We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cayo Libertad Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$582
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$214
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Palmeras(Varadero)
$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Solymar(Varadero)
$158
$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$110
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Varadero(Varadero)
$291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
177
120
81
42
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
120
81
42
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscigar barmain resortmarina sidelobstera la cartepeace and quietspanish restaurantadults only sectionprivate beachsister hotelmain lobbypresidential suitepool bartenderwalk in closetceiling fanvaradero peninsularest and relaxation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
323 - 328 of 454 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Cayo Libertad for our Anniversary from Jan 19-26 and had a wonderful time. This was our first trip to Cuba. We arrived at the hotel around 11:30 pm. Check-in was smooth and we were taken to our room on one of their carts by a nice man right away. He described the features of the hotel along the way as well as showing us the room, how to use the safe, air-conditioning, room service, etc.
The manager, Raul, greeted us at breakfast in the morning. He is a very good asset to the resort and was quite helpful. We do wish that they had more of a welcome packet when you arrive. We found that we were a little confused about the location of some of the things and the hours they were available. There is a bank on the resort for changing cash but seems to rarely be open.
The restaurant at Cayo Libertad is absolutely beautiful and well decorated. You can sit on a lovely patio outside and enjoy the view or sit indoors in the air-conditioning. The restaurant staff are very accommodating and we always had good service. There's a bit of a buffet inside with breads, pastas, salads and desserts to compliment your main course. We would like to see more fish, rice and beans on the menu but really enjoyed most everything we had. Thank you Katia and Rolando. You were both excellent.
The pool is located right outside the restaurant. It is clean and well laid out with an attached bar. There were never any problems getting a chair or lounger. Amoroso does a wonderful job making sure you have everything you need and are always comfortable. Merlin did a great job preparing drinks and between her and the waiters we never went thirsty. We had lunch at the pool a couple of times. They will bring it right out from the restaurant. The burgers and club sandwiches we ate were exactly what we needed. On our last day there was a barbeque at the pool with live music, ham, lobster, burgers, sausage, chicken and salad. Very nice!!
Each night at the main resort there is a show. Everything at the main resort is available to the guests at Cayo Libertad. We enjoyed a couple of the shows but mostly stayed at Cayo Libertad. Our favorite place for evening entertainment and relaxing was the Cigar Bar.
The private beach is beautiful with plenty of palapas for shade. There is a beach bar but as it was not open our entire stay we had to use the crowded beach at the main resort which was quite disappointing for us since we would have preferred to stay at the private beach.
Our room was excellent. Very large, clean and nicely decorated. The patio is so large it should have a hammock for afternoon naps. The T.V., phone and air-conditioning, all worked well. The fridge in the room was stocked with a little extra beer and wine daily at our request (me made sure to take care of the fridge stocking guy). Unfortunately nobody came to stock the fridge the last two days of our stay which resulted in us going to the bars or restaurants to carry back some water and beer.
A nice feature of the resort is that you can call anytime or just go to the reception area and a cart will come to take you to the main resort and back. It's a beautiful walk but sometimes we do prefer a ride.
In summary, Cayo Libertad is truly a private oasis with great service and accommodations. We will definitely be back. Thanks again to the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are best for the view - too many bushes blocking ocean view on first floor but all rooms are great
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Traveled with my husband to this resort when it was under the Barcello management. Will never forget our time here.The staff were unbelievably courteous,and went out of their way to make us feel special. Room service was an absolute treat especially considering Cuba is not known for great food. When we checked in we were given room 2702 and what a surprise we got! It was like your own town house next to the pool and restaurant, it was 2 levels with bathroom, living room, dining room and patio downstairs.Upstairs a huge master suite with king sized bed and huge balcony,also huge bathroom with double soaker tub and walk in closet. Private beach, pool bar and restaurant very exclusive. Cigar bar is wonderful and relaxing. Would return here in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: Our room had access to the private beach and was close to the restaurant and bar Room 2702.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tracy9957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Miguel M, General Manager at Cayo Libertad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review about our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely happy that we were able to provide you with a wonderful experience and a great vacation at our hotel. This is our mission and duty and when we have a satisfied guest, such as yourself, we feel that we have accomplished our greatest task.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to our resort, and please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival for any special requests that you may have.

Kind regards

Juan Miguel Marí
General Manager
BLAU PRIVILEGE CAYO LIBERTAD
BLAU MARINA VARADERO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Presidential Suite is something beyond reality. 24 hour private butler service, private pool, and beach, jaccuzzi, even an in-house chef. Way beyond any other experience in Varadero. The food at the restaurant was so good, we didn't even go out of the complex. One problem however was lack of wi-fi. The only access to internet was the business centre which was good, but its much better to have in-house wifi. Very polite staff, clean surroundings and a quiet relaxing atmosphere, congratulations to management & staff

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MGL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Miguel M, General Manager at Cayo Libertad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing comments and for the personal e-mail you wrote to me.

As I did mention to you, there is no better reward than to see our guests returning to our hotel which really means a lot to us.

I already passed your comments to our staff.

I hope I will have the pleasure in welcoming you again on your next stay

kind Regards,

Juan Miguel Marí
General Manager
BLAU PRIVILEGE CAYO LIBERTAD
BLAU MARINA VARADERO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and i vacationed at the Cayo last year. It was ok. Blau took over management and it has changed 100% for the better. Under the expert manager, Raul Ariza and staff our vacation was exceptional. The list of changes is to long to list. We will be booking this place again next year for an extended stay. Raul you made our stay perfect. Blau you put the right man in place to manage. Thank You..Ken and Mary Henderson.

Room Tip: The suites are super!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Miguel M, General Manager at Cayo Libertad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all your nice comments.

I am glad to read that you did fully enjoy your stay at the hotel.

Regarding Raul he is the new Resident manager and he is always taking care of our clients. He is the man who makes our clients dreams in Blau Cayo Libertad come true.

Thank you very much again for your loyalty to our hotel and I hope I will have the pleasure in welcoming you personally on your next visit to Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad.

Sincerely,


Juan Miguel Marí
General Manager
BLAU PRIVILEGE CAYO LIBERTAD
BLAU MARINA VARADERO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I personally loved many things about this resort; however my group of friends didn't feel the same way. When the offer to upgrade us to the Cayo Libertad, I was the one who brought this to my friends and I was the one who checked out the resort and gave it a thumbs up.

The Bad:
This resort is for those who do not want to be close to town. It is actually the very last resort at the tip of the Tryp peninsula. So cab rides cost on average 16 CUC per way. The first thing you will notice is how spaced out everything is. There is one pool, one pool bar and one restaurant on this resort. If you want to go to the Gym, the spa, see a travel representative or do anything you needed to catch a ride to the Blau Marina resort. Don't walk; it is VERY far from your room.

As soon as we got to the resort we had issues with the guy at the front gate. Now that I think about it, we had to wait for anywhere from 5-10 mins for them to open the front gate every time we came back. Not really a big deal but annoying...

The rooms were really nice and spacious but when we got into our room we had no toilet paper, no towels or hand towels. We called several times but the phones appeared to be on the fritz so we walked all the way back to the front desk to ask for towels. That evening 2 beach towels arrived and a roll of toilet paper. I'm not sure if they have hand towels on the resort. Only 1 other couple had 2 towels in their bathrooms upon arrival.

Out of the 4 couples, none of us got king-sized beds like we had booked at our original resort. Instead, they pushed 2 double beds together. This would have been alright, except several of the beds were damaged in various places so that the springs couldn't hold any weight.

Some of us had nice furniture on our balcony, while others had nothing. The ceiling fans are horrible. Not only are they extremely rickety and loud, they look like they are going to fall down on you. I suggest that you don't use them. While we are on vacation, we don't really watch TV but it is nice to check the weather before bed. None of the television sets in any of our rooms worked. One of our couples had a fridge that wouldn't work. Not great, considering the phones also didn't work.

2 of our room doors malfunctioned, lost power or something so we were locked out of our rooms over the course of our stay. It took almost 4 hours for our friends to get into their rooms because of the slow response time by Blau staff. Luckily, this was during the lunch hour which brings us to our next point.

The service at the only restaurant on the resort is by far the SLOWEST we have ever experienced. A word of advice, don't go in groups of more than 3 people at a time to the restaurant. It took on average 1 hour - 1.5 hours for them to serve us our meals for 7 of us regardless if it was breakfast, lunch or dinner. Then our orders were typically be screwed up. We took bets on which one of us would not get our meals because almost every meal there was someone who had their order forgotten about. On the last day we split up our groups and it only took 35 mins for our breakfast to come out. Even though they had a huge stash of bottled water, they refused to give my wife one for her meals after we explained that she was pregnant and it wasn't safe to drink their filtered tap water.

When we wanted to return to Blau Varadero, nobody would help us. Even though we were promised the world by the staff at Cayo Libertad upon arrival that "it would not be a problem, don't worry". We were told by several front staff, "You need to speak to Blau Varadero yourselves". So, I had to pay for a taxi and go back to Blau Varadero in person (phones didn't work) and arrange all of it myself. They also lost our entire group's booking for the transport back to the airport on the night we were supposed to leave.

The Good:
I am going to talk about the crown jewel of this place - The Cigar Bar. If you are a serious cigar smoker, this is the best place in Varadero to enjoy your cigars. It is a piano bar, with bathrooms and the bar was awesome. They serve 7 year Havana Club Rum and can make drinks that you can't find at most resorts (although they didn't have any mint for some reason). The high ceilings and placement of the A/C units made it so that the place was never smokey and even our non-smoking pals felt comfy.

This place sits on top of the water so you get a panoramic view of the ocean. Everything about this place is classy and beautiful. They also had a small but respectable selection of cigars in their humidor. Now usually I refuse to buy cigars at resorts because of the paranoia of fakes but the brands and sizes of cigars they had were obscure enough that most wouldn't bother faking them. This was the only place in Varadero where single cigars weren't up-charged!

I wish the place was 24hrs but it closes at a respectable 1am. Plus, they were playing this soft 80's mix the entire time we were there which was great!

Although the service was very slow at the restaurant, the food was actually quite amazing. Someone spoke about their lunch BBQ on the beach and everyone in our group would agree that the food was some of the best we have ever experienced in Cuba. They even busted out new bottles of Champagne for us during breakfast times for Mimosas.

They also had this gazebo in the middle of the resort with 4 swings that you could sit on and hang out. When the Cigar bar was closed, this was where we hung out. It was close to the pool bar and restaurant so drinks weren't a problem. If only they had ash trays though...

In the rooms, the balconies are huge and the rooms with furniture had nice stuff. The bathtubs are also awesome!

Conclusion:
In the end, it was the slow service and poor state of the rooms that killed our experience at this resort. The resort itself is quite beautiful and with so much space, they could easily add a few amenities like another restaurant, a gym, a spa, ect. so that people don't need to go all the way over to Blau Marina Palace. This resort used to be run by Barcelo and Blau just recently took ownership of this place so I figure with a few upgrades to the rooms (new beds, the electronics, the fans, the door locks), and more client traffic, the service should get faster.

To be fair, the staff were slow but very polite and friendly. The porters and golf cart drivers were probably our favorites.

At this time, I would not pay to stay at this resort but if Blau does their magic, perhaps this resort could become spectacular. For now, I'd say stay at Blau Varadero if you can.

Room Tip: Check your rooms thoroughly, ensure your A/C unit works, ensure your fridge works and check your door to make sure it isn't malfunctioning. The beds were hit and miss, with a majority on the miss side so check them carefully.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Osifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Miguel M, General Manager at Cayo Libertad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read your comments and to see that we were not able to provide you a nice holidays with the type of service expected.

I am really surprise to see many of your comments as they are not usual in our hotel. Nevertheless I promise you that we will analyze every single comments made by yourself in order to make sure that this incidents will not happen again to any other guest.

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am sorry you did not share your opinion with us while you were at our hotel in order to give us the opportunity to rectify immediately.

If you ever decide to come back to our hotel I kindly ask you to contact us in order to take personal care of your reservation and make sure you will enjoy a nice holidays with us.

Kind regards,

Juan Miguel Marí
General Manager
BLAU MARINA VARADERO
BLAU PRIVILEGE CAYO LIBERTAD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews