We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club Amigo Corales & Carisol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Club Amigo Corales & Carisol”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just got back from the Club Amigo Colares. Stayed March 10th to March 17th. on the Corales sde. They shut down the Carisol side for the season. travelled with 3 adults 50+ yrs and 1 ten yr old. We have been to the Riu in Ocho Rios, St. Lucia Coconut Bay, Cozumel-Allegro! Barbados in dec 2012 and many times to Punta Cana 4 & 5 starts and Varadero 2x.

Please rememer this is CUBA so set you expectations accordingly. I will be objective in my review.

Check IN:

Slow as there was only 2 people checking you in. We had drinks to chill with so no bother to us.

Bars:
On average, the service was ok. NO one rushed to serve you, to put it that way.But you wont go thirsty. Julia at the swim up bar is a sweetheart. A tip each day goes a long way!!!! Servesa is great...they did not know many drinks, but if you told them, they would do it. NO BLENDERS THERE!!!! The pool bar tenders are friendly and fun!

Beach:
The water is warm and the snorkeling is fabulous. We fed the fish, saw sea urchins and lots of other underwater sea life. The paddle boats are fun. Bar on the beach as well with basic drinks. Beach is full of coral from Sandy, but still fun to search for treasures. You could walk either side of the resort for a bit, BUT BRING WATER SHOES!!! they are a must. Many people cut their feet during our stay. Beach hut food..well..if your hungry it's ok. Otherwise...naa!

FOOD:

YES, THE FOOD IS BLAND! not much in the way of condiments. limited salad dressing and syrup and jam. You wont starve. Many nights they ran out of the fresh meat they did on the grill that nite. I will chalk that up to poor planning. Pasta was undercooked some nights! Breaky was always the same. They had omelets and eggs you can get cooked for you. Cold cuts and cheese! Every meal serving had beans and they wre good! This is standard at each meal serving. They had some fresh juice, limited cereal and NO BUTTER!!!! That was a tough one to take. OH well.....

HERE IS THE GOOD PART!! IF YOU leave the resort and walk past the security gate about 30 feet, on the left there is a lite blue or turquoise building with a bar and place the sit. Go into the restaurant. W\oW...the lobster is fabulous...first nite was $12 pecos then after that it was $10. They are all nice there. If you have extra clothes, take along and give it to the locals there. They will appreciate it. We had lobster and shrimp. really really good!!!

Much of the veg is the same at each meal. Shredded cabbages, beets, tomatoes and a few other things which changed up every second day or so. But always repetitive. Again, not much selection, BUT YOU WONT STARVE. THIS RESORT IS CUBAN OWNED, SO YOU GET TO EAT WHAT THE GOV GIVES THE RESORT TO SERVE!

Rooms:

Standard 3 star! 2 beds, AC was good, noisy but cool! Again, this is a 3 star! Horrible pillows, BRING YOUR OWN FROM WALMART AND LEAVE IT THERE!!! Maids are great! bring extra clothes for them and their kids and leave it there. Toothpaste, toothbrushes etc for them. They will appreciate it. They dont make much.

POOL:

NICE AND COOL! a few activities in the afternoon if you wanted. If not, just chill! the pool looked clear and clean! No complaints there!!!

Nightly Entertainment: We did not see it as we were always bagged around 9pm from all the swimming and sun and drinks!!!

THIS IS IMPORTANT! TOWELS!

They give you towel cards that you exchange with your maid. Dont hang your towels on the railings as they will dissapear and you will pay 10 pecos. I hung a bath towel on the railing on our last day and the maid came running after us before we got on the bus, asking where it was. The maids have to have all bath towels accounted for each day or they will have to pay for it. Ours must have blown off, and reception was going to make her pay! I told them it was not her fault, so I gave them 4 pecos for that. fyi!!!

Tours:

We did the swim with the dolphins! That was fun! $69 pecos for adults and $29 for kids and you get a good swim with the dolphins. Then they take you to the local artists! That was just ok. We got some cool pottery there. Then you go to an aligator farm and boat ride. That was not so much fun! Not much there. My sister and our friends went into Santiago for the historical tour and she said it was interesting. They went downtown and there are lots of people asking for soap and pens and clothes! If you have extra, take it down for them.

ALL IN ALL, IT WAS A GOOD TRIP, as we knew this was a 3 star! Go down to relax and enjoy the hot weather and remember this is CUBA>>>

Room Tip: We stayed in block 200 and you will hear the entertainment at night from 9:30 ish to around 10. Bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonaandDominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    287
    236
    131
    79
See reviews for
215
297
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erin, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

There are a wide range of reviews on this resort - so I would like to add my opinion, just remember that this review and all others are just that, opinions. Also remember that you are traveling to Cuba and the food will not be to North American standards (I reccomend bringing a bottle of Frank's Hot Sauce).
Personally I have been to Cuba four times, The Cayman Islands, Puerto Rico, Most of North America, Hawaii, Australia, New Zealand, Europe, North Africa and Fiji. I have stayed everywhere from a Cave in Greece to a Castle in N.Z. and I have to say that "I love Cuba", the music, people, country and weather are all fantastico! One of my traveling companions and his wife have been to Cuba 33 times and they too love Los Corales!

So if you adjust your expectations you can't help but have a great time. Highlights for us were: Horseback riding, snorkeling, scooter rentals, touring Santiago and hanging out at the beach. We got our last trip for under $500 - a great value!

Here is a video I did of the resort in 2012:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zr0ealdJJ1w

and one of our day trip to Santiago de Cuba:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9evXI89FOU

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We read the reviews before we went so we were not sure what to expect. As they say don't believe everything that you read. Some must have an axe to grind so they write a bad review ...

Here is the true review of our trip ...

Our experience was very good. If you set your expectations appropriately, remember you are going to Cuba in a 3 star hotel. Don't expect the same North American standards.

The bus ride to the hotel was less than an hour and our tour guide provided us with lots of info along the way. BTW pay the $5 Canadian for the 3 ice cold beers if available ... (our bus driver was selling from a cooler).

Got money exchanged at airport but we also exchanged more at front desk (Los Corales side - where we stayed was much more convenient).

Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff were very friendly and professional.

Our housekeeper - Margarita was outstanding. We met her in our first hour and had excellent service. Amazing when you treat the staff with respect the great service you get.

Our rooms were bungalows (both with ocean front view). The upper unit had a huge wrap around balcony.

The food for most days was okay, some days better than others. If you do not get the food as soon as it comes out it goes cold quite quickly. The grill food was always very good. Carisol side tended to not re-stock food during lunch time. Remember a small tip at every meal is always appreciated and the staff will remember you. These people are not paid a lot and one or two pesos goes a long way for them.

Surprised that we could order both beer and red wine as well as soft drinks in the buffet restaurants.

For a la carte - while they advertisement both Cuban and Seafood the food choices are the same at both. We found the Cuban side (Los Corales) of better quality. You must book the same day with the captain of the buffet restaurant . If they say book at 10 am book early as the spots are limited and fill up quickly. You cannot book in advance.

The pools were always clean and were refreshing. We choose the Carisol side for most of the time. Seemed quieter and the swim up bar much better, Outstanding service by Francesco.

Okay the beach ... yes there is lots of coral - that is why they call the resort Corales ... This is great for snorkelling (you get get for free at the water activities tent). Also available paddle boats, kayaks and catamaran (they take you out - tip and they will take you for an hour)

There are spots were you can swim but it is limited. Remember Hurricane Sandy did a lot of damage and they are still working to clean everything up.

Beach bar was excellent (Frank the bartender is a super guy) Food at the beach bar is limited but is great for snacks between meals.

Entertainment seems to be the same every night (no matter the theme) except for the magician (which was a bit lame but good for the little kids).

The beach party at night was quite lame but probably because the resort was so quiet - not a lot of young people either.

We had an excellent experience with horseback riding . We did not book through the resort but through a local farmer (Jose). You can negotiate a rate. The trip through the mountains was breathtaking as was the trip to the lagoon.

All in all we had a great trip.

Remember a few things ...

this is Cuba,
this is a three star hotel (Cuba standards).
RELAX - you are on vacation
This resort is very remote and quiet - more than 1 hour drive to the city. If you wanted to holiday in the city then go to the city
The dogs and cats, horses, goats, cows, bulls etc roaming around are friendly and add to the "country feel" atmosphere. Remember you are deep in the country surrounded by many farms.
It is not the housekeeper, waitress or barmans fault if they run out of stuff. If they have no butter, they have no butter! No white wine then order red or something else.
While tipping is not mandatory, be considerate and TIP.
Treat the staff with respect, these people are not your servants and they are providing you a service.

Sunwing will have delays - roll with it ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Hubert
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Couple mid 40s... We really enjoyed our trip, Staff is very pleasant. We went to Santiago in taxi, we offered the driver to pay his meal if he stays with us and we hand up with a private guide, Thank you Roddy...it was hot and a lot easier to visit around. We even went to El Morro ``Castillo de San Pedro de la Roca``. We bought lots of souvenirs, many vendors before entering the castle, at least half the price than at the hotel, may be because they were closing soon. We tried both restaurants a la carte and prefered The Cuban at Corales. The pizzaria was better at Carisol but the wait was long. Even if the site is not as pretty at Carisol, the pool was always spic and span (better than Corales) and the service was very good. I really enjoyed the fact that it was two sites, big enough to walk around and small enough to get to know few people.

Room Tip: Happy with my supersaver room 212...Happy I didn't pay more for a bungalow. Anyway it's che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flippou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. catharines, ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Travelled with 3 friends to Los Amigo Carisol/Corales from Feb 27- March6 for 625 all in. Have been to Cuba 7 times before and stayed at all different hotels, different cities. This was one of the best! We ae all in our 40s and 50s and are low maintainence travellers, but not pushovers either. Flew with Sunwing on a Champagne Flight from Toronto, flight was great. Landed in Santiago, small airport but very efficent. 45 minute very comfortable bus ride to hotel-we were on the Carisol side (Stay at 1, play @ both). Check in was quick and friendly. We stayed in the 500 block- room was spacious, clean and centrally located. Read alot about huge spiders and since we travelled with an arachnaphobe it was a concern. Brought spider spray, sprayed windows and doors daily- never saw a spider the entire trip. Fodd was good, breakfast was great- eggs, fresh fruit, bread etc and the best coffee. Lunch at Piazza was great- pizza/ pasta daily. Beach great had hotdogs, pulled pork sandwiches etc. Dinner at buffet was good, lots of choices- alacarte Cuban was good also. Always found something to eat! Pools were great, always loungers and palapas available. Beach was OK, not white fine sand, beach shoes a must! Lots of damage from Sandy but they are working on it. Friends had to change rooms because of a/c issues but staff was very accomodating. Dogs and cats hung about but were friendly etc, were well fed and had collars, bring some treats! Maid service was awesome, left gifts for them daily- stuff for kids, cosmetics, panty hose etc. Bars were abundant and bartenders friendly. Wasa great trip- would return here in a heartbeat, great deal!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank versanurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant staff, we enjoyed every day. Made many friends, people on vacation and with the staff. My only concern is that the hotel was short on staff. The waiters had to serve many tables at the same time, they tried very hard to make everyone happy. I thank everyone for a nice vacation, our maid, our security guards, our ground keeper..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank denpaquette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Here are a few tips:
* There is a shortage of pens, so bring LOTS to give. Also, bring a flashlight, it is very dark walking at night around resort.

Excursions with resort: There is a Jeep excursion through the mountains, that one was supposedly the best of all ($43 per person).
I did the Santiago tour for a day with the resort ($35 per person); you stop and see different places in the city. Definitely worth while seeing the city. There were lots of beggars, people offering to buy cigars... Bring soap and pens to bring, those are worth more than money to them.They also like hats and reusable water bottles.

Food on resort: It's Cuba, so you know what to expect. Breakfast: there's great omelets, fruit and cereal. Lunch: I always went to pizza, pasta restau on los corales side. Din: Sign up for the a la carte as much as possible- Milko is the server there and is the best on the entire resort.

On los corales side, just by the entrance of resort, there's lots of horses and buggies, ask them to take you to a local restaurant for lobster (you may have to plan ahead the day before to book- about $12). It's great lobster.

Dogs: There are so many friendly dogs wandering around resort, bring dog biscuits!

Rooms: I took the supersaver- two double beds, a bathroom, balcony, tv... It's quite big and nice. For the room cleaners, bring nailpolish, fancy hair clips and fancy tights (with designs, even fish net style).

Humanitarian bag: I brought a bag to give away. You can ask the staff to organize a trip for you to go give away your things to a school so bring pens, coloring books for that. You can also go to a village, and they will take anything. They really need shoes and undergarments, I gave batteries, soaps, clothes and they were just as happy. Random things they like- like a closet organizer.
If you really want to help out a family, give them an old laptop- supposedly electronics are very very costly there so you would be helping them out a lot.

Shows on resort: The shows were decent. GO SEE the water show called water ballerina, it was by far the best.

Money: The hotels exchange rate was 0.93, supposedly the airport had better rates. I would just convert money at hotel when needed at it worked fine.

Ocean: Water was so nice! Weather was amazing, no rain, very hot. WEAR water shoes because there are lots of sea erchants.

One thing I would bring next time is gatorade and water bottles seeing that a bunch of us got sick. Overall, for $650, you can't really beat that.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank reba y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
23.7 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,248 reviews
154.1 mi away
Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,423 reviews
60.8 mi away
Hotel Brisas Los Galeones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.0 mi away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#7 of 10 in Holguin
57 reviews
112.1 mi away
Club Amigo Farallon del Caribe - Marea del Portillo
299.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales

Property: Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Address: Carretera de Baconao Km 31, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort consisting of two hotels (Carisol and Corales) with a total of 310 rooms, 4 swimming pools (2 for adults and 2 for children, beach, 2 lobby bar, 2 pool bar, one beach bar, pizzeria, 2 restaurants a la carte (Cuban and sailor), 2 buffet restaurants, serving food and drinks 24 hours, day and night entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Hotel Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Amigo Carisol Los Corales Hotel
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing