We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay at the Barlovento”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Roc Barlovento
Ranked #22 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Terrace Bay
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay at the Barlovento”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed at the Barlovento 2 years ago and were not disappointed on our return visit.

Our room overlooked the pool area. If you don't go to the nightly entertainment you may want a room somewhere else because you will hear the entertainment. This was not a problem for us as most nights we were entertained by the dancers and musicians. Our room was always immaculate and we looked forward to the new towel art everyday. The only problem with our room was the door to the adjoining room which allowed sounds from the room next door to come into our room. This was especially annoying since the person(s) in the room next door tended to come in around 6:00 am and immediately vomit.

We enjoyed the food at the buffet. There was always a variety of fresh fruits and vegetables. There was a variety of meat including pork, chicken, turkey, fish and cow meat (beef). The pasta chef was very good. The vino tinto and vino blanco from Spain were tasty. The bread at the breakfast buffet was excellent. The only drawback at breakfast was the chance in coffee from fresh brewed to instant. We tried all of the a la carte's. The Mexican was a fun experience and so was the tequila. The pizza and the fresh parmesan at the Italian restaurant were very good. The outdoor Cuban Restaurant is very romantic. Don't forget to spray your ankles with DEET.

The beach was fantastic. There was a fair amount of wind and this created some fantastic waves which made for some fun swimming conditions except for the 2 red flag days. The beach bar serves up some wonderful drinks.

We went on the Jeep Safari. It was a great opportunity to see some of the countyside and smaller villages. Swimming in the caves was a unique experience and so was the trip upriver in our speedboat which was not very spedy. On the one cloudy day during our 2 weeks we took a cab (52 Chevy) to Josone Park for 3 CUC. Be sure to have a Pina Colada in the park and enjoy the entertainment. We walked back the approximately 50 blocks.

The staff at the Barlovento is what made this another great stay. They went out of their way to meet your needs. They always had a smile for you especially when you tried using some Spanish. We also enjoyed meeting fellow Canadians and people from many other countries. The animation crew tried very hard to keep people involved in activities. We even managed to win a couple of bottles of rum which will help us keep happy memories of the Barlovento this winter.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    798
    464
    204
    147
See reviews for
311
806
172
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sangudo AB
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We just returned Dec 21 from our second stay this year. Both have been fine.
Here are a few things
Room - nothing fancy but clean and comfortable enough We were lucky to spend 8 hours a day in it
Meals-very good never went hungry nothing fancy kinda like eating at mums Never ate at the alacarte but heard they were fine Cuba is short a truckload of bread Love the bread

Staff- never ran into anyone that wasnt helpful or friendly

Beach-great great great beach bar great

Killed three mosquitos and got a couple of beach bites but nothing to be worried about If you dont like the odd bug stay in Canada they are all frozen

Anyways....great stay sending an employee there in January and my wife and I are going back in February There may be better places but I am not going to try and find one. If it aint broke dont fix it... going back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlebitnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island lake
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Hotel is ok but.....not so good. Food is not as good as other Cuba hotels. Nightly entertainment is good but not much going on during the day. Beach is not as good as beaches further north. Rooms are ok but showers/washrooms are BAD.

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank mcfly747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

my girlfriend and i were staying at club kawama right next door to barlovento, we had friends move over to this resort so we came along to check it out. the rooms are average, clean, but no frills, as is most of cuba, the lobby bar is very nice, anything you want, and all day or night staff is very friendly, pool was very clean, nightly shows were the usual, no big deal, but not bad either. the a la carte 's were very good, and the bech bar was awesome, as was w the beach. we were staying at kawama but ended up here for most of the two weeks, we liked the beach bar and we had none next door, and also there were table's and chairs around the pool and bar, which were lacking at kawama, they had picnic tables in the bar, we liked the table and chair idea, also you could eat near the pool if you so choosed. BBQ was good, the ususal, burgers, dogs, fries, to buffet was good, always something to tempt you, the bread and soups were delicious, locaation was great, as was the bech, and the weather was perfect. I would book this hotel over Kawwama just for the beach bar, and the table and chairs, other than that it was probably bout a 3 star, but again, quite clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie48915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We moved from a hotel across the road...The best choice we could make was coming here..the food, the service and especially the hospitality was great.. Close to the beach and many activities to join in if you chose to do so. Thank you for such a lovely week.. Michele

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMartinGraciani, General Manager at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
We are very happy to hear you had a wonderful holiday at our resort. We certainly look forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Agustín Sainz Parrado

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at the Barlovento Hotel in 2009 and I was amazed with this Hotel! Having been to Mexico numerous times Cuba was very different but very charming. We were warned that the food would be bad in Cuba, however; to our surprise the food was excellent. The resort was clean and well kept. The beach was amazing with soft white sand and shallow water. We went snorkeling and had an excellent time. The fish came right up to us. Varadero has an amazing park a short walk from the resort with numerous birds and pathways. The only downfall was all the animals that were in ill health (the taxi horses almost broke my heart). We did not do any tours on this trip so I am not sure how safe it is outside of Varadero. All in all though a great resort that I would visit again if given the chance. :o)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eq_sport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMartinGraciani, General Manager at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Thank you for your review. We surely hope to see you again, hopefully this winter. Hotel is all ready to welcome our regular and new customers. We have made some nice changes that we are sure you will appreciate. Lobby bar was redecorated and a new coffee corner at the lobby bar was added. Earlier this year we changed all the furniture of the common areas and restaurants. Pool is looking spectacular with the new decoration and the new umbrellas. By the way, Cuba is well know for its safety and beautiful landscapes. Don´t be afraid to go out of the resort or book trips.

Looking forward to serving you again,

Agustín Sainz Parrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We visited The Barlovento Hotel November 6th to the 12th and were impressed with almost everything. The beach area was amazing with plenty of chairs. The pool also had no shortage of chairs. The food was tasty compared to some other hotels we've stayed at in Cuba. I believe they have finally found the spices required to make most dishes very good. Our maid Magalys was amazing! A great big smile every morning started our day off right.
Our morning walk to the cafe bar for our coffee and try to catch the sun coming up was met with smiles from all staff that had been either up all night or the morning staff just coming in. Always a hello from everyone. The location of this hotel is fantastic. Blocks away to several markets, local restaurants and small patio bars. You can also walk down the canal side to Al Capone's restaurant and the double decker bus is just outside the front door. Take the bus, take the train, take a cab or take a horse and buggy, the choice is yours and all are safe. If you just want to relax and read a book, have a message or enjoy a few drinks this is where you can do it all. The only thing I would recommend is that the hotel replace their body pillows with some new fluffy pillows as the beds were okay. We will definitely return to Barlovento....

Room Tip: Pool side rooms have noise in the evening from the entertainment but well worth it if you just want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroMartinGraciani, General Manager at Hotel Roc Barlovento, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
We´re glad to hear you had a nice stay at our hotel. Also happy that you liked our new menu and the new coffee corner at the Lobby Bar (added this summer).

The staff and myself look forward to serving you again.

Agustín Sainz parrado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,246 reviews
8.0 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
8.1 mi away
Starfish Varadero
Starfish Varadero
#26 of 64 in Varadero
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Barcelo Solymar
Barcelo Solymar
#31 of 64 in Varadero
7,002 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas
#18 of 64 in Varadero
2,961 reviews
7.5 mi away
Be Live Experience Turquesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Barlovento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Barlovento

Property: Hotel Roc Barlovento
Address: Ave 1ra e/ 9 y 12, Varadero, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Roc Barlovento 3.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Roc Barlovento is located on beachfront and just a few meters from town centre of Varadero only 25 km away from the airport.This large Caribbean-style resort is in perfect harmony with its natural surroundings along an extensive, fine white sanded beach and turquoise waters .Adults only hotel, over 16 years.Services Around the gardens, there are a tennis court, a solarium, three swimming pools and one jacuzzi. 3 Out Door Pools Sunbeds & Umbrellas Reception 24 hrsStores, shops Air Conditioning Tourism office GardensInternet, with charge Telephone and fax, with charg eMassage, with charge"All Inclusive" Services Buffet service for breakfast, lunch and dinner 3 á la carte restaurants (prior reservation required and upon availability) Fast food, snacks, grill y paellas. Cocktails, beverages: national and international brands. 24 hrs Service. Non motorized water sports (upon availability), snorkel, windsurf, kayak, pedalboatl, catamaran, windsurf . Voleyball, football, tennis, ping pong, billard, petanca, dards, archery and table games. Basket, beach volley, water polo- Gym Sunbeds andbeach/pool towels Day time entertainment programme: aerobics, yoga, dancing lessons, Spanish lessons, pool/beach games. Evening entertainment with a variety of international shows and theme nights (resident band and dancers)GastronomyThe All Inclusive offer includes, in addition to the three complete buffet meals per day, à la carte meals in the 3 specialty restaurants (with reservation) snacks, alcoholic as well as non-alcoholic drinks throughout the day. A great variety of gastronomical treats awaits our guests in the hotel’s 4 restaurants and 4 bars . The hotel offers a 24 hrs service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Roc Barlovento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barlovento Hotel Varadero
Barlovento Cuba
Gran Caribe Club Barlovento
Hotel Barlovento
Barlovento Varadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing