We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights with an organized tour and loved every minute of it!
Especially as it came after a disappointing stay in Havana.
The hotel looks nice and airy and well lit, with beautiful public spaces and good housekeeping.
Air conditioning run well, the room was spacious and nicely decorated.
Loaction not the best, one still needs some kind of transportation to get out.
Dining hall was good, with a reasonable choice by Cuban standards,
Haven't been to other horels in the city, but it certainly is a very good choice!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Mr. / Mrs.
It feels great when our clients enjoy every minute in our hotel. That is our major goal and that is the reason we work for every second. That is why your opinion is so important for us. It is the way we can evaluate whether we are providing our clients exactly what they are expecting.
The hotel is located where clients can breathe the fresh air of a nice swimming pool area after the long journeys during the day. It is also so close to important places in the city like the main theatre, the stadium, the fashion design house, the main cabaret Tropicana Santiago, and other outstanding restaurants, cafeterias and car rental services.
We deeply appreciate your words to describe our hotel and will be waiting for the opportunity to have you back with us again.
Best regards,
Ignacio Morcillo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

The girl at the reception was one of the most nice and polite person we met in Cuba. The service was great and she was everytime available for requests and questions. The hotel itself seems to be an oasis in the middle of a caotic city. The room was very good, the food great, the pool nice and the bar at the roof top was every evening an event. We had a very good time and would book the Melia Santiago again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pasci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Mr. / Mrs.

We are grateful for your beautiful words to describe our personnel and services. It is the result of the everyday effort of a team very well focused on the clients’ needs and expectations.

It is an honour for us to know that you would be back in our hotel again in the future. We would like, in that case, that you contact with us in advance to be able to greet one more of our distinguished hotel friends.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Morcillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Probably the best big hotel we stayed in while touring Cuba. Rooms, food etc all OK. Liked the magician in the evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tayportfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Mr. /Mrs.

Thanks for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay in our hotel and our city. It is as well rewarding to hear you had a great time with the magician during the recreation activities.

We would be pleased if you decide to visit us again. In that case do not doubt to contact us.

Best Regards,

Ignacio Morcillo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Officially a 5 star, this is a european 4 star.
The best hotel of the many I stayed in Cuba, and apparently the best in Santiago.
Not too far from the centre.
Good rooms, higher rooms have a great view.
Excellent breakfast with music too.
Some nice bars but no-one in them!
Good service and no complaints

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schnorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear Mr. / Mrs:

We appreciate very much your comments and hope to have the pleasure of a future visit to our facility. As you very well remark we have a great variety in our buffet breakfast while the pianist plays the lyrics of outstanding Cuban and international composers. The terrace, at the end of the restaurant, is as well a nice place to enjoy the sunshine and the fresh early morning breeze while having a cup of coffee.

Best regards,

Ignacio Morcillo
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Melia Santiago is the best of a (frankly undistinguished) bunch of hotels in Cuba's second city and the capital of Cuba's Caribbean coast. Its a tall building, a real landmark in Santiago and visible from afar. Excellent management as one would expect from the Spanish hotel chain Melia. Comfortable rooms, nice lobby bar. There is internet available but only in public areas unless you purchase the more expensive Royal Service. As with other Cuban hotels internet charges are high and the speed of the connection can be maddeningly slow. The hotel is located a fair distance from the old historic centre but one could walk there if exercise was on the menu. Contrary to the views of some other posters Santiago de Cuba is well worth a good 3-4 )day stay. The city itself has fascinating museums (Moncada Barracks Museum and the Carnival Museum are especially good) and the city is a good base for visits to the Basilica de la Virgen del Cobre as well as the Morro castle with its excellent museum displays on corsairs, pirates and privateers as well as fabulous views over the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MelbourneOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Mr./Mrs.

We appreciate very much your words to describe our city and our hotel. Santiago de Cuba is definitely worth to visit. There are interesting historical and cultural places and the people are friendly and special. However, the best places to relax after the different tours that you have mentioned are our pools, Lobby or any of our comfortable rooms.

One more time thanks for your time to share your experience in our facility and we will be pleased to have you with us in the future.

Best regards,

Ignacio Morcillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Clean, comfortable, and relaxing - our junior suite had large windows looking out from the 7th floor - even the bathroom had windows above the tub! The staff is very accomodating, the buffet breakfast has so much to choose from and it's in a large, very lovely dining room with live piano (mostly classical, perfect for early morning listening). Our favorite lunch/dinner meals were at the Italian restaurant just off the lobby. We enjoyed the pool area, and the lobby bar is very comfortable - try to see/hear Nora Mirsy, she is excellent! We especially appreciated the Customer Service Assistance we received from Yadira Forgas - she's an asset to the hotel! Can't wait for a return trip, perhaps this winter.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a sweeping view of the city; suites are roomy, especially the bathrooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio M, Director General at Melia Santiago de Cuba, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Mr./ Mrs.

Delightful way to describe our services!

Many thanks for your kind words and we are the ones who feel pleased to have provided such an excellent attention.

You have, then, our commitment to keep the same line we have followed until the moment, always listening very carefully to our clients’ suggestions and comments.

We will be looking forward to see you this winter in our hotel. It will for sure another “wonderful experience”.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Morcillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

On our 15 day tour of Cuba this hotel was the best hotel we stayed in.
Very comfortable rooms; plenty of seating in the restaurant, with piano accompaniment; great choice and good quality food; really efficient shower; good pool/garden area, where there was shade available; efficient, helpful and friendly staff; 2 different happy hours at 2 bars (so you can have a happy 2 hours). The location is walking distance to the Plaza de la Revolucion and an easy distance to see the sights.
Just have patience with the lifts, which seem to have a memory and take you back to floors you've already visited!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scallyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
1.2 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#3 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
166 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Versalles
Hotel Versalles
#5 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
143 reviews
476.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
475.5 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,776 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
#7 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
Club Amigo Carisol Los Corales
#4 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Santiago de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Santiago de Cuba

Address: Calle M y Avenida de las Americas | Reparto Sueno, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range: $151 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Santiago de Cuba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Santiago de Cuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Santiago De Cuba Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Santiago De Cuba Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing