortuga Hotel Varadero
Tortuga Hotel Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing