We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good casa, well located”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Raul Y Kathy
Certificate of Excellence
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good casa, well located”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed three nights and had the back room with French balcony and view over Reparto Sueño. The other 3 rooms had no windows and gave on to the corridor, can imagine that that's rated less. Our room was spacious and had a very clean and well equiped bathroom.
The casa has a super balcony with a great view over the city. We enjoyed breakfast and two dinners there, tasty and pleasantly quiet after the often intrusive Santiago city life. For a small amount we had some laundry done. Perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keesvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    32
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
55
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a good stay at this hostal, with Raul and Kathy organising both our pick up from the bus station and also our taxi to the airport when we left. However, with 4 rooms available, this is a bigger operation than a Casa Particular and lacks the family feel and personal touch we had in other casas. The room was spacious, convenient location but no windows looking out, only windows that would open out into the corridor. Although Raul and Kathy were very helpful, we had to ask for help rather than the experience we had in other casas where the host would sit us down and explain the places to go nearby and give us a map of the area. Also, while the breakfast was nice on the rooftop terrace, we were automatically given coffee and had to ask for tea and weren't given a choice of how we preferred our eggs. These simple touches would make this an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My parents and I spent one day in Santiago and stay at the Hostal. The room is super clean and the beds are comfortable. The rooms have a small refrigerator. The next morning we had breakfast at the terrace where you can see the city. The food and the service was great. I greatly recommend this place. For sure, if I go back to Santiago, I will stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JossVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Raul and Kathy in March and it was excellent. Raul had a taxi meet us at the airport and that was welcoming after a long journey. The meals were extremely filling and much more than what we expected. We had breakfast at the Casa every morning which was quite convenient. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. There are both air conditioning and fans so this was useful. You cannot beat this Casa for location and security. It's close to all the Plazas. We never felt insecure or uncomfortable at all.

They were also quite helpful in calling ahead to the other Casa to confirm our reservation. On our last day we were leaving at 6.30pm and they let us continue to use the room at no additional charge until our departure.

The helpers at the Casa are also very friendly and one even offered to do our laundry. The taxi driver who met us is Carlos and he is a genuine guy. We hired him to take us around for a few hours to the Basilica and Morro Castle and although he does not speak much English we had a wonderful time. He even took us to a lovely local restaurant with great food and prices. He is a friend of Raul and Kathy's so easy to find.

Thank you Raul and Kathy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobagomagik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed with Raul and Kathy on two occasions. The hosts are very helpful and friendly, and the staff equally so. Even with four rooms available, the casa did not seem overrun. The rooftop patio is divided up a bit, giving lots of privacy. Kathy was very helpful in calling ahead to inform other casas on our arrival, and did a wonderful job on the vegetarian dinners. A lot of casas in cuba consider a vegetarian dinner to be salad with eggs, but Kathy prepared meals that were among the best vegetarian dishes we've had in cuba.
The rooms are nice and quiet, and dark enough to allow for a sleep-in. The casa itself is spotless, and the terrace provides a nice place to relax a while in the afternoon.
If we return to Santiago de Cuba, we will definitely be trying to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyZeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

When we arrived, Casa Raul was already full but within a few minutes Raul had organized a place for us to stay for the night. The next day we could move in at Casa Raul and stay there for the rest of our stay in Santiago. The room was very big and clean and the casa is located quite close to the city centre with its interesting attractions. We had dinner two times on the terrace with a beautiful view of the city and the food was among the best we had during our trip around Cuba. We highly recommend to stay at Casa Raul if you plan visiting Santiago!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ditte_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Excellent location two blocks from Plaza de Marte, 2 minutes-walk to Plaza de Dolores and 5 minutes-walk from Parque Céspedes. This house is really at the heart of Santiago and its vibrant cultural, artistic life yet the air-conditioned rooms are very quiet and allow for a perfect rest. The rooftop garden/dining/lounge is charming with ferns and other lovely plants all around, nice views and a great place for breakfasts and dinners alike, or just to hang out having a cup of coffee or a drink. Breakfast was really good with fruit, bread, cheese, ham, eggs, juice, coffee and milk. Dinners were very tasty home cooking, comforting and satisfying. The hosts are very helpful with all your queries and offer very good advice. All in all, we had a very pleasant 2-week stay at Hostal Raúl y Kathy during the "Festival del Caribe".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberto j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Cuba hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#3 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#9 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Encanto
Gran Hotel Encanto
#6 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
47 reviews
0.9 mi away
Islazul Hotel San Juan
Islazul Hotel San Juan
#12 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Raul Y Kathy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Raul Y Kathy

Property: Hostal Raul Y Kathy
Address: Heredia | Heredia # 610 ½ Marte y Paraíso, Santiago de Cuba 90100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Santiago de Cuba
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House located in the heart of Santiago de Cuba, just 60 meters from the Plaza de Marte and 250m Céspedes Park, a marriage of Santiago are professionals and we rented 4 rooms airy, spacious and air conditioned. Each room has a double and single bed, private bathroom, hot and cold water, minibar, air conditioning, tv, electricity 110V and 220V, and one room has a pantry. The house also has a pleasant terrace where you can see much of the city of Santiago de Cuba and becomes an ideal oasis to find quiet to read, relax and share with family and friends in the central location of the house. Optional services are offered breakfast and dinner where you can taste the typical Cuban dishes. Also Spanish courses, dance, etc are managed. The ability to cash them to wait in the airport and bus terminals, plus communicating in English is provided. The house is very accessible by their position to the main shopping centers, exchange offices, banks, museums, historic and cultural attractions and night clubs, being our premise Safety and Comfort, that guarantee an unforgettable holiday in Santiago de Cuba. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Raul Y Kathy Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing