We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort..!! As always...Surprised, how it was spared from Sandy..!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guama
L'Orignal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Resort..!! As always...Surprised, how it was spared from Sandy..!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Although, on the way to the resort, there was numerous signs of devastation from hurricane Sandy, both, in the countryside, especially near the shore and in the city of Santiago, Sierra Mar, apart from a few uprooted palm trees, was relatively undamaged; if anything the beach which remains small, near the designated swimming area, had been somewhat improved by the high wind and waves. Believe it or not, an extra 3 km was resurfaced since we went in the spring of 2011. Overall, most of the staff have remained, and the service was excellent..!! My wife and I, spent another memorable 14 days at this all inclusive resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6 and 7 ht floor are more recently built and more picturesque; although, the ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    264
    156
    58
    45
See reviews for
143
217
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have seen a decline in Cuban hotels in recent years with the increase in the level of prostitution or sex tourism that I have seen (I speak Spanish and French). There are two sides to this resort..the tourist stuff and a very seedy side in which some tourists shamefully exploit the locals.

Santiago de Cuba is fantastic for its music and some of the best I have ever heard in Cuba have been here. The talent is incredible.

The scuba diving was very good but beware...I got poisoned here because the air intake was not pristine. Just watch when your tanks are filled.

The ecological restaurant was a gem and well worth eating at. It is very peaceful and relaxing.

This is a resort in decline in many ways. It is a large scale, old style resort that tries to be all things to all people...rather than focusing on one thing. As a result, the food is bland and the entertainment lack luster. It simply tries to hard.

I would make it into an ecological resort and focus on eco tourism. Although there was diving, the reefs are also in decline.

The rooms are standard but it is a long walk to the beach. If you have mobility problems ask for a room that is on ground level.

Room Tip: Choose a room at ground level facing the ocean if possible. Avoid rooms near the entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karine427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Guama hotels

Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hi everyone, this resort is the best for families and young people.
It is very relaxing and the staff are just so nice.
To those who have just went there I have a question: I was wondering if anyone can tell me whether Carlos with the scuba diving team still works at this resort?
all staff are very friendly, very nice. I feel as though they are my family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Update to Brisas Sierra Mar

Just returned from another great trip Feb 10 till 17, great weather and staff as usual.

Ranchon looks like it will be awhile before it is fixed, you can get something to eat a the ecological restaurant at lunch.

Beach Bar has been rebuilt and Osmar is waiting with open arms as usual. The road is still being fixed but that is on Cuban time of course, the worse stretch is between the military Hotel and Sierra Mar, no change to Chivarico, that section of the road is still very bad. The Food is good but they were without Tonic the week we were there ( this is not the first time, made due with club soda mixed with sprite and lemon and of course Gin). Osmar makes the best Rum Punch too.

My review is short as I only wanted to post pictures of the Beach, it is in good shape and we basically spend all our time on the beach.

Room Tip: We like the 5th Floor but you may hear the Disco at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank crannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This trip was possibly the best week i've had in a very very long time. When traveling it is imperative to keep an open mind, especially in a country such a cuba. It's important to remember that it is run differently from our canadian and american ways therefor i believe its important to keep everything in perspective. The locals are always smiling, the weather is beautiful and it is extremely safe, what's not to love?

Internet access is hard to come by anywhere on the island, so be prepared to turn your phones and computers off when you arrive, you will have no need for them and you will slowly begin to feel your tightly wound springs unwind. I have never been so relaxed and at ease on vacation before.

The staff are simply wonderful, i truly believe that i have made some friends that i will keep dear to my heart for years to come. Friendly, outgoing, respectful and trust-worthy. I cannot speak more highly of these amazing people.

The room was always clean and beds were made. Sheets were sculpted into shapes and swans; you can't over think it, its just fun.

It is a quiet resort, easy to socialize but equally as easy to keep to yourself if needed.
The food was good, always plenty of fresh juices and fruits, pasta and omelette stations and always an abundance of ice cream!
The view is one of the most distinct features of Brisas Sierra Mar. Nestled in the mountains looking over the bright blue sea... there really is nothing that can come close to this. All rooms are ocean view and the sun's path makes for a stunning sunset show each night.

I had a terrific time, a much needed mental vacation from my hectic life. I Highly recommend this resort, i will definitely be returning!
Veo que hay!

Room Tip: Chose a floor closer to lobby if you have difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BrigitteD1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

"Very Nice”

This Cuban hotel is a fabulous place to stay, the mountain views, beaches and gardens are incredible.

This hotel (in its day) was a grand 5 star resort with significant architectural and structural features.

This hotel is built into the mountain therefore the grade change from beach level to the most upper level is in the range of a 10 story building, most of the elevators don’t work so be prepared to use the stairs, or take the windy road to the top, anyway, I never recommend using elevators in foreign countries for maintenance reasons and the possibility of getting stuck in them.

The beach was peaceful and absent of loud music, just the sound of waves, and what my doctor ordered, plenty of natural shade and chairs.

I would have no problem returning to this relaxing & tranquil resort. I met some fantastic folks down there, most were repeat vacationers, some on extended monthly stays and others were avid bird watchers. This place may not be the best place for the Party or Cancun types.

Need to relax... this is the place to go…have a nice mud bath with a friend or spouse at the local ground water thermal wells. Also, I was informed that there is an excellent little Cuban sea food restaurant within walking distance from the main resort entrance. Also within the botanical garden area there is a (secret) little restaurant with just 4 tables.

Note: I have traveled extensively to Cuba, thus my expectations are tempered and in check. Sometimes even bringing own toilet paper : ) Cuba is always great value for the money. My only regret is not booking for a longer period of time 7 days is too short. O yes don't forget to bring ping pong balls.

The strong points: Mountain views, beaches and gardens are incredible. Also the resort area sea water is great for snorkeling i.e. not just barren sand bottoms. Don’t forget water shoes as this is a natural shore area.

The weak points: Extensive network of stairs may be difficult for some. Just take your time, or take the windy road back up. The road in from the airport is a bit... rough, it was badly damaged by the last hurricane, but don’t dwell on it, bring a plastic bag if you are prone to motion sickness or ask the driver to pull over if there are any other needs. Also at the time of my visit the beach restaurant was still out of service. Some of the local beach beggars, were a wee bit annoying at times, the hotel would be well advised to communicate with them to ensure a more positive impression. Also upon check out, there was a requirement to pay 15 pesos for the use of the room safe. Additionally, I recommend that you bring your own beach towels as it seems that these towels are frequently stolen at most Cuban resorts (not sure why) but it can cost you 15 to 25 dollars. Trust me it really hurts to pay for a towel that someone stole from you : (

On a final note the gym has no working equipment, and is function-less, however the stairs, walks and ocean swims shall prevail.

Room Tip: If you don't like lots of exercise (going up stairs) then stay in the lower room blocks. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Canadian033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I am used to holguin thats four hours by car from this resort it might as well been a million miles away.
the resort its self is amazing the scenery is out of this world all the staff where great exept for a couple of female bartenders thats as far as i go for good coments
this is my fourth trip to cuba in less then a year you know people say the food in cuba is not good at this resort its very very true.
for my money but i go off season is playa pesquero or plyaa costaverde in holguin cuba theay are right next to each other but pesquero i give 10 out of 10 on everything including the food go see jose at the grill tell him mitch says hi
as for brisas sierra mar the room was so tiny no mini bar in the room you had to pay two dollars a day for the key
the tv i had hadtwo english chanels cnn there was no sound the whole week the other ctv worked once in a while
we had power failures sevral times a day so you did not always have ac and if you where on the hire levals and you are handicaped or senior lots of luck the elevator has not worked for awhile.
on thursday the 7th of febuary 2012 before i left for a day trip at six am i let reception know my toilete was not working theay said someone would go up at fix it to make along story short i made three complaints and it was final fixed on saturday the 9th of feb 2013
last but not least i had no hot water my last two nights i called recption theay sAID THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE ELECTRICITY there was nothing theay can do about it all in all this is my worst vaction ever.
this place is perfect for seniors but thats about it if you are singel but not looking to meet somone just to relax stay AWAY maybe for families but thats it.

Room Tip: maybe the beach front rooms are better but for me first time and last time
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitch g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guama
5.8 mi away
Hotel Brisas Los Galeones
119.9 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
33.4 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.1 mi away
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
#4 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
84.5 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
57.4 mi away
Club Amigo Farallon del Caribe - Marea del Portillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel

Property: Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel
Address: Carretera a Chivirico Km 60, Guama 92800, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Guama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Sierra Mar Guama
Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel Guama
Brisas Sierra Mar Hotel Cuba/Santiago De Cuba Province - Guama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing