We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful hosts, so good food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Cuba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Raul Y Kathy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

When we arrived, Casa Raul was already full but within a few minutes Raul had organized a place for us to stay for the night. The next day we could move in at Casa Raul and stay there for the rest of our stay in Santiago. The room was very big and clean and the casa is located quite close to the city centre with its interesting attractions. We had dinner two times on the terrace with a beautiful view of the city and the food was among the best we had during our trip around Cuba. We highly recommend to stay at Casa Raul if you plan visiting Santiago!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ditte_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Raul Y Kathy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 111 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Excellent location two blocks from Plaza de Marte, 2 minutes-walk to Plaza de Dolores and 5 minutes-walk from Parque Céspedes. This house is really at the heart of Santiago and its vibrant cultural, artistic life yet the air-conditioned rooms are very quiet and allow for a perfect rest. The rooftop garden/dining/lounge is charming with ferns and other lovely plants all around, nice views and a great place for breakfasts and dinners alike, or just to hang out having a cup of coffee or a drink. Breakfast was really good with fruit, bread, cheese, ham, eggs, juice, coffee and milk. Dinners were very tasty home cooking, comforting and satisfying. The hosts are very helpful with all your queries and offer very good advice. All in all, we had a very pleasant 2-week stay at Hostal Raúl y Kathy during the "Festival del Caribe".

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roberto j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hostal is situated not far from the center and Plaza de Marte, where you can find cheap taxies for airport and so on. And that we recommend. All sights, however, are situated in walking distance.There are two main roads nearby, and the trafic was very heavy in the morning. The hosts were very friendly and extremely helpful. Raul speaks english. The breakfast was good and varied. We had dinner twice - very fine.
The security is very high and we felt very safe.
We had a very nice room with all facilities and well equipped. The room and the bathroom had a high standard.
Our room had a balcony wih a view over the roofs of the old town. On the top of the house we enjoyed our good meals on a lovely rooftop terrace with a magnificent view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenA746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This casa is located straight at the Heredia street, close to the historical center. We stayed two nights in this casa. Room was without window and this is the reason why my rating is "average". Kathy is very nice lady and prepare very good fish - I recommend to try it. Meal is served on the terrace with very nice view at Santiago and Grand Piedro.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna_and_Lubos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had an amazing stay in this casa. It was really special for us because after our engagement in Santiago we stayed here. In total we stayed 5 nights because we came back two times. It felt really as coming home because of the hospitality of Raul and Kathy. We stayed in 3 different rooms in our 3 stays which all were spacious with nice bathrooms and hot and cold water.

The food was really good. I loved the breakfasts with fresh juices, fruits, omelet and breads. We also had some nice dinners with soup, a lot of vegetables and my favorite dish was the chicken version.

Room Tip: de achterste kamer bovenin met het eigen balkonnetje was de mooiste van de 3 kamers.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariëlle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank phnijman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lang944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santiago de Cuba hotels
0.1 mi away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#10 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
1,311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba
Villa Gaviota Santiago de Cuba
#9 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#3 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Girasol
Hostal Girasol
#1 of 44 in Santiago de Cuba
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Raul Y Kathy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Raul Y Kathy

Address: Heredia | Heredia # 610 ½ Marte y Paraíso, Santiago de Cuba 90100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Santiago de Cuba
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House located in the heart of Santiago de Cuba, just 60 meters from the Plaza de Marte and 250m Céspedes Park, a marriage of Santiago are professionals and we rented 4 rooms airy, spacious and air conditioned. Each room has a double and single bed, private bathroom, hot and cold water, minibar, air conditioning, tv, electricity 110V and 220V, and one room has a pantry. The house also has a pleasant terrace where you can see much of the city of Santiago de Cuba and becomes an ideal oasis to find quiet to read, relax and share with family and friends in the central location of the house. Optional services are offered breakfast and dinner where you can taste the typical Cuban dishes. Also Spanish courses, dance, etc are managed. The ability to cash them to wait in the airport and bus terminals, plus communicating in English is provided. The house is very accessible by their position to the main shopping centers, exchange offices, banks, museums, historic and cultural attractions and night clubs, being our premise Safety and Comfort, that guarantee an unforgettable holiday in Santiago de Cuba. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Raul Y Kathy Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing