We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really small, welcoming and so friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of San Basilio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Basilio Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Really small, welcoming and so friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

There are just 8 rooms and it always seemed full, so book in advance? All the staff from the cleaner to reception were all so friendly. They only do breakfast as a meal, and of the 5 places we stayed on our recent visit to Cuba, this was the only place where breakfast was served to you at your table. There wasn't a lot of choice (choice of the way you like eggs), but it was filling. Rooms go off 2 tiled and shady courtyards. There are seats here and rocking chairs in reception should you need to relax! Our room was dark as we kept the shutters closed (our choice), but there was plenty of storage and the bathroom was a good size with plenty of toiletries. There are plenty of places to eat (and drink) nearby within very easy walking distance.

Room Tip: 2 rooms face out on to the front street which may be noisier, so don't go for those if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    68
    15
    8
    10
See reviews for
17
95
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. Staff were always helpful; yes the neighbouring music was loud at times during the evening but use earplugs or just get so tired with the heat and walking during the day/night that you can sleep through anything! Really conveniently located one block from a lively part of town. The Artex bar that is around the block behind the hostal had the best music in our 3 weeks in Cuba; a group called Fenix - wonderful voices. Enjoyed our stay. Great entertainment in the square 2 blocks behind the hotel in the evenings. A great History Museum in the square (oldest black building) with a very informative guide. Enjoy Cuba with it's aliveness & fascinating foibles; and wonderful culture & people. Love the way the squares or Plazas are a hive of family activity in the evenings.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Doctorjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We really enjoyed the central location of this small hotel with stunning tiled courtyards. The rooms have high ceilings and have a high level of furnishing. Room 5 and 6 were subject to the amplified music from the night club behind. It as deafening, so beware if you are a light sleeper. We changed rooms and the two of us had to shoe horn into a small double bed as it was fully booked. We got no sleep there either. Reception were very helpful organising various trips.

Room Tip: I don't know which rooms are best. If you are at the back you get music and at the front your ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alisonleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hostal. Perfect location, easy to park outside, spotlessly clean and large cool rooms. But the noise from the neighbouring club is deafening - beware if you are a light sleeper or need an early night!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maldon essex
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very disappointed in hotel, not what we expected at all.

Avoid room 4 at all costs. What we are about to say is all true. Wardrobe door kept falling off. No hot water at all in shower in mornings. Toilet cistern handle broke. Air con very very noist. TV never worked.

We were moved to another room which was better, but not much.

One of the main problems was a jazz club situated right behnid the hotel with music till 1pm. We heard other guests complaining about the noise, so beware if you are a light sleeper.

I was mugged with my handbag stolen less than 50 metres from the hotel. I realise this is not the fault of the hotel but guests have to know that the safest way back to the hotel after 10pm is by taxi (we were told that after 10pm it is dangerous to walk around)

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 if you must stay, otherwise go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darkangel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We thought this was a great hotel - lovely old colonial building and well situated, but the best thing about it were the very helpful and pleasant staff. Breakfast was excellent - freshly cooked eggs / toasted sandwich, fruit juice, fresh fruit and endless coffee, what more could you want? Nice clean bathroom although the water supply was a little weak. Santiago is a lovely city, but do be warned, the touts were some of the most persistent and at times nasty we have come across in Cuba - they just don't seem to understand no thanks - you have to be VERY firm to get rid of them, and that is a pity as there are so many lovely people in Cuba too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneandNye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

During our three-night stay here both my husband and I were very ill with D & V. The lovely lady on reception (Magda?), who also cooked breakfast, was endlessly helpful and often asked us if there was anything we needed and offered to call a doctor, make tea or prepare simple food for us. She also helped with phone calls when we could not contact our rep. We were very grateful for her help. As far as the hotel is concerned, it is small - about 8 rooms - and located on what appears to be a back street but is actually only one block from the main drag. We had an L-shaped room as it wrapped round a corner of the patio, but this meant it was a bit small and short of floor space to put our luggage. The bathroom was very large and well appointed. However our main concern was the lack of a safe in the room - the male receptionist who checked us in simply said "the building is safe". In short, a pleasant hotel and, apart from the lack of a safe, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Cuba
1.3 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#9 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Encanto
Gran Hotel Encanto
#6 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
Isazul Hotel Las Americas
#8 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
476.1 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#11 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Basilio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Basilio Hotel

Property: San Basilio Hotel
Address: Calle San Basilio No 403 e/ Ca, Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Santiago de Cuba Province > Santiago de Cuba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Santiago de Cuba
Hotel Class:3 star — San Basilio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your San Basilio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Basilio Hotel Santiago De Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing