We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guama
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just got back from my 12th trip to Cuba, the first at this hotel. It's small, clean, friendly, and surrounded by the mountains and the sea. The beach shows the devastation from the latest hurricane, but the water was warm with just some seaweed. The food was very mediocre , but plenty of it. It is a place perfect for older residents, being quiet and small, and that is perfect for those of us looking for somewhere to just relax and unwind without a lot of noisy youngsters. I would certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony overlooking he sea was lovely. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nina154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    264
    155
    57
    45
See reviews for
143
215
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

In a few words, here are the facts of pros and cons of our trip to this hotel. Cons:
beach small and full of biting fleas, seaweeds and stones in the water, lots of stairs everywhere, leaking roofs, no water in the room, crumbling and damaged walls, nowhere to go nearby for entertainment, only old people go there touching food with their hands in the buffet, more prostitution than we've seen in other hotels in Cuba.
The pros: sun, view, weather. I can get that anywhere in Cuba minus some of the cons hopefully. And yes, better watch your personal items at all times as we personally experienced this unfortunate aspect of this hotel. Bon voyage and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guama hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

I went here with my girlfriend and her parents on March 9th to 16th and I have to say it was the most fun I have ever had. Beautiful resort, even better beach and a stunning view of the Cuban mountains. Beach is a little rocky judt off shore and some seaweed here and there but the water is crystal clear and gorgeous. Beach bar is very nice, Ecological restaurant (located just behind the beach) is a nice little spot for lunch. The weather could not have been better, food at the buffet was pretty good and the a la carte restaurants were delicious. There is an abundance of wildlife and the local people are very friendly. Only cons I can think of is that for the first 6/7 days they didnt have piña colada (I know right?) And if youre in the rooms on the 5th or 6th floor it can get a little noisy at night (balcony for the rooms 500-520 or 600-620 are close to the lobby) other than that this resort is fantastic and I would definitely love to go back. We had a free snorkeling excursion and it was one of the best experiences of my life. It was absolutely breathtaking to swim and see the wildlife of the coral reef.
If you go I'd suggest bringing some spare clothes, clothes you dint wear anymore and don't need, some of the local people wpuld prefer clothing items or shoes or sandals, sunglasses or hats, rather than money donations.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Aidan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Located on the south coast of Cuba where the weather is hot and dry with a breeze overlooking the ocean with a house band daily, and outdoor piano bar in lobby. The swim up bar bartender was great and Yodanis in the lobby bar is sincere friendly and helpful. The bar service in this hotel may be a little busy at times but the level of professionalism is second to none. Unfortunately not all rooms are ocean view but many are. Be sure to ask for the lower section located closest to the beach or you will be doing a stair workout of up to 4 double flights of stairs without elevator access. Check in is great. The hotel representative is at the airport to give you the room key and the Bell boy is waiting upon arrival after the 70 minute scenic drive along the ocean to the resort. Extra charge of 2 cuc per day for the safe and late check out is 20 cuc The room was average but clean. CNN , TSN, CTV and an English movie channel. There was a Toronto maple leaf game on one night but attended dinner instead. Shower only with warm water at every attempt of use. The electricity is 220 volt only so bring an adapter. There is a VIP upgrade that doesn't give much other than a different bracelet and 2 more visits to the a la carte restaurants. The Cuban was best. The lamb was the best meal of the week . Unfortunately you are pressured to buy wine in this restaurant as they will not serve the regular inclusive selection. The buffet was clean and service was good most of the time. Unfortunately the tip pooling doesn't promote exceptional service but you should find a server that meets your needs within a couple visits. The food is hit and miss, however the buffet has the best red wine on the resort. The feature item will run out every night quickly. The feature is usually pork roast or turkey. The other selections are constant. Rice , beans, French fries , hot dogs and fried fish. There is a limited salad bar with some cheese, tomatoes, Cabage and cucumbers. The hotel has papaya, pineapple, melons, sometimes grapefruit and once oranges. Fresh bread every day and it is good, right from the oven. The desert is simple and although there is a good variety if you go early, but the selection runs out quickly. Ice cream seems popular if you are willing to wait in line sometimes for 30 minutes at lunch.The pizza is good but you could be waiting for a long time as they are prepared individually one at a time. Breakfast is a little better with bacon daily. There are eggs or omelette to order, fresh juice, coffee tea, cappuccino and breads cheese etc. My only complaint was the hotel not having basic needs. They hotel runs out of things continually. Such as cups, rum, pineapple juice, blender mixes , milk, tea, pizza, French fries and just about anything else you can think of. I know that " this is Cuba" but I'm sure a little more product management could alleviate some of these issues. The water sports are descent. The dive master is fluent and skilled. You have an option for 5 dives and lessons to get international certification for 300 cuc the beach bar is ok... If you bring your own cup but be prepared to pee on a tree as the washroom is not located on the beach level. There is a children's program without a schedule or activity schedule. The hotel needs to provide more for the worker to make this a better program. Annie the worker is nice and speaks fluent. She gets along great with all children and is easy discuss any concerns you have. Be sure to communicate any allergies or special needs you may have as there is no formal processes as other hotels have. The hola sun tour reps are quite informative until the excursions are booked and then they have made their commission. Then trips are cancelled and changed without notice. Very confusing and frustrating as it seems the priority changes. The tour rep doesn't go to the airport as it seems his intrests are better suited in meeting Canadian women and selling excursions. I would recommend finding your own private guide as it will be better , cheaper and just as safe. There are many things to do but you have to ask the bartender, servers and staff to find the local culture.
There is a local baseball program every Friday where you can get a free bus into town and play or watch. There is a nature walk every morning at 8 am. With everything said, the location is good, people are friendly. The drinking water is safe from the tap, our family didn't get sick once from the food or water. The location is safe, weather is great. Just sit back and think about the little things in life that make you smile. Life is too short.... And so is money... This hotel will not break the bank..... And btw this hotel offers 33 cuc per day all inclusive for stays over 21 days .... Many Canadians stay for months yearly...You decide!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markdale, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is our favorite Cuban destination. Beautifully located on the side of a hill overlooking the Caribbean with the Sierra Maestras as a backdrop. A newly repaved road, from Santiago, provides an hour + 10 min ride along the coastline with beautiful views.
Although designated a 3+ star, the views, the landscape, the staff and the ambiance are 5+. We always find a good variety of food along with fresh vegetables + fruit.
We have taken our own bikes there and spend many hours exploring this area with and without the company of Cuban friends. After a morning ride we retreat back to SM for a cold beer and enjoy music + lunch in the intimate setting of the ecological restaurant near the beach.
A small Cuban bar on the way to Sevilla, is a fun stop for a cold drink and sometimes tapas. You will see a long wooden boardwalk, broken in the centre, leading to the bar, located beside a school.
About halfway between SM & Chivirico, you pass Motel Guama. Ride up the hill, through a large parking lot and reward yourself with a cold beer and views to die for. Delicious full course lunches + dinners are available + you can rent a room with incredible views.
Further along Route 20, there is an island (formerly Bacardi Island) named Caya Damas. Wave & shout and they will send over a paddle boat. Here is a treasure with great meals and a couple of rooms to rent and room to explore and relax. Also, we hear, there is some great snorkeling.
After a bike ride to Chivirico, we always stop and enjoy a lunch at Vista del Sol, bottom of the hill below the hotel Los Galeones, and sit overlooking the water. Wilbur will serve up delicious food in a friendly relaxed atmosphere.
And if you continue to ride between Chivirico to Uvero and beyond, the views will continue to captivate you.
Back at SM, you can ride or walk or go on horses into the mountains and visit the villages higher up. As you continue higher you will cross the river and find waterfalls and fabulous views up and down the mountains.
Another favorite restaurant is Oceano's near the entrance to SM. This year he built two rooms, each with a bathroom, to rent, if you want a change in setting from the AI. Other reviews show pics of this place.

A GEM in the making
This year, Vladimar Morino, has almost completed an upstairs addition to his home. There are two bedrooms, each with a bathroom, separate sitting room + a terrace to savor your morning coffee. Also, he built a Ranchon, that you can rent, and enjoy a fiesta and celebrate with friends, He will supply everything for a single price. And a treat for us, his property backs onto the ocean with a beautiful private beach. The vegetable garden is abundant and a walk through the gardens around his home is absolutely beautiful. He will also supply transportation to his home. Quite a wonderful Cuban experience. Call him, cell #53685224.


There is so much in this area to enjoy and we have made many friends and memories. The staff of Sierra Mar afforded us opportunities to explore, meet their families. We feel completely safe off resort and encourage people to walk through the village, Bahia Largo, and beyond.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Just spent two wonderful weeks at BSM. Got off to a bad start 2 hours late departing Toronto then had to go to Dominican Republic to get our luggage seems the luggage guys put Puerto Plata luggage on our plane and ours on the plane going to Puerto Plata (Stuff Happens) Once there though evrerything fine, great weather, good food, wonderful staff and a fun bunch of tourists even the young students on reading week seem to enjoy this resort. Been at this resort a few times and still find it a great bang for your buck.................Felt sorry for the people waiting for our plane at Santiago guess they arrived at the airport around 6:00 PM had to wait till early morning hours before departing for YYZ

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank holberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our 2nd time to the Brisas Sierra Mar and while the weather wasn’t the greatest (rain the 2nd day and overcast for much of the first week) it was still a good 14 days. The food, service and general ambience of the resort makes this a nice resort to visit. For context we are retired empty nesters in our late 50’s enjoying many trips to Cuba, all various AI’s.

One thing you need to be aware of is there are a lot of stairs which can be challenging if you have mobility issues. There are elevators though. The one on the Caribbean side has been repaired however the one close to the entertainment stage was under repair and I understand the elevator for the upper levels (into the hill) was also out of commission while we were there.
if you like to snorkel, there is a reef not that far out with a nice variety of fish. However the water was never still so visibility varied daily.

This resort has a dark sand beach with a lot of rocks and coral in the water close to the shore. I would still recommend beach shoes but I didn’t find it quite as rocky as last year. While we were there a lot of sand was being brought in and they were working on improving the beach area which was good, however there was some talk of closing off the main beach area while they worked. Understandable due to the heavy machinery but…

The rooms are dated but clean and any issues that did arise were dealt with promptly. I would recommend something on the 400 level; however these are quickly taken up by returning guests of which there are many. We ended up on the second level so maybe we need to return a few more times to make it up to the 4th.

The Ecological restaurant this year had live music which we really enjoyed. The beach restaurant “the Ranchon” was closed (at it was last year while we were there) as it was under reconstruction, to be completed by March.

The Cuban a la cart was great this year but the International a la cart (“the Mariposa”) was disappointing as the squid rings we ordered turned out to be those small squids which we did not enjoy. So we finished our supper at the buffet which usually served a nice variety of food. We also went off resort once to “The Oceana” restaurant and enjoyed a great lobster dinner at a very reasonable price.

This year there was more local entertainment in the main lobby, at the two a la carts and at the pool bar. All were a joy to listen to. The evening shows varied, from audience participation, dance, water ballet, or local bands. On another note, I don’t think the resort sprayed much while we were there so remember to bring your mosquitoes spray, you’ll probably need it.

There are 3 bars at this resort and what impressed us was they never ran out of mint. You could also get a mojito or a properly blended Pina Colada at the beach bar. There used to be a bar above the pool which was a great place to enjoy the sunset however it was closed as the roof was under repair. We missed it as it was also a nice quiet place to get away to.

The staff really made you feel welcome, as did a lot of the regulars. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere that grows on you. Most people there were around our age so I wouldn’t call this a party place. Not many kids either, but there was a “Kids Club” so maybe it’s more active at other times. If you look up my channel on YouTube (MrJarArt) I’ve posted a few videos of this resort and some of the tours we’ve taken while in Santiago de Cuba as well as other Cuban resorts we’ve been to.

Room Tip: Would recommend something on the 400 level which is closer to the main areas; however these are quic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jar-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guama
5.8 mi away
Hotel Brisas Los Galeones
119.9 mi away
Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
33.4 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.1 mi away
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
#4 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
84.5 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
57.4 mi away
Club Amigo Farallon del Caribe - Marea del Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel

Property: Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel
Address: Chivirico Road Km 60, Guama 92800, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Guama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Sierra Mar Guama
Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel Guama
Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel Cuba/Santiago De Cuba Province - Guama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing