We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for what you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a very nice vacation . Very clean and well maintained room. Food was adequate . Pools sparkling clean and a good temperature . The clean up from the hurricane was evident around the resort in the past year and the sunshades at the beach are slowly being replaced. Great value for the price we paid !!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 880 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

For the price it was great. Food was taste, staff were friendly.
My buddy was already there 3 times before and he invited me. He love to scuba dive great for that.
Keep an open mind for the price your paying.
It is a really big place, Lots to see and very safe.

Room Tip: Bring katchup
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I took 12 friends with us this time to Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales. Our last visit was in April 2013. We stayed in room 113 on the Corales side. Once again the weather was great, the pool was great and the drinks didn't stop flowing.

Yes, there are farm animals roaming around, but I think it adds excitement to the place. The food continues to be surprisingly good for a 3 star resort. Whoever bakes the bread everyday . . WOW. Amazing fresh bread daily. During my stay I ate eggs, toast and pancakes in the morning, pizza and spaghetti for lunch and rice, cabbage and squash for dinner. Sometime we would get late night sandwiches at the 24 hour bar. Not to bad, very tasty.

The entertainment was better than the last time we were at the resort. I find the rooms comfortable and clean. Our cleaning staff was very nice to us all week. We made lots of friends again this trip on both sides of the resort.

We took the catamaran tour with William (awesome guide), and for the price $65 we got a 3 hour boat trip with snorkling, lunch at the Santiago yacht club followed by a short tour of the city. Good deal.

Yes, we would return, but again only if the price was right. Everyone in our group paid about $548 per person for the week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank painterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful week in Santiago de Cuba, at the Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales resort. Once again, I wish I was still there. I have travelled to this resort many times and will certainly continue to do so in the future. This time, I have noticed many changes at the hotel. First, they are under new management. This means that staff who were not quite doing their jobs in certain positions were replaced. There is a new P.R. Person and she really gives it her all. The grounds are cleaner, the food was so much better, the service was faster. Second, I have noticed that things "work" better. The shower and water pressure was good, there was a new toilet in our room,. we did not lose electricity once. Third, they have switched a few things around to make it a little easier for staff and visitors. We did not have to wait to exchange money - it was always available. The staff at this hotel are wonderful. I find that they go out of their way to make you happy. They are super friendly and are always smiling. I travelled with 5 other people - all repeat customers with the exception of one. We were all very happy with our stay at Los Corales and personally, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Have stayed in many rooms being a repeat visitor.....have never had an issue. This trip was room 206...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fairy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Travel alert: Bring cash to Los Corales. Credit cards are not accepted and you must travel two hours to get a cash advance. That's the bad news about this resort that an employee described as being at "the end of the earth".

Los Corales and its' sister hotel "Carisol" are located on the Caribbean Sea about an hour's drive east of Santiago de Cuba along one of the most scenic shorelines in Cuba. The hotel is about 30 kilometers from the US base in Guantanamo, but you would never know it. The weather in the third week in January was great with lows at night of above 20C and an average daily high well over 30C.
Other reviewers call the food at the resort "repetitive". One visitor during our trip countered that although the choices at the buffet didn't change much from day to day, there is enough variety that you could have something different almost every day. There is always a choice of two meats (usually fish. chicken or pork) and the local fruits and vegetables are fresh and delicious. If you eat ketchup, jam or other condiments bring a small supply. For breakfast there is always fresh made-to-order omelettes, fresh fruit and juices, local breads, meats, yogurt and cheeses. At lunch there are excellent pizzas, hamburgers, hotdogs and other treats at the beach and pool bars if you want to take a pass on the buffet. At supper there are two excellent a la carte restaurants which require reservations to compliment the buffet restaurant.

For entertainment there is always a show each night at both hotels. These shows make the entire resort loud for their duration. Luckily the shows end at 11. Trips include a trip into Santiago, a visit up into the mountains to a big rock and a booze cruise with snorkeling and a guided Santiago tour. You can walk to local caves or take a horse and cart ride to the lagoon and a small village. The snorkeling off the beach is great.

There is a free shuttle bus into Santiago once a week. Be aware that Santiago is Cuba's second city. It is busy, crowded, noisy and dirty. Watch out for the touts. Cut off your resort wrist band before you leave or you will be an easy target. Never, ever buy cigars or rum on the streets. Sadly there are many beggars everywhere.

For a bit of peace and quiet try the rooftop bar at the Hotel Casa Granda. The elevator ride costs 3CUC but they give you one free drink to make up for it. We had lunch at Tango not far from the main square. The food and ambiance was great. Sandwiches (panini) seemed to be the specialty. Order a beer and they give you a free snack.

Prostitution has become a problem in Cuba. Some young people see this as an easy way to make cash in a country where a paycheque is often very small. I observed young women hanging around the hotel in the evening. They seemed to disappear when the security guards arrived but expect to be solicited in Santiago.

In reference to my title; animals wander the grounds freely. Cats and dogs silently beg for food with their eyes and it is not unusual to see pigs, goats, cows, horses and mules on the road and in nearby fields. One day a cow did make it into the unused tennis court for a short while.

If I were to have a complaint about the hotel it would not be about the food, service, facilities or employees. They were all excellent and staff tried their best to make my trip pleasant. Instead my complaint would be directed at some clientele. When we travel abroad we become our country's ambassadors. Drunken, loud, rude and boorish behaviour of some guests towards me lessened my enjoyment of this trip. Five stars for the hotel, minus two stars for those lumpen guests.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the pool. Only the bungalows have real ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My first trip to Cuba travelled with my daughter. Had a beachfront bungalow Very spacious large deck overlooking water. Only complaint was the door . Both the door latch and dead bolt were attached with one screw. No safety concerns though. Excursions offered where great and well worth the price paid. Weather was awesome. Staff great. Can't wait to go back again. Area is still recovering from Sandy

Room Tip: Bungalows very quiet. We stayed in B area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doublelphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Food terrible, 23 people sick at one time with food poisoning
Maintenance non existent
Hygiene non existent
Theft rampant, especially lower level rooms. First floor rooms with balcony have sticks of wood to prevent entry by thieves .
80 % of our time there ( 1 week) toilets do not flush, no soap, no paper towels.
No rubber gloves worn by food servers, slicers of fresh fruit or grill
cooks.
Unpleasant arguments between tourists at beach - not enough chairs for everyone
Only one room key per couple

Comment by Corales Guest Services : "Yes, they all complain , but they keep coming back anyway !

Now the good parts:
Most of the staff very friendly and helpful
Reception staff always pleasant, even if they can not help you, as often unfortunately is the case, like when there is no money to change $'s to
Cuban Pesos
Rooms are pleasant and clean
Weather fantastic, water temperatures heavenly
Lady cook who does the Pizzas and Pasta is very friendly in spite of being totally bogged down, it is normal to see 20 people lining up to get served at Pizza/Pasta bar.
Environment pleasantly rural, horses, cows, goats, dogs and kittens, little swallows .
Property well treed, plenty of shady spots on beach.
Pool large and clean
Internet available and working, 30 minutes for $ 3.oo

All in all, if this were a 2* resort! you would get your money's worth - for advertised as a 3* you are being short changed.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank cubawsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
2.4 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,326 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Versalles
Hotel Versalles
#4 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
139 reviews
36.9 mi away
Hotel Brisas Los Galeones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.2 mi away
Hotel Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
51 reviews
3.3 mi away
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
#9 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales

Address: Carretera de Baconao Km 31, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range: $66 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales 3*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort consisting of two hotels (Carisol and Corales) with a total of 310 rooms, 4 swimming pools (2 for adults and 2 for children, beach, 2 lobby bar, 2 pool bar, one beach bar, pizzeria, 2 restaurants a la carte (Cuban and sailor), 2 buffet restaurants, serving food and drinks 24 hours, day and night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Hotel Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Amigo Carisol Los Corales Hotel
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing