We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great escape from the "All Inclusive"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Esquina

La Esquina
Ranked #58 of 111 Restaurants in Varadero
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great escape from the "All Inclusive"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We escaped from our all inclusive buffet resort to this very pleasant restaurant in the town. Staff were frindly and attentive, the place was fairly quiet. Food, whilst nothing special, was as good as any we had in Cuba.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cloud9leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    42
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

very bad servcice at this restaurant. seemed to cater only to the locals

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank rhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Pork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We went with 3 couple and we all ordered a meal each. Big mistake. The BBQ pork special can feed 4 people .. there was so much food. Live entertainment and good service made it a great evening off the resort. Food was excellent!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BLouba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Cuban food. Lots of it. yummy shrimp app (tonstones with shrimp) and what i feel are the best cocktails and coffee i have had in varadero. A live band. The service isn't top notch but it is cuban style. they bring it all out and you serve your self. Good prices. 4 cocktails, an app, a dinner for 2 (bbq pork complete with chicharrones!) and 2 coffees. total $31. no brainer for me!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zambuccadnezzar_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“only edible meal in Cuba!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

really sweet server, great food and super cheap! we had the garlic chicken, comes with a small side salad, piece of bread and squash. we had 2 beers and a cappucino and paid $14.90 cuc!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank skitterkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Varadero, Matanzas Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 

Been to La Esquina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing