We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good place to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Granda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa Granda
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Amersfoort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good place to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Reading the latest reviews about this hotel just before heading of to Cuba our expectations were rather low, but this turned out to be wrong. The staff was very friendly and helpful, our room was comfortable and clean. One night we had a simple meal downstairs on the terrace, which was much cheaper and better than the one at a paladar we had the day before. Only with regards to the breakfast we had the same experience as other visitors: it is not good indeed, but this is compensated by the location on the roof top terrace.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HST_Amersfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    179
    122
    45
    41
See reviews for
49
181
51
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

We were sooooo disappointed with this hotel, I don't know where to begin from! The only good thing is the location, BUT it is not worth it.
The hotel from the outside is beautiful and if it was maintained properly it would be worthwhile.
However, it is dirty, the corridors were uncleaned in the corners for ages, gum remains were stuck in the floors - in our room too.
In the room, in the bathtub we also found hair. The room was noisy - even while it was one of the inside ones.
The elevator was out of function for the three days we stayed there and we had a room in the 4th floor. The famous roof top restaurant was closed - probably because the elevator didn't work.
We arrived at about 20.30 and after visiting our room we tried to find somewhere to eat - nothing! The hotel said the restaurant was closed - before 22.00 and were not able to prepare even a sandwich or a toast for us! And around the neighbourhood we couldn't find anything, just some people telling us to go to their houses to eat...
In the next morning, the breakfasta was served in the bar-cafeteria at the plaza level - good place to drink a coffee watching people go by - and although there was variety, we were SO DISGUSTED because the food was not covered and there were lots of flies everywhere, touching the food. I was so hungry because we hadn't managed to eat the previous night and so I tried to pick from the baskets the food that was not so exposed and had been missed by the flies.
Terrible....
The only good thing I can mention is the prices - we had a snack for lunch and the band playing then, and also the girl working in the bar-cafeteria in the mornings and the barman at night which were both friendly and helpful. The other staff was not friendly, they seem really bored and lazy.
I would NEVER go back there, and for that matter, I would not go to Santiago De Cuba again too, maybe only for a night stop-over for Baracoa...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NasDim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santiago de Cuba hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We chose this hotel as it seemed to have some character and was in an excellent location,which it is,but it was quite disappointing.
The breakfast was dreadful,probably the worst we've ever had with the cook smoking while cooking eggs!! We were glad we didn't eat here at night,we did have some reasonable meals with friendly service in the town itself.
Santiago de Cuba is not for the faint-hearted,but as lomg as you watch what you order and check your change it can be an interesting night out.
The hotel bar is an excellent place to watch the crowds and bands in the main square.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaffyapplesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofstade, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights and it was awful : unfriendly staff, lift out of order, bad smell in the room, really a very old fashioned hotel which probably deserved 4* ages ago.
We booked half board and we had to eat in the area of the café - a lot a traffic passing the hotel.
Only positive remark is the location...
Good advice : don't go there !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris_nissens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

For a four star hotel this doesn't come close to the mark. The staff are (uncharacteristically for Cuba) unfriendly and the food is really bad. The lift was out of order for the 3 days I was there which meant that the fifth floor terrace was off limits, and that you had to walk up and down to the rooms. The building itself is beautiful, or was in 1915, but is in disrepair, including in the rooms. My room was dark, even with the lights on, pokey and the bathroom floor, bath, basin, and bench were all so chipped and stained as to be unpleasant to use. Towels grey. Water on the floor in the bathroom that I suspected came from the toilet somehow. It rained or threatened rain on the days I was there so there was no laundry service available for the 3 days as the hotel doesn't have washing and drying machines, or so I was told. When it rained large common areas of the hotel leaked a lot. Not my room luckily! Try a casa particular in this city.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotshallot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

I first stayed in this hotel in 2002, was there again in 2004, 2005, and 2007. I could sense a decline during the 5 years as economic condtions got tougher.

The Casa Grande is still charming, the rooftop dining area is a definite plus, the terrace on upper ground floor is brilliant for people watching. The sounds and sights are great - not a place for peace and quiet. I have had different rooms during my various stays, was upgraded to a junior suite for and extra $10 once - well worth it.
The b&b basis is best option as dining here can be lonely at times... there are better places in town or with locals. I liked the security and the cleanliness here.
Always made a point to visit and stay while in Santiago de Cuba (but no more than 3 days). Its a good base to explore town take trips, go to the mountains, beach and for those that know their Cuban history well then it makes sense to stay here with great history right on the doorstep and in the nearby locality. It is more than 3 years since I was there - but these are my abbiding impressions.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPCD11RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibara, Cuba
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

I have only thus far spent one night at this hotel but countless times on its famous terrace or rooftop restaurant.

EL BUENO - this hotel has Santiago's most famous terrace overlooking Santiago's most famous square.
- also a rooftop restaurant/patio with a great view looking towards the bay.
- definitely in one of Santiago's best tourist locations.
- on calle Heredia you will find many art street vendors & the famous Casa de la Trova for live music day & night. A 5 minute walk up calle Aguilera and you will be at Plaza Delores. 5 more minutes and you will at Plaza de Marte.
- also close by is Casa de la Musica and a few other bars & restaurants.
- the hotel has more 2 or 3 computers for internet access. There is also a shop at street level under the Cathedral solely for internet access.
- the room was furnished well. You can see this hotel, the view from the terrace and one of the rooms in the video "Voyage Santiago de Cuba" on www.youtube.com starting at the 11 second mark and ending at 33 seconds.
- as close to old historic charm in Santiago as you will get.
- this hotel has another restaurant on the lobby level. While having a drink on the terrace you can also order food there.
- hotel security seems safe here, also with many police around this area.

EL MALO - for all that this hotel has to offer, you're going to definitely have to pay for it. Rooms here are near 3 times the price of the small but similar- styled hotel Libertad.
- the rooftop restaurant is great for atmosphere but also costly compared to other Santiago restaurants I've been to. The food as you can expect in Cuba isn't so special either.
- my room facing parque Cespedes was loud all night from action in the park below.
- just like hotels Las Americas & Libertad, you are not able to book package deals to this hotel. At least not from Canada.

PENSAMIENTOS - good to try the experience of a night or two here if you want to splurge.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — late-night noise
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CubanWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
1.3 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Basilio Hotel
San Basilio Hotel
#2 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#9 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
#8 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Encanto
Gran Hotel Encanto
#6 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
38.4 mi away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#7 of 10 in Holguin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Granda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Granda

Property: Hotel Casa Granda
Address: Heredia No. 201 | entre San Pedro y San Felix, Santiago de Cuba 90200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa Granda 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Granda Hotel is a 4 stars hotel located in an unique and privileged side od the city, in the historical center of the city Santiago de Cuba. Right in front of Cespedes Park, rises the Casa Granda Hotel since 1914, and from its Bar Mirador "Roof Garden", a landmark for those who visit our city, you can appreciate exceptional panoramic views of the city and its bay. Near from numerous placer of cultural, historical and touristic value, such as The House of Trova, Diego Velazquez Museum, and the Cathedral; aspects that make Hotel Casa Granda the best choice for those who wish to enjoy a caribbean vacations at the city of Santiago de Cuba, close to history and culture, in the very heart of the Capital of the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Granda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Granda Hotel Santiago De Cuba
Casa Granda Santiago De Cuba
Hotel Casa Granda Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing