We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,705)
Filter reviews
2,705 results
Traveler rating
644
1,073
571
240
177
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
644
1,073
571
240
177
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the mexican restaurant beach bar chicken fish close to town bring your own beautiful beach pizza nightly entertainment a la cartes second home old cars other resorts great vacation the double decker bus evening shows white sand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 2,705 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2020 via mobile

Our Selective group of 26 travel friends known as the Sunshine Group, once again visited Cuba for our annual escape from winter, for most it was their 10th year in a row and this year the Group opted to stay at the Hotel Roc Barlavento... what a great decision it was.....On behalf of the Sunshine Group i wish to extend the Groups collective satisfaction with the overall hospitality and gracious welcome we received by the Hotel management and staff.
Most of the Group was somewhat apprehensive at first, so let’s me start from the beginning, Our flight was delayed by several hours, arriving very early in the morning, the staff at the reception along with the bellhops worked at great pace to have our Group settled in their rooms. From this moment on our trip became exceptional.... Being that our Group is made of early risers they all took in the opportunity to view and familiarise themselves with the Hotel grounds...they were all amazed with the cleanliness of all the public areas, the immaculately kept grounds, the grass and shrubs neatly cut, the pool chairs neatly placed in perfection, the same situation could be found at the snack bar, the terrace and lobby. The friendliness of the entire staff and eager attitude to help was genuine and unexpected.
The cleanliness of the rooms, ample supply of towels and rapid response to our requests was also worthy of mention.
Although Cuba is not known for having ample supply of food, this was definitely not the case at the Roc Barlavento, there was more than enough in quantity, in quality and selection, from seafood to meats you had a choice, salades and past was never in shortage and the deserts, unbelievable.
To mention a few of the staff, Pedro the Batman at the Snack-bar, Livan and Legna from the animation team, Ramon the DJ with a great selection of music, Juana-Maria and Daisy at the Buffet, Lazarito and Mike lobby Bar and Sandy and Mali from housekeeping to mention a few. There are many more but too little time to remember all of their names including the live bands. The chefs and Staff at à la carte restaurants were fabulous, the Fusion International has great salmon, the Fusion Sushi for Cuba, what a treat and the Fusion Mexican completed the package.
There was always enough beach chairs with a helper who was amazing in setting up the chairs, cleaning them and keeping eye on them for us when we were swimming or just went for a snack, this gave us an added feeling of security.
My review would not be complete without mentioning Natalie responsable for public relations and the Hotel manager Klaus, who both took the time to greet us and ask how we are enjoying ourselves and if they there is anything that they can do...what an incredible team.
As mentioned, our Sunshine Group consists of 25 regular members who all had a great vacation experience at the Hotel Roc Barlavento, one individual who attended the trip but does not belong to our Group found that the 2 weeks was too long but for the 25 others we were ready to stay for another week if not 2....
As such the Sunshine Group of 25 members rates the Roc Barlavento 4 stars and cannot wait for our return next February. We strongly recommend this hotel located at the very beginning of Vareader, shops and entertainment are only a few steps away...go there without any expectations and enjoy your stay and experience....

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roc Barlovento V, Director General at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2020

Hi Tim,
thank you so much for your opinion!
We are delighted of all as you wrote, for my phenomenal. We are always ready to help with everyone, for each one has a nice holiday. It is a very good result when you think of your home, your vacation, positive. We are always at your service and await your return, from your home in Kuba.
Greetings and thanks
Klaus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2020

Keep in mind where you are and you'll be happy.Front desk will take care of any concerns.Treat the locals with respect &courtesy and they'll do the same.Food very good and variety always changing.2 ela carte restaurants,outdoor patio where they have the best hamburgers and fries.Great entertainment,games,2 pools etc.No children allowed under 16.All in all a great vacation.Thankyou CUBA!!!!!!This was trip #4

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank Hono G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direccion-RRPP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2020

Dear Hono G C, we are glad that you have enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you once again and thank you for being part of this great family.

Greetings on behalf of the Roc Barlovento family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2020 via mobile

Over the last 20 years, we have vacationed in Cuba 17 times. When resorts are rated 4 or 5 star it is not what we are used to here in Canada. We go to Cuba for the beaches, the Cubans are the kindest people and the beautiful weather. These are things that stood out for us, the good and the bad.
We found staff more interested in selling cigars and bottles of booze while on the beach, getting a drink at the bar, or lying by the pool.
Music was so loud at the night shows that between 9:15pm - 11:15pm , if we chose to skip the show we would have to put headphones on or turn up the air conditioning to blur out the music in order to sleep.
The beach is one big ashtray for guests, butting out on the beach and sticking them in the sand. The amount of garbage on the beach with plastic glasses, straws, cristal beer cans is disgusting.
From the first night, the resort only had rosee wine and never did have white or red wine for the ten days. Had to buy beer down by the beach, I thought this was all-inclusive!
When asked for more bath towels in our room, with reluctance, a hand towel was given on numerous occasions.
The main boardwalk to the beach was blocked at both ends with beach chairs the ten days we were there. Staff were using boardwalk but guests were not allowed.
Rooms are not ready until 4pm so if you arrive to the resort prior to that you have to leave your luggage in an unsecured area, the front lobby, where no one is keeping an eye on your bags. Did not feel comfortable leaving luggage unattended.
Most of the Staff were friendly, especially Iris in the dining room and Miguel at the lobby bar.
We had warm water for showers everyday. Always able to find a beach chair or pool chair during the day.
The entertainment staff were very good, always trying to get guests involved.
Food was very bland and after speaking to other guests, restaurants in the area were suggested. I would suggest eating at Kikis, one block down from the resort and also the Pink Cow on 21st street... worth the few blocks walk!! (And they had red & white wine!!)
Our next vacation to Cuba will NOT be at this resort.... very disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank sunnee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roc Barlovento V, Director General at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2020

¡Estamos en absoluto desacuerdo con su opinión!
- Nadie de nosotros vende algo en la Playa, el personal o salva vidas de la Playa, no es personal del Hotel, la Playa es para todos y todos pueden venir. Nadie del Hotel tiene interés a vender como dice, porque hay suficiente de todo en el Hotel.
- Los espectáculos en el Teatro, son cada día de 09:30 PM a 11 PM, y son Shows, hasta ahora nadie dice algo malo de este, tampoco tenemos un cementerio aquí, es para todos los Clientes del Hotel y no afecta a nadie en una Habitación.
- Nuestro Playa es limpio, mira en Facebook, RocBarlovento, allí es todo como está el Hotel diario.
- Si vendemos cerveza en la Playa en latas, para 1,25 CUC, porque no podemos servir alcohol - Cerveza en la Playa abierto, por el Gobierno y tampoco es en el Todo incluido, de la Playa. Es una alternativa para los Clientes pueden tomar Cerveza en la Playa.
- Estamos construyendo una nueva Pasarella, por eso esta cerrado y abrimos un camino muy bonito y bueno para todos.
- La entrada Check in en las habitaciones es en todo el Mundo a partir de las 4 PM, como es posible dice este también mal, ¡son las leyes internacionales!
- Donde dejo sus Maletas es seguro y 2 metros al lado es vigilando una de nuestra seguridad 24 horas.
- nuestra Comida es muy bien, y controlado diario, yo como diario lo mismo en cada servicio, y no acepto otra opinión. Aquí se come que hay en Cuba, igual cuando va a un otro país come que hay allí.
Al final no entiendo como se puede escribir algo malo así, que no es la verdad en absoluto, usted conoce Cuba, no creo. Aparte no han dicho nada aquí en el Hotel, tenemos un Customer service hasta las 11 PM y la recepción 24 horas abierto, para ayudar con todo. Estoy para las cosas claras, pero no me gusta alguien que escribe algo mal de un sitio, que no es así. Aquí hacemos todo que se pude hacer, pero no es Europa o Miami Beach.

We absolutely disagree with your opinion!
- No one of us sells something on the Beach, the staff or saves lives of the Beach, it is not staff of the Hotel, the Beach is for everyone and everyone can come. No one at the Hotel has an interest in selling as he says, because there is enough of everything in the Hotel.
- The shows at the Theater, are every day from 09:30 PM to 11 PM, and they are Shows, so far nobody says something bad about this, we don't have a cemetery here either, it is for all Hotel Customers and it doesn't affect anyone in a room.
- Our beach is clean, look on Facebook, RocBarlovento, there is everything like the daily Hotel.
- If we sell beer on the beach in cans, for 1.25 CUC, because we cannot serve alcohol - Beer on the open beach, by the Government and is not in the All-inclusive, of the Beach. It is an alternative for Clients can have Beer on the Beach.
- We are building a new “Pasarella”, so it is closed and we open a very nice and good road for everyone.
- The Check in entrance in the rooms is all over the World starting at 4 PM, as it is possible it says this too badly, they are international laws!
- Where I leave your luggage is safe and 2 meters next door is watching one of our security 24 hours.
- Our Food is very good, and controlled daily, I eat the same every day in each service, and I do not accept another opinion. Here you eat what is in Cuba, just like when you go to another country eat what is there.
In the end I don't understand how you can write something bad like that, which is not the truth at all, you know Cuba, I don't think so. Apart they have not said anything here at the Hotel, we have a Customer service until 11 PM and the reception open 24 hours, to help with everything. I am for clear things, but I do not like someone who writes something wrong about a site, which is not so. Here we do everything that could be done, but it is not Europe or Miami Beach.
Again, we are happy to help everyone with everything, but it goes without saying here, and we are looking for the best solution, to be delighted with the service.
Klaus Herrmann
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2020 via mobile

Do I have to give it 1 star? Is this a geriatric centre ? SOO boring! Literally nothing goes on, they don’t have any type of music or vibe going on anywhere or at anytime thank goodness we travelled with a group of 20. We paid for upgraded rooms and were put into the dumpy side which stunk and was full of mould, outdated and had broken everything. We unfortunately had to spend one night then my husband demanded we be moved to what we paid for. When we got moved to the newer side ( I take it) rooms were much better. However this resort is super Boring and the booze is watered down. I suggest buying the beers in the can, if your looking to catch a buzz.
Food? Let’s not even go there this was my 6th time in Cuba, first time and last at this resort. We basically starved, there was absolutely literally nothing to eat! A few of our friends actually got E. coli upon going to the dr’s at home. We had to go to KiKi’s to eat at least once a day so we didn’t starve! I don’t have high expectations whatsoever for Cuba but this is just un acceptable even for the price. I wouldn’t return for free. This resort have zero to offer except for the wonderful Cuban people and sunshine.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank fortheloveofmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roc Barlovento V, Director General at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2020

Dear Customer, I do not agree with your opinion!
- Each Hotel of the World has its visitors, and depends on the time, or vacation of each.
- You say we don't have activities, and the others say we have a lot, I would like to know what you like? In the afternoon we have activities of Animation, and Cuban Music live, in addition every night different shows in the theater, music in the Lobby Bar, you need something else, when they have said something here, I look for something more for you.
- You were one night at the “Caracol” Complex, which is renovated, has new Package beds, as well. I was in his room has no mold and is in a good condition. I have a video of this room, when they allow me, I publish the Link. But it doesn't matter, you didn't like this room, we changed, we looked for the most pleasant solution for you, but we are not here at the Ritz Paris.
- Our Food is very good, and controlled daily, I eat the same every day in each service, and I do not accept another opinion. Here you eat what is in Cuba, just like when you go to another country eat what is there. The Buffet has more than 50 different dishes, live meat and fresh fish, pasta and pizza live, you have not found anything to eat ?, it is impossible.
In the end I don't understand how you can write something bad like that, which is not the truth at all, you know Cuba, I don't think so.
You said something about the Room here, yes and we help, apart we talked to your group leader, who was delighted with the solution, and said nothing worse than you. On the last day he came and says thanks for everything and it was all perfect, very kindly. I really do not understand what you want to do, to hurt, that you have not claimed here, in our Hotel, I see a little bad of you.
Again, we are happy to help everyone with everything, but it goes without saying here, and we are looking for the best solution, to be delighted with the service.
Klaus Herrmann
Director General

P.S.
The team leader of your group sent me an email two days ago and said thank you for everything, besides she said it was all great, how is it possible that you say the opposite!
Unfortunately, I am not allowed to upload the video here, or to publish the link from the room, so that you can see what you are writing, a shame.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2020

We are on our 6th trip to Hotel Roc Barlovento and as always it is fantastic! The beach is perfect, and the resort is always friendly and hospitable. The food is good and there is something for everyone
The staff is magnificent as always! Yusett, Ernesto, Ibriany, Pedro, Sergio, Jose, Hilda, Maykel and everyone else make you feel at home when you are here! We have tried several hotels in Varadero and Barlovento is our favourite!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank KevinG5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direccion-RRPP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2020

Dear Kevin, thanks for your opinion, our Staff gives its best so that our clients feel happy and enjoy their stay, their greetings and recognition will be given to everyone.

We hope to see you for the 7th time in your home away from home.

Greetings on behalf of the whole Roc Barlovento family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews