We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once per week was not often enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa del Chef

La Casa del Chef
Ranked #20 of 111 Restaurants in Varadero
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Once per week was not often enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We love this place!!!
We have been to Casa del Chef several times before and always try to have at least one dinner or lunch per week here. We almost always have the grilled lobster and have never been disapointed. The other items on the menue are also cooked to perfection. The desserts are also not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trainer019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    93
    27
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Amazing Grilled Lobster dinner for only 14 pesos. Third year in a row at this restaurant. The staff so very friendly. If you are not a fan of lobster they have a wide selection of entrees. But we go for the Lobster. It was BBQ'd right on the patio before us. You get soup, salad, the dinner and dessert for only 14 pesos. The lobster was soooo good. Juicy but cooked. If you don't like cats don't go. We have been there three years in a row and they have cats wondering around on the patio. They don't bother you but I know some people take offense to animals around the dining area. I loved it. They are very shy and only come close once you get your food but they don't beg, they just hope for some spills on the floor. I am an animal lover so this did not offend me at all.

Everything was very clean including the bathroom. Been there three years in a row and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit.

With a few glasses of wine and a couple of beers our dinner for two was 36 pesos which does not amount to more than 40 canadian. Wine was excellent.

This is a must go to if you like Lobster.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaLoo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

great place best lobster in town entertainment and staff unbelievable!!!!! had many meals here and enjoyed everyone would highly recommend this place, down town veredero just ask around everyone knows it

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dallas402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“LOBSTER!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

BBQ'd in the fire pit and served with all the good stuff
Large 10 - 12 oz. tails... so good! This is your destination for a great night out... and the price is so low you could not go to Mc D's for less!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LANCE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Read about it, found it, enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We recognized the name from trip advisor on one of our walks…as based on the reviews i was interested in trying it out.
Nice place excellent value.
Stopped for dinner on our walk back to our resort.
Was pretty busy however we were able to get a seat outside.

Service was good, people were friendly. Fruit, Bread, Soup, Lobster, Desert, 4 Rums, 2 Pinacoladas. No long waits for courses and or drinks. With a good tip i think it was $41 for the 2 of us

They had a guy there who drew us for 3 CUC and we paid a guitar guy a few bucks to play his Classical guitar for a while. Older guy with a very polished singing voice.

Overall even though my wife is not a big fan of Lobster, she enjoyed it.
Wasn't the best Lobster I've had in the World, however it was Very Good. We almost went a 2nd time, and i would recommend it easily.

Enjoy, Cheers

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBigDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa del Chef also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to La Casa del Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing