We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel that is well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Modern hotel that is well maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Melia Santiago de Cuba is a modern hotel with some distance to the old town. Hotel is clean, spacious and clearly well maintained. Rooms are spacious and modern, no complains there. Bathroom is well functioning also. Pool area is pretty nice. Breakfast and dinner buffet had both lots of choices and food quality was good. Wine selection is OK, at least on Cuban level. There is a drink bar / night club on high floors that has a great view over Santiago de Cuba. Unfortunately this one is only open after sunset, so now possibility to check views at daylight. There is also good lobby bar downstairs. All bars had happy hour offer of two drinks with price of one. It is a good idea to buy your water bottles from the small restaurant that is just opposite of the hotel when you cross the street. This hotel is a good base to see around the city and also spend some time at the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Jari V:
We would like in the first place to thank you for sharing your comments in this special web site for those who have travelled or are about to. It was very rewarding to read your description of our services, in which there is an evident satisfaction as a result of our usual endeavours to please our guests.
Good to know you enjoyed of the delicious water from our pools and the shades down the palm trees. It is undoubtedly a privilege after the long trips and great visits around the city. And concerning our Bello Bar, we have the great news that it is opening at 5.30 PM, at daylight and offering the best opportunity to get those exclusive photos that we want to show our family and friends when we return to our homeland.
We hope you will find the time to visit us again, one more time thanks for your kind review.
Best regards,
Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    584
    169
    41
    14
See reviews for
153
577
82
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it was one of the nicest we had stayed in in Cuba for a full facility hotel. The rooms were modern and clean with nice big bathrooms. It is about a 10 or 15 minute cab ride from the heart of the city which was fine with us. The 2 outdoor pools were lovely and lots of lounge chairs to sit on. The main restaurant was also one of the best we experienced in Cuba with lots of choice of dishes and they even had a piano player during meal times. There was also an outdoor area where you could sit and have breakfast or lunch. We also had a pizza at the Italian restaurant down by the pool and it was very good. There was a nice lobby bar to sit and relax in and have a drink. I would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in Santiago de Cuba.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gayle6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Gayle6769:
We are very pleased to receive such comments. Thank you for sharing the wonderful experiences you had in our hotel. We are very glad you could enjoy all of our facilities and our services.
Every part of the hotel is just the perfect intention to comfort our clients. It is very rewarding to receive comments like yours just because we do try hard to make our clients feel at home.
Again, we are grateful for your recommendations and we will be very happy if you ever choose the Meliá Santiago de Cuba Hotel for your next vacations.
Best Regards,
Osacr Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We only stayed one night as we were travelling throughout Cuba. Large rooms. Friendly staff and the pizza at the Italian restaurant was very good, as was the service. Location not the best if staying for a few days as it is a far from the inner city. Great breakfast! Almost too much choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbiesmom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Herbiesmom55:
It has been a great pleasure to receive your review and we are all very happy to know that your stay with us was so nice.
We are pleased as well by the fact that you enjoyed very much our pizzas at La Fontana restaurant and that our staff made very special your short stay in our facility.
Thanks for your opinion about our varied breakfast and large rooms. Our hotel, though not located in the very heart of the inner city, has amazing historical and cultural places around. Besides, the quiet environment of the surroundings, allow our guests to enjoy of really peaceful and relaxing days.
We will be expecting for a longer stay with us in the coming future,
Regards,
Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in this hotel over New Year 2013/2014 for 2 days. From the outside this is a very ugly beton block, pretty far away from the inner city. That is a disadvantage on New Years, where you really don't get taxis easily.
The very personal difference for me made their 24/7 medical care on site (room 311 if I remember right): I went there because of my tremendously swollen legs. Not only did I get excellent advice and treatment, also did I come home that night and she had the room staff lift the mattress at the bottom.
The 'Gala Dinner' on the 31st was less recommendable. It does have loads of food and great choice, but that is it. Not a lot of atmosphere. It is much more recommendable to party with the locals in the street ,-)

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReisendeJutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Ms. ReisendeJutta:
We have received your review with joy and are thankful for your words to describe our special care when you suffered from swollen legs. We have already passed your message of gratitude to our medical services and hope you have recovered and feel much better at present.
We would like to point out that our hotel is only two kilometres away from the inner city and with the advantage of having very nice interesting places nearby such as The Revolution Square, The Heredia Theatre, San Juan Hill, La Maison night club, The Cuartel Moncada garrison and a wide range of restaurants and bars.
We have already taken note of your perceptions related to our Gala Dinner, and will work harder to be able to impress our guests in such a way that they will keep trusting in our Meliá Santiago, feeling the magic of every single occasion.
Hoping you evaluate very soon the possibility of coming back again,
Best regards,
Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly staff. Very large pool and a good gym, fairly good food ( avoid the " gastronomic" restaurant, it's not....) . The location is not great, you need a taxi to go to the beautiful town.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank david11223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Mr. David11223:
We appreciate very much your review and are very happy you enjoyed of a really nice stay among us. One of the aspects that our guests praise the most in our hotel is the attitude and friendliness of our staff. We are very proud of it and hope that this special attribute will make you decide for us again.
The location of our hotel has its positive advantages and very beautiful surroundings. There are many historical and cultural places around and it is only 15 minutes away from the centre of the town. Thanks for mentioning the comfortable and large pool area and the gym services, they are definitely well known for its unique quality.
We hope you give us a second chance to be not only good, but great.
Sincerely,
Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orinda
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This hotel was more like an middle to higher end US hotel. Spacious, modern, well equipped rooms and several restaurants and pools. The only negative about the hotel itself was that the pool closed at 7pm. Also the hotel was away from the center of town, so it was a 3-4 CUC cab ride to Plaza Marti or Plaza Cespedes. The hotels nearer that area looked older, so it is a trade off. If you don't want to be in the heart of the city, I would definitely recommend the Melia.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Ms. Misty075:

We are, indeed, very grateful that you can share your opinions and experiences of your stay in our hotel. We do work very hard to make our clients feel satisfied so that they always remember the hotel’s premises and the staff’s service. There is no comparison with the special 30 minutes walk downtown once you get out of the Hotel through the Garzon Avenue with the harmony of part of the architecture and the high buildings that say much more once you visit them.

We are taking your opinion about the pool as a recommendation, though we would like to point out that this area officially closes at 8.00 PM.

We hope you can take advantage any other time and come back to the Melia Santiago de Cuba Hotel to enjoy our facilities.

Looking forward to meeting you, sometime.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a modern, international style hotel - it has very little to do with Cuba, but it offers superb reception service; clean, if somewhat tired, rooms and several good eating options.
One of our party of four, was unwell on the second morning; the staff could not have been more helpful - even preparing special food on the instruction of the house doctor. He and his wife were transferred to a suite as he was confined to the hotel for 48hrs. It had recently been refurbished and would suggest that when the rest of the hotel is redecorated, it really will be 5*
The roof top bar with generous 'happy hour' is great if you wish to sit outside - the black interior is a little like the disco that time forgot. Breakfast is superb. The two restaurants we tried were very adequate if a little short on atmosphere and style; not helped by we four being the only clients on both occasions. Stick to fairly basic meals that need to be freshly cooked - I think the three dishes we tried in the Gourmet Restaurant, with sauces, were possibly reheated, however that would be my advice in most hotels. The Italian Restaurant was a little better although many of our chosen dishes were off - this would suggest that these were, if available, freshly prepared.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portcred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director G, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Portcred:

It was very nice to receive your comments related to our services and specially your perceptions about the humanity of the staff when dealing with sick people and special situations. Santiago de Cuba is well known in the world for the hospitality of its people and we should pay honour to this big truth.

Thanks for mentioning our delicious Happy Hour; it is really a party where our guests have the opportunity to enjoy the magic of the Caribbean with amazing salsa lessons and tasty cocktails.

Thanks for your time and for your tips. We hope to have you back with us pretty soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
476.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
37.8 mi away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#6 of 10 in Holguin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#2 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
474.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
475.5 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,519 reviews
23.7 mi away
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
#4 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Santiago de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Santiago de Cuba

Property: Melia Santiago de Cuba
Address: Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Santiago de Cuba 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Santiago de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santiago De Cuba Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Santiago De Cuba Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing