We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,188)
Filter reviews
2,188 results
Traveler rating
374
836
553
246
179
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
836
553
246
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizzaquiet resortbeach barfriesmojito barmagic showitalian restaurantporksmaller resortlots of hot watergreat beachcleaned dailya la carte restaurantsresort staffpeanut butterrelaxing vacationwater ballet
Filter
Updating list...
836 - 841 of 2,188 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2007

First of all the picture in the Sunquest brochures or in fact even on line do not do the hotel justice. I would say at a guess that the picture is at least 6 years old as there is so much more vegetation both in gardens and trees.

Arriving late did have its advantages, as apart from one German couple we were the only people checking in so absolutely a breeze.
Passports are collected for overnight and you are given a free in room safe lock/key and your towel card. You could get porter service if you wished to help with the bags.
The room we had- 582- was as close to the beach as you could get although there was no view we could certainly hear the waves sitting on our terrace. Lovely.
2 ¾ beds pushed together, mini frig stocked at least every second day and sometimes more often (we had a great guy!) with 2 large bottles of water, 2 cokes, 4 Mayabe canned beer or more! And a full bottle of rum is also in the room.
The bathroom was very nice with bidet, hairdryer, deep tub with shower and hanging racks. Very good quality towels most days. No washcloths of course.
Very clean. A few flying bugs the first night as I think our room had been shut up but not an issue after that.
Pictures give you a better idea.
The highlight of this hotel was definitely the service. The waiters/waitresses-and while we did have a few favorites-were all marvelous. Poolside service as well which was nice and table service at the bars. Even if you order at the bar they prefer to bring the drink to you.
There are no a la cartes at this hotel and there were a couple of days that the food was not up to par but we certainly didn’t starve. There was always cooked to order pasta and fish on the grill. The omelet guy in the mornings was great and every Friday they do a big barbeque for Cuban Days. A couple of nights they had huge shrimp and even turkey one night. Great breads and lots of fruit; fantastic Coconut ice cream and a very good red wine. Again the servers were great. There are two sittings for dinner. 630/645pm to about 815pm and then again at 900pm. The majority of the 900pm were European. You are assigned your table the first night and that is where you stay. Of course they will move you if you meet another couple or you don’t like your neighbors. There was also an outside area set up for breakfast and dinner that didn’t require reservations. The dining room has a smoking area at this point but Cuba has just passed a law that all closed in dining rooms will be non-smoking.
Beautiful Pool kept spotless with lots of shallow spots for kids and a separate area for water sports. As well as a Jacuzzi area unheated.
Great activity team that really tried hard to get people involved without being nuisances. And for the first time we found the majority of the shows to be quite good with some exceptional music from local bands.
Absolutely the best stretch of beach. At least 30 palapas with new ones being added while we there. Never a problem getting shade even with the chaise savers! One of the neat things was that there was a beach attendant that would get a lounge from the pile, set it up and brush it off for you. We tipped him but most people didn’t and that didn’t affect the service.
All in all the people and the beach made this hotel.
Say Hi to Librado, Mario, Betsy and Yovany for me! See them next year

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank KathleenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

I stayed at the Riu turquesa it was lovely the staff was realy great the food wanderful and all in all realy clean there was somthing to do all the time

2  Thank happieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2007

Booked through the Riu Riulet (either Riu Los Morlas or Riu Turquesa) from Sunquest, and got placed at Riu Turquesa during this week, arrived in early a.m. after red eye flight, room was not ready until 11am. I understand Riu is a premier "brand" of hotel and unfortunately this is one hotel that does not meet to their standards ...

Internet was still down and for the rest of the week, though access at Playa de Oro hotel next door.

Room was efficient if not somewhat tired; could use new mattress, pillows and sheets, overall room was clean and no problems with hot water.

Loved the grounds; small two story 8 unit villas, spread out around property. Definitely quieter resort and not as busy as next door.

Lacks an a la carte restaurant which is a drawback. They could definitely utilize the skills of a north american cook; found everyhting was overcooked, dry or greasy. Menu definitely got repetitive. Breakfasts were the best, bread fresh, orange juice good. I found the burgers patties a mix of beef and something else, they were processed ..... If they just grill/BBQ with no oil, it would be so much better. Beach grill was limited. Fresh "greens" salad ingredients were sparse. Again north american influences would be beneficial.

Staff was great, friendly and always willing to help if tips were involved. Betsey "rocks" as a server, very friendly. I left daily tips for room cleaning as well as little goodies .... one should ask though, if they continue to receive these extra goodies, when will they tire of it and will service suffer as a result? Always tipped restaurant servers and bar staff, though I suspect they may becoming jaded and almost expect it anyways.

Currency conversion is a major draw back. There is a sense of an artificial "peg" of the CUC to Canadian dollar, what with 1 CUC worth $1.27CDN, if you bring travellers cheques, expect them to nail you for $10 CDN commission. I got the sense that there is a local price vs. tourista price e.g. bottle water. There is better value for Canadian dollar in Mexico vs. Cuba.

Pool was cleaned everyday, they even bleach cleaned the deck one morning. Was encouraged to see ongoing maintenance to the buildings, grounds. Found it strange that the jacuzzi was turned off everyday at 5pm. Sometimes getting lounges were a problem, depends on the number of guests in hotel for the week.

Beach was awesome, great waves, warm water, fine sand, truly "caribbean".

Went on the day trip catamaran swim to Cayo Blanco, thought the 10CUC lagostina appetiser was steep, great lunch at the Cayo, the guide and creq were great, snorkelling was limited due to current and murkiness of previous day storm and churn.

Took a day trip to Havana, better dollar value than catamaran trip, you see a lot, day went by quickly ... worth the trip. Watch out for the "ambush" by voluptuous women duo, they go for the big cheeky smooch and expect dollars in return .... it really is a beautiful city and is coming along in restoration ....

All in all, not sure if I would return, I can find and read a lot of history on Cuba from other sources. Check this one off as been there/done that.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank VancouverWanderLust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

After reading many reviews of the riu Turquesa our party of seven were a bit apprehensive about our choice of resorts. Could it really be as bad as some of the reviews we saw posted on Trip Advisor ? Well we were in for a big surprise ! On the contrary , we found this resort to be extremely tidy and clean...the grounds were immaculate, the trees pruned, cigarette butts etc raked early every morning,the pool was crystal clear with an abundance of chairs. Our 4 rooms were well cleaned , mini fridges stocked at least five times during our seven days there and yes there were more than enough large towels which were replaced as we needed them.Early in the morning before sunrise I saw a few small mosquitoes or "no see ems " but no flies any other time . We didn't miss the a la carte restaurants and found the buffet had a wide variety of salads and pastas as well as roast turkey ,pork and chicken. The breakfast was always great and you could have your "made to order" omlette .The entertainment staff worked hard to offer a variety of nightly themes which included The Magic Show and a Fashion Show ...they were both excellent .The three bars here offered fine drinks and cocktails that were as good as it gets . David, Gregoire, Manuel "Coffee" and the great Raynaldo were professionals and took pride in a good mohito or la mamba . ( I didn't mean to skip Yanet who is in the lobby bar .)These people are always friendly and you don't sit around waiting for ten minutes for a drink......tip or no tip ! When you see the beach at Riu Turquesa you will understand why so many people rave about it ! Its clean , you can walk out for a long distance and its emerald green........breathtaking . If you love the beach , you're in the right place , and the beach bar is only a few steps away. If you are an early riser ....go to the buffet ....have a coffee and meet Yovanney who is always "the life of the party ". You gotta 'love the Cuban people. During our stay we were approached several times by someone from management and asked if everything was OK . I have to say that the staff were awesome , friendly , polite and made sure your stay here was a great experience. They make sure you are happy and go the extra mile .I can speak for all seven in our party ( three from Vancouver and four from Nova Scotia when I say we loved Riu Turquesa and can't wait to go back..When you consider the cost of the flight , you're getting a deal at the resort when its all-inclusive .P.S If you dont have enough pillows Roxanna will be happy to bring you more. I plan on posting some photos as soon as I get them on a disc. Thanks for reading my review.....the way we saw it anyway!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank mizpahBridgewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

Absolutely amazing.
Very large room in a well layed out resort. It is a low rise development which was sensibley layed out. It has only been rated as a 3 star on some sites by tour operators but it was very good.
The rooms was big, a big marble bathroom, and large veranda. We went in rainy season and it did rain at night most but by the morning the water had completely disappeared.
The room was very clean and the mini fridge and rum was replaced very often. The towels were arranged into swans and flowers on the bed which always made me smile.
The tv was a bit limited but picked up at night some USAmovie channels.
It was very hot when we went during the day and got up to 40. We enjoyed lots of siestas. The beach was amazing and we didn't have a problem ever getting a sunbed.
The pool was massive and never got crowded. There was room enough for everyone.
The food was excellent, loads of choice and done in two sittings. You are assigned a table for the duration of the holiday. I did put on a few pounds. We spoke to other people staying at other hotels including Beaches who didn't rate theirs very highly.
The flavoured rum is a must try - particarly the Pineapple!
The Dolphinairum is a dusty but relatively short 20 mins walk away. And worth doing. if you pay extra you get to swim with them which was amazing. They film it and you get the video with you doing it dropped into your hotel reception after.
Evening entertainment was mainly caberet based and they made a great effort with it. Everything is translated into a number of languages.
Club Mambo is a nightout which is a must.
It was mainly German and Candian people staying there and we didn't actually see any other British peole staying there at the top but I wouldn't want that to put you off.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Rainbowkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews