We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh...even for Cuba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Meh...even for Cuba”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The resort wasn't horrible, especially for a cheap price ($540.00/person). My boyfriend and I went, we're 29 and 30 and met some great people while we were there. An honestly, you get what you put into the trip. So if you think it's sucks and continue to pout about it you're going to have a s***ty week! The food was alright, it's Cuba. The hotel doesn't except visa for your trips so make sure you bring cash, they can exchange Canadian cash at the resort. The pool was nice, however, it wasn't cleaned so when we arrived it was bright blue and by the end of the week it was very green! (like the water at the front of the resort). A lot of people had ear infections towards the end of the week. The rooms did have an odor, cover the hole in the floor in the bathroom with a towel if you have a room that does have an odor, not all do. The hotel staff were very nice and pleasant, until locals came into the resort on the weekend, in which case if you didn't speak Spanish you were not served, even if you were first in a line waiting. Just outside the front of the resort their is a beach that is open to locals. Much nicer for snorkeling and even just being in the ocean then what is actually on the resort. If you want to go into town for the day or for the night to a club. You can ask someone who works on the resort that you've built a relationships with to meet you in town. Tell them Canadian time (which means on time), explain what you will pay for, for them (a beer and their way into the club, lunch while they tour you around the city etc). This way they know exactly what to be expecting from you. It's a great way to see the city. We went into the city and had an amazing time. We left the tour group and walked on our own and did not get hassled at all. We went to the castle while we were in the city which was also an amazing experience! There are sculptures across the street from the resort behind a gate. We went for a walk and checked them out, they are pretty cool. Don't wear perfume or anything though, their are large beehives at the very top (no where close to the ground) however, they are very attracted to perfumes and the sweet smells. They didn't bug us at all while we checked them out and there was 10 of us. There is a security guard who has a great deal on cigars if you're looking for some ($25 peso/a box of 20 Monteo Cristo). The shows were alright, the best was the water show, was truly amazing and they even get the guests involved by exchanging gifts if you want. We got little souvenirs from them and we gave them razors, bath products, sandals etc. The maids really appreciate clothes for themselves as well as their children, not that they don't appreciate having a tip, but clothes, toiletry items, colouring books etc are really appreciated in this part of Cuba. The disco is right on the beach which is nice, and the play alright music, some of it is a little 90's lol but it was still fun! It wasn't the best place I've been to in Cuba but it was a great week of vacation, relaxing, met some great people and made some new friends! If you have any questions just message me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ninedoors7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    285
    236
    130
    79
See reviews for
215
297
63
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Cuba is a unique destination, when you arrive at the airport you adjust your time, they are behind 1 hour and 50 years! I see a lot of Cuban flags around, I though at first that they are very patriotic, but after a few days you realize that it is for the tourist, to remind you that you are in the third world country and not to expect things to work as you would expect them in the first world countries. The convertible peso is greater than Canadian or US dollar, again, take that as a joke and go along with it.

Loved the ocean, the older grandchildren, ages 6 to 14 years old, swims from the shore to the edge of the coral tidal break and it is safe, the water is calm and warm. The amount of species from that small spot is amazing, it kept my grandchildren busy every time we are at the ocean. I brought with us a few underwater flashlights and it was a beautiful night dive every night. The species of fish that comes out at night are more colorful than the day time fish.

The food were good, we had braised ox-tail, curry goat, roast pork, beef tongue and many grilled fish. For $700 per person I don't see any need to expect more, it is a bargain for what they offer. I noticed that people who made the best of what is offered to them are the happiest people. Usually the older people that expect to have 5 star amenities in a 3 star resort are the cranky once.

Before we arrived at the resort we already made friends, from waiting in the airport for the luggage. What is unfortunate and so sad to see is when we arrived back in Toronto, people started turning their cell phone and checking e-mails and we became strangers again. I pointed it out to my grandchildren that even married people are not talking with each other. And yet, when we were in Cuba the same people were all smile and laughter, now, we are all strangers. Makes you wonder if this is really progress.

Room Tip: Stay in bungalow, worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Stanley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colborne, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Family of 11 went cost per person was $658. Travelled April 27-May 5
Room was good, maid service good.
The food was horrible...many fruit flies, cleanliness in restaurant not the greatest. I didnt starve but have stayed at other resorts in Cuba @3.5 and had way better experience with food.
The customer service needs lots to be desired. Staff served before us could wait up to 15 minutes for service but they are looking for a tip. Staff working at night slerping in lobby when went to lobby bar.
24 hour bar by pool closed due to septic back up. Pool liner needs replacing feeling bubble in it...but an ok pool.
Beach you could swim in little areas and rocky. Saw fish swim nwsr ya, that was cool. Not a very nice beach compared to others. Life guards sleeping at beach while 3 of my family members were stuck with flipped paddle boat. Another family member went to help while a guest got life guard. Guard more angry he was woken up.
Staff asking for us to get drinks for them.
Nightly entertainment not too great. The can chane up music plaing some American stuff.

Room Tip: I wouldnt return they had no kid club as advertised and the value wasnt worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santiago de Cuba hotels

Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent resort!! Very nice staff, feels like home here. Very beautiful. Even after the big storm that hit them this place is in excellent condition and everyone's super cool going back again in may . Love love love it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank MSMithgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Spent a week with the lovely people at CACLC. It is important to remember that they were devestated by the Hurricane 3 years ago and do not have the means to make it beautiul in a hurry. The beach is not we are used to but with a pair of watershoes not a problem. The sea was quite warm while we were there.
The rooms are in need of updating but were kept impecibly clean. There was always someone with a broom or mop outdoors as well. The staff works very hard to keep the resort clean.
The ood was surpringly good, you dont go to a 3* expecting gourmet meals. I am glutten intolerant and had NO issues finding something good to eat each meal. We sat in Maritza's section, I don't know I could say enough about our singing waitress, she greeted us with a smile and a song each meal. We never went with out cofee, water, juice or wine. She is the best.
The animacion team, Yelen, Eduardo and Papa...great crew, always happy to get us out of our loungers and dance, stretch, do aqua gym and water vollyball and polo. They kept our days lively and great fun.
The 24 hour bar is where we got most of our coffees and drinks. The bar staff were terrific at all the bars. We were just closest to the 1 bar.
I had an issue getting small change only once, Angel shorted me by 8 cuc(he obviously needed the $). When getting your change make sure you are getting $1 cuc not .50cent. Do not leave reception until you have checked.
This is not a resort I would reccommend to a 1st time visitor to Cuba. I would highly reccommend it to those that have been a few times and know what to really expect while there. You will not be disappointed in this wonderful resort. You get big bang for your buck here.
See you all again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rael96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our second trip to Carisol Los Corales - and loved it. Remember folks - it's only a 3 start resort. Yes, it needs some renovations and upgrades, but if you know Cuba, you know how difficult it is for that to happen. We had absolutely no complaints about the food - you make it work for you.

Our only complaint is the lack of sufficient beach (and pool) chairs. Many people go to the beach very early in the morning and "reserve" chairs for crowds of their friends. Short of policing the chairs, the only resolution is to get more chairs - lots more!!!

Take a chance - you can't go wrong. The staff is wonderful!!! I

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

After an extremely harsh winter, my girlfriend and I decided to get the heck out of Canada as soon as possible to seek the warm embrace of the Caribbean sun. We carefully researched dozens of resorts in multiple countries, and settled upon Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales in Cuba.

This turned out to be an excellent choice for every reason imaginable. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, the weather was unbelievably perfect, the resort property itself is situated in an idyllic location, with towering mountains and lush tropical foliage surrounding it's amazing beachfront. The bars were always open (sweet!), food was plentiful and constantly available, and if by some chance you got bored of the beach, there was no shortage of activities, from cultural learning experiences, to games, contests, beach and water sports.

What really made our time here so special was the Cuban people staffing the resort. A warm, genuine friendliness unparalleled anywhere in the Caribbean islands, and beyond.

Do make the trip down there, it is undoubtedly, and absolutely worth it, especially considering the bargain-basement low price. For the money spent on a one week all-inclusive there, you would only get airfare, and perhaps a snifter or two of vino elsewhere.

Be sure to bring lots of convertible pesos for tipping the staff there, they certainly deserve all the help they can get, due to the ridiculous US embargo.

We are definitely going to return to this super-fun, yet laid back and cool, tropical resort paradise. Should you decide to go, you will feel the same way too!

Bon Voyage, amigos!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JimmyPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
23.7 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
154.1 mi away
Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
60.8 mi away
Hotel Brisas Los Galeones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.0 mi away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#6 of 10 in Holguin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
112.1 mi away
Club Amigo Farallon del Caribe - Marea del Portillo
299.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales

Property: Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Address: Carretera de Baconao Km 31, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort consisting of two hotels (Carisol and Corales) with a total of 310 rooms, 4 swimming pools (2 for adults and 2 for children, beach, 2 lobby bar, 2 pool bar, one beach bar, pizzeria, 2 restaurants a la carte (Cuban and sailor), 2 buffet restaurants, serving food and drinks 24 hours, day and night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Hotel Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Amigo Carisol Los Corales Hotel
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing