We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food choice in Santiago”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Barracon

El Barracon
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
300 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best food choice in Santiago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Assuming you venture out of the historic center of the city, this will be the best food you will have found in the otherwise humdrum options of what could possibly be a culinary center. Besides being inexpensive, a few items really stand out, particularly the 'house specialty' lamb dish, where even finding lamb on a menu was extravagant. Amazingly, except for patagonian cordero in southern argentina, I have not had better. Even if the usual issue of lots of menu items not being actually available does limit the place, very few places in cuba are ever really exempt from this, especially if state owned. Give it a chance, and I doubt you will be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oddholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tasty food, interesting atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The theme of this restaurant is "Santiago's unique local history" according to the servers. The dining room is set up to look like a "barracon," or the slave barracks on a sugar plantation. Paintings on the walls depict scenes from plantation life, and there are rough hewn wooden tables and fake bats, rats, and spiderwebs in the rafters. The rather odd theme of the good ole days on the plantation does not seem to offend my Cuban friends, black or white. For locals el Barracon is often among their favorite almost-affordable CUC restaurants. For North Americans, a restaurant with a "life on the plantation" theme may strike an odd chord. Anyway, the featured cuisine is a version of eastern Cuban "soul food". The usual chicken, fish, and pork, but with a little extra spice and some herbs. There's a nice chicken with olives in sauce. The highlighted cocktail is the "canchanchara" -- rum, lemon, and honey over ice. Delicious. This is an open air restaurant located on a main thoroughfare (Avenida Garzon across from diciocho plantas a tall apartment complex and not far from Santiago's Coppelia) a good walk from the more heavily touristed spots around Parque Dolores and Parque Cespedes. Better food for a lower price.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grete V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Long menu but no choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We watched the saturday carnival from here. menu looked promising, but we received the typical response in cuba. the only thing we have is ...
When it arrived it was very tasty though, and good value.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The dinner was poor and old, we are not feel good in two days, when we feels better, we take the dinner at Martin and Gisel house, and was the most good dinner that I can had.If you can find the place its Casa Yisel or Martin y Gisel, you can find in Lonely planet by Casa Yisel or here in tripadvisor like Hostal Martin and Gisel.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cuba si!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The food was amazing and the location great. Price...unbelievable.
My one and only mojito in cuba was here and it was perfect!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kariss s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Barracon also viewed

Santiago de Cuba, Santiago de Cuba Province
Santiago de Cuba, Santiago de Cuba Province
 
Santiago de Cuba, Santiago de Cuba Province
Santiago de Cuba, Santiago de Cuba Province
 
Santiago de Cuba, Santiago de Cuba Province
Santiago de Cuba, Santiago de Cuba Province
 

Been to El Barracon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing