We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“50”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

2 weeks stays staf is wonderfull manager ask every day if we need someting. meal (lobster,beef,chicken,fish,vegie) evereting we ask we have. pool very nice beach is nice but no service that the only thing the have to upgrade.cuba is cuba we book a the blau marina and we upgrade a the front desk to the cayo and save a lot $$$ the book over there. if you like cuba book a the cayo you wont regret.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jean guy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    106
    66
    37
    21
See reviews for
34
261
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent a week at the Cayo Libertad in March.
This adults only resort is set on a small island just a short walk away from the busy Varadero strip,
yet it feels like you could be miles away.
If you are looking for the partying, active ,hectic pace of the typical resorts, then this isn't the place for you. If you want peace and quiet, you'll find it here.
Staff is friendly and accommodating in every way. Restaurant is a la carte, and room service is available. All facilities at the adjoining Blau Marina are at your disposal.
Watch the sunset from the balcony of the cigar bar, or find one of the hidden secluded beaches.

Room Tip: 2nd story rooms have better views on the Oceanside, no really bad rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Levelpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We chose to stay at the Cayo Libertad as opposed to the Marina because we wanted to enjoy peace and quiet and on that front, it was very nice. The whole atmosphere is one of peace and quiet. No loud music at the pool, just some staff favourites on a small stereo.
Our room was large and pleasant. The bed was not very comfortable. The mattress was wearing out and they don't use a box spring so it bottoms out. The room had annoyances like a shower fixture that wouldn't stay put and someone had used what looked like bubble-gum to try to fix that. The shower rod was buckled in the middle and should have been replaced.
The beach is nice and we didn't mind the walk to and from, nor the lack of a dedicated bar or WR's. But there was a dredging machine nearby that belched black fumes and was noisy except on the weekend. For two days the water smelled very bad, whether from the results of dredging or maybe the nearby mangroves, but it was foul. When the direction of the wind changed, the water cleared up. We liked having a beach practically to ourselves.
Food: Well, we had very few really nice meals. I suspect that a lot of the problems we had were due to communication, or lack of it. I don't speak Spanish, like most Canadians and therefore I depend on the staff. I think if I could have made myself understood, I could have avoided a lot of frustrations and dissappointment. We made two reservations for a la carte: Tex-mex and Spanish. The Tex Mex was a disaster. We actually "dressed" for that, only to see people wandering in in their shorts and T-shirts. The food was nothing like Tex-Mex. What they served was cold and flavourless, absolutely awful. We decided to pass on the Spanish because we were unwilling to take a chance on another fiasco. Someone said to me, "We don't come to Cuba for the food." Point taken.
Our weather was not good although not a washout. It was cool for several days but we managed to sit on the beach for a bit everyday except the day we went to Havana, and that was a very stormy day, so good timing on our part.
I found the staff to be friendly and upbeat. We got locked out of our room one evening, it turned out to be a dead battery in the lock, but the response was great, and we were inside within half an hour, meanwhile we were seated at the bar and treated very nicely.
I would recommend this place to someone liking a slow-paced, quiet vacation, but I really hope that management learn from these and other comments. They have lots of room to improve.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a fantastic first trip to Cuba at the Cayo! From the moment we arrived we were treated like celebrities! The staff at the resort are always smiling and so helpful. I loved being at the Cayo section of the Blau because during the day it was peaceful and quiet but if we wanted to see the show at the main resort in the evening we would grab a golf cart and pop over to the main lobby where it was buzzing and lively with people. The Disco was fun too-good music! So you really have the best of both worlds. The food here at the Cayo is awesome! I know everyone says that the food in Cuba is not good, but it was SO good it was even better than some of the other resorts we have been to in Mexico. It is better than the A La Carte restaurants over at the main resort.I had lobster three different nights three different ways. It is all ordered off the menu so its always fresh and yummy. Maryelis (I don't think I am spelling that right) was our favorite waitress-so beautiful and always smiling! Raoul the Manager was always around making sure we were satisfied with everything at the resort-thank you. The front desk ladies were so sweet, too. The beach is nice and the water was not rough so you could swim and there are no rocks in the sand. The water is just crystal clear and beautiful. We enjoyed the evenings at the Piano Bar/Cigar Bar meeting new people and kicking our husbands butts at pool! Just lots of good memories and good times!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteenMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I agree with 2sleepypeople. This is a very quiet place with well kept grounds. The pool was very cold like someone had thrown ice cubes into it, mind you the weather wasn't that great either.

The food was okay at the ala carte restaurant but inconsistent. The same order was different each time it was delivered. It helps to learn a bit of spanish to make sure you get what you ask for.

We were on a ground floor room (3206), last building. Noisy if people upstairs are late nighters like the russians who were above us. The room is very large with old furniture and tv and mini bar. We found the hot water pressure very poor and not that warm sometimes. I liked the bed although some may not appreciate the hardness. The box spring is made of a plywood box.

The beach has old furniture with no washrooms or bar service and it's a long walk back.

Service in general was very good but spotty at times. We didn't get water one day and it was like pulling teeth to get a bottle delivered. We asked for a couple cans of cola for the bottle of rum but they said no, not until the next day. so we called room service and they delivered the cola. Weird.

Coffee bars are great and they will make just about any kind of coffee drink you like. Like Starbucks. Very good. Found the bar service excellent in most cases

The cigar bar is also a great place to go before or after dinner.

The staff work hard and try to please but the service and quality is just not there. My wife and I agreed that we could have gotten much better at a cheaper price on the Mayan Riviera, Mexico.

We went to the Blau Marina a couple of times but it's just too noisy. I don't mind a resort having a couple of annoyances but this resort has a lot.

In summary we had an okay time but would not go back. I have higher expecations for a 5* resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colinm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I had a great week at the Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel. Very relaxing. The staff are great, friendly and interesting to talk to. Raul the GM is hands on. He talked to us on 3 - 4 occasions to make sure we were well look after. We were. We recommend this resort if you are looking for a quiet and romantic place. The next time we go to Varadero, we will be sure to book our stay at this resort.

Room Tip: The second floor has of the 30 block has a nice view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Blau Priveledge Libertad is an ok spot if you are looking for a very quiet place to sit around the pool and relax - not much more to do there. For us, it was too quiet and the option of using the facilities at the Blau Marina was not attractive for the complete opposite reason - too busy and loud. The beach is not right at the resort, and even if you did want to be at the beach, you would be better off further down at the Blau Marina and beyond. The beach at the Libertad is the worst stretch for kms - isolated with no beach service and a long walk back to the pool bar. I realize that most visitors are not using the beach at this resort, but it is basically neglected with old beach chairs and deteriorating thatch umbrellas - not what we expected at such a highly rated resort. Although I am not sure how long it will be there, while we were there, a barge dredging near the beach was loud and spewing black smoke most of the time.

The food was average at best and inconsistent, as was the service which at times was very quick, and at others painfully slow. Better service seems to depend on whether or not the manager, Raul, was in attendance.

The rooms were also ok, but still need some tlc including some new paint and updating some old and rusted fixtures in the showers. The beds were very hard and clearly vintage with ill fitting sheets, stained covers and uncomfortable pillows - I realize that this is Cuba, but still expected a bit more.

On the positive side the staff was friendly and working hard. The pool is clean, scenic and relaxing, as is the setting in general. The room service also worked well and we enjoyed coffee (which was also good) on the deck.

It seems to me that this resort is a work in progress, and while progress is being made, there is still a ways to go before I would consider this to be in the good or excellent category.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 2sleepypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
284.3 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
1225.1 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1241.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

Property: Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel
Address: Autopista Sur Final, Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Blau Cayo Libertad Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Varadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning 5-star hotel on the tip of the Varadero peninsula, Cuba's most famous tourist destination, is set on a small and exclusive island surrounded by the most beautiful and seductive fine white sandy beach and crystal-clear waters, offering guests luxury, privacy and rest. Barcelo Cayo Libertad Club Premium***** offers a total of 85 stunning Junior Suites and Suites in buildings over 2 floors noted for their incredible sea views and possibility of enjoying a personalised service. This romantic hotel set in beautiful gardens offers its guests a gourmet restaurant, cigar bar with piano during the evenings and an exclusive swimming pool, the edges of which seem to melt into the Caribbean. Guests can also enjoy the services and facilities as well as the "Barcelo All-Inclusive" program of the hotel Barcelo Marina Palace, for which they will have preference. Welcome to the Barcelo Cayo Libertad Club Premium*****, a new concept in personalised and exclusive service for Adults Only ideal for couples, weddings, honeymoons, anniversary celebrations, conferences, groups and incentive and business trips. Enjoy this stunning setting of the Barcelo Cayo Libertad Club Premium*****, the perfect choice for your holiday in this Caribbean paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing