We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - average hotel.”
Review of Sol Palmeras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Palmeras
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This was a last minute holiday to chill out after a busy, stressful time. When we arrived, we were belatedly given a welcoming drink as we were getting into the lift! On departure, we were given a send off with one of the bands and a glass of champagne - well done. We changed our room after 1st day to get a quieter room and queen sized bed instead of singles. We had a great view of the sea from the balcony - (room 3100) Although a bit dated, the room was clean and lovely swan arrangements and flowers - thank you Leydis.

Reception staff not particularly friendly or speedy and bar areas and seating very noisy. Some of barmen friendly - best bar near the Tropicana and best barman - Nivaldo! The main restaurant - La Panchita - was awful. Noisy, poorly laid out, crowded and food so so and not so warm! The manager does respond to suggestions and has provided a microwave! Some of the staff were terrible - one - Dilly Daydream!! - took 10 minutes to bring a glass of wine - that was with 3 reminders! Those who stood out were Mizra, Maylin and the waiter who works in the same area at night. They were so friendly, happy and efficient. Difficult to get a table in their area.
The beach and pool restaurants were pretty poor - either long queues or dried food. Best restaurant was the Italian, followed by the fish, then steakhouse restaurant. Chinese - hit or miss. Cuban not good.
We had to give the beach a miss apart from walking, as the sunbeds were so uncomfortable. Pool beds OK. Entertainment at pool better than other hotels we've stayed in - not so noisy and no "boom boom" music. Lots to do if you wanted. The evening entertainment seemed to be a bit samey - tho' very professional.
Many different nationalities there, so why do the Brits have to be singled out by being given blue bands - we were challenged by security guard when going from beach to hotel as our bands were different!!!
Please get the bicycles updated - they were very wobbly and the crossbar is too high for most women!
The public toilet areas need to be serviced more often - frequently ran out of paper and/ or soap. As some women are disgustingly lazy, perhaps better to leave the lids off bins, so used toilet paper not stacked on top of lid, then swept out and binned and floor not washed afterwards - ugh!
If you go to Havanna - do stay overnight - a lovely, interesting city.
Would I go to Sol Palmeras again - no! It's a nice enough hotel, but too big and noisy for me, although many others I spoke to enjoyed it. On the whole, the Cubans are lovely people and seem to be honest. We never felt threatened when out and about, so would recommend Cuba.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinty_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much fro devoting part of your time, publishing and sharing on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Palmeras Hotel.
We appreciate all your comments, specially the negative comments, because they permit us improve our daily work ,and to focus more attention and supervision in certain things.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your room and the cocktails Nivaldo, the barmen, prepares. And that you also enjoyed the entertainment activities with our team.
regarding the buffet, we are analyzing the possibility to make it larger, because sometimes it is not large enough for all our guests, but this possibility will be in the future.
We taken ote of your remarks about the service at the buffet, except for Mirza, Maylin and Julito.
We would like to inform you that our British guests wear blue bracelets because we bought a large quantity of blue bracelets and we decided that they are for them, but it is not because of any special reason.
About your remark concerning our public wash rooms, we would like to inform you that we have increased our supervision, so that there is not lack of anything there.
According to what youwrote on the last lines of your review, we understand that you enjoyed your holiays in our hotel, in spite of your remarks, but that you not return because of the large quantity of guests staiyng in our hotel, this last thing we cannot and do not want to change it.
We appreciate all your complimentary comments aboutthe Cuban people.Thank youfor that.
Sincerely,
Tomeu Alcina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,205)
There are newer reviews for Sol Palmeras
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,741 - 1,747 of 6,205 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2011

Really liked the food. The hotel has 5 restaurants, a varied menu to suit every taste, delicious ice cream and lots of desserts, very helpful staff. Free ride on a catamaran, kayaks, sailboats, windsurfing, animatry very active and cheerful. The hotel is definitely for families. I want to note, the hotel - a favorite vacation spot of Canadians and Argentinians, so if you do not speak English or Spanish, you will be not very easy, because and staff also focused on this audience.
Do not forget the tips and you'll get the best cocktails, exceptional service and sincere gratitude of the Cubans for your kindness (because the average salary for example a doctor or an engineer is about 35 EURO, and they have to work as waiters or bartenders in hotels).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tirina84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for publishing on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Palmeras hotel.
We highly appreciate all your comments, about our hotel and its services. Specially what you expressed about our personnel, we apprecite it very much.
As you well said, the majority of our guests are English Speaking or Spanish speaking people.
We also have a lot of Russians, but unfortunately only few of our staff understand the Russian language.Nevertheless, and noticing that the Russian market is getting bigger, some of our staff is having classes of Russian language in our hotel.
Looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel, receive best regards.
Sincerely,
Tomeu Alcina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Had another fantastic time at sol palmeras. Food at buffet is satisfactory, but steak house and chinese restaurants were great. Front desk reception is always fast, friendly and efficient. Lisy the front desk manager along with Gonzalo and the rest of the front desk were the best at helping me with any questions i had relating to hotel services and any adventures i was thinking to plan. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels in Cuba and the front desk staff at Sol Palmeras is the best. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuba1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Dear Guest,
We appreciate very much that you have published on the Trip Advisor, your comments about your stay at Sol Palmeras hotel.
Thank you very much for all your complimentary comments about food at our buffet, specially about food at our Steak House and our Chinesse Restaurant.
We also appreciate the complimentary comments you expressed on your review about or Reception, and in particular about the persons you mentioned, Lisy and Gonzalo.
We are glad to read you had fantastic holidays in our hotel.
Thank you for choosing Sol Palmeras.
Looking forward to seeing you again among us.
Truly yours,
Tomeu Alcina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Booked this hotel a week before coming away as a much needed break.Just to qualify my comments both me and my wife have been travelling to the Caribbean since the mid 80's on and off to many islands.
Hotel,generally 3 star,as said previously badly laid out.The main place to sit on an evening was just off the reception next to a bar,felt like an airport lounge.
Food,very bland,I realise cuban food isnt spicy but I was having to add salt to everything.
Entertainment,well,like most all inclusive places,its so samey and not very good,boring.
pool,too noisy all day.
Beach,Excellent although plastic beds are very uncomfy.
staff. small bar next to Italian restaurant,generally hard to get a drink if you stand at the bar,I think they prefer you to be served at a table so they get tips.
Cleaners did a great job.
First choice rep luis was very helpful,we couldnt lock our glass doors overnight after they said they had fixed them,they hadnt so was a bit nervous overnight.Next morning he sorted it and got us upgraded for free to a junior suite,top man.
The whole experience was for me like stepping back 25 years on a cheap Airtours holiday,nothing had changed.I understand its cuba and not florida so thats why Im giving it a 3 star not a 2.
I checked trip advisor and took a gamble,it didnt pay off.I should have paid more and gone somewhere else,my fault.
Its only a personal opinion,as always try for yourself.
I now cant wait for the florida keys in june,a massive step up in quality and cost.
If you only go to spain for your holidays,give it a shot,its worth it for the beach and the sea.
Go on the Havana special and seafari cayo blanco,top trips.
Good luck fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izatequilafan!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for publishing on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Palmeras Hotel.
We regret we did not fulfill your expectations during your stay in our hotel.
We take note of the comments you expressed on your review, which we will share with all our departaments´managers involved, so that they takr the necessary actions to solve the dificulties.
As you well said, ours is a large hotel, with a great quantity of housed guests. Just for your information, i would like to tell you that our hotel has the highest occupancy in Cuba, durin g the whole year.
I would also like to inform you that I myself have worked at different islands at the Caribbean, and there are hotels which are better than ours, but there are others that are under our standards. it depends on your choice.
Receive best regards.
Sincerely,
Tomeu Alcina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

just got back from our honeymoon at sol palmeros, i have to say what a superb time we had , our room had to be changed when we got there as we were facing the car park when we asked for a seaview , turns out none of the rooms have sea views really the coconut trees are in the way, this was quickly rectified and we got a view of the pool, we found the reception busy but efficient , the room was spotlessdue to our lovely maid maria the food was excellent and wide ranging though you do have to book a la carte restaurants early to avoid dissapointment, for a few paso,s the waiters will be constantly fetching you drinks and are very friendly . the beach and sea are gorgeous pure white sand and clear blue sea all in all me and my wife had a brilliant time and will definately be going back in the not to distant future

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you have published n the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Palmeras Hotel.
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your Honey Moon, and we are very glad to read on your review,l that you had fantastic holidays here.
We really appreciate all your complimentary comments about our hotel and its services. We specially thank you for your comment about your chambermaid Maria, who we will congratulate on your behalf.
Hoping that your words come true, and that we will have the opportunity to see you again among us soon.
Truly yours,
Tomeu Alcina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Our room was fine, the beach was quite nice (sun beds hard no cushions) wide variety of food available almost too much but the whole atmosphere was like a holiday camp. There was nowhere in the evening to relax in peace. The a la carte restaurants which were supposed to be booked in the morning for that evening were booked days in advance. Am not adverse to entertainment but there was no escaping it and it was much the same each evening and very loud. The whole area indoors and out is not big enough for the number of guests. The reception staff were indifferent, we received no welcome or information when checking in. The sunbeds around the pool were all reserved by the time we had breakfast however we did enjoy the hammocks near the beach. Guess these were usually free as they were in the shade and it seems most tourists were just there to soak up as much sun as possible. Repetitive music going on most of day around pool and on beach We had spent a few days in Havana but this was a different type of culture. We spent 3 days here and returned to Havana for the rest of our holiday in Cuba. You could have been anywhere in the world here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babesykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for publishing and sharing on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Palmeras Hotel.
We appreciate all your complimentary comments about the room, beach and variety of food.
Our hotel has 600 rooms, wirh an average of 1100 guests each day. It is true that there is a lot of people, but we have enough areas for all our guests to enjoy and relax. We also have a complete entertainment program for all the persons who prefe it.
We have taken note of your remarks about our reception, and that you find the sun beds are not comfortable, as well as what you expressed that some of the sun beds at the swimming pool area are reserved by some of our guests,and that the music is repetitive.
All these comments on your rview, have been shared and analysed by all our departaments´´
managers, so that they can take the necessary corrective actions to solve the inconveniences you remarked on your review.
Sincerely,
Tomeu Alcina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

just returned from the best 2wks holiday ever. We stayed in one of the standard bungalows which were wonderfully spacious and clean with a manhusive bed. Daily maid, clean linen,etc. Surrounded by well established gardens and only about 100yds from beach. We were only about 2 mins away from hotel and all it had to offer the perfect balance really. The food was superb and so varied and plentiful in the buffet restaurant with the individual restaurants (which you could book for in advance but as many times as you liked) providing the best of local produce and excellent atmosphere. All amenities were as promised and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful from the gardeners, maid, restaurant/bar staff thru to reception staff. They were patience personified when dealing with with everyone. Our only complaint was with some of the fellow guests who seem to have only gone on holiday to moan. Sad people!!! Free choo-choo service really useful which takes you along to Las Americas and their shopping mall. Varedero within easy distance by either hop on hop off d/decker open bus of 6CUC taxi in an old cadillac where shopping cheaper and more varied. Can't say enough about how good the place was and what a good cross section of age groups/nationalities which also made a good atmosphere. The whole area of the complex is so large it never feels crowded. Please go they really deserve the business.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyandstuartCo_Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alc52, Director General at Sol Palmeras, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for publishing on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Palmeras Hotel.
We highly appreciate all your complimentary comments about our hotel and about the services it offers. Specially we appreciate and thank you for your comments about all our staff. Your comments will be shared with all our personnel.
it made us very glad when we read on your review, that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel.
Thank you for recommeding us.
We hope, in case you return to Cuba, you choose Sol Palmeras for your holidays, it wil bethe best reward we cab receive from our guests, and we will have the opportunity to be your hosts again.
Truly yours,
Generl Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varadero hotels
2.1 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
0.4 mi away
Ocean Vista Azul
Ocean Vista Azul
#8 of 64 in Varadero
1,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 64 in Varadero
5,105 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Palmeras

Address: Carretera de las Morlas, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#7 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
#9 Family Hotel in Varadero
#11 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
Price Range: $165 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Palmeras 4*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Varadero Beach, this 4 star, all inclusive hotel offers all of the great dining, activities and entertainment facilities that have made Sol Melia a recognized leader in quality hotels! Ideal for families and honeymooners. 376 comfortable double rooms, 28 junior suites, 4 suites and 200 bungalows with direct access to the beach. 6 Restaurants, 7 bars, mini club and mini-disco, mini-golf. Motorized water sports. Sol Palmeras combines great fun with a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Palmeras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Palmeras Hotel Varadero
Sol Palmeras Cuba
Sol Palmeras Varadero Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing