We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat in Camaguey”
Review of Restaurant 1800

Restaurant 1800
Ranked #2 of 39 Restaurants in Camaguey
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This classic private restaurant is located in the center of the architectural Church and Hospital of St. John of God. Here you can taste various dishes of Cuban food, made ​​by our Chef Miguel Ricardo; include a variety of tapas, seafood, fish, beef, pork, rabbit, mutton, chicken, etc.. We also have a vegetarian menu and a cocktail menu.We offer 10 % off if you make ONLINE reservations in our official website!
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Camaguey”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Merely open for a year, this place has the quality like it's been around for decades. After you have chosen a main dish from the menu, you can choose from a wide variety of appetizers, side dishes and deserts from the tasty and extensive buffet, all very fresh and tasteful. Hopefully this place retains its price-quality ratio and charm when it gets picked up by the travel guidebooks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rik-1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    119
    45
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An oasis of quality in a sea of mediocrity”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Situated in Plaza San Juan de Dios, this was a wonderful find. The restaurant is very attractive with both inside and outside seating areas. There is a buffet option with a surprising (for Cuba) array of dishes, alongside an a la carte menu.

Service is excellent, led by the owner Edel who has travelled outside Cuba and has learned not only what to do when running a restaurant, but how to do it well.

We are sure this enterprise will succeed and would definitely recommend it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JePaRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
223 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a very busy restaurant. Our guide tried to take us to one over the road that was almost deserted. On the basis of popularity we chose this one. We were glad we did. Food was very good and an amazing collection of wine in a strange cellar - like a glasshouse sunk into the level below.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiggerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
347 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Be sure to reserve a table here. Incredible food and soooo reasonable!! For CUC12, you get a buffet starter (all you can eat salads and meats etc), a main course, and a buffet dessert. Beautiful setting and atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanMerrins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic Variety”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A large group of us went to this restaurant. A varied menu that provided better than average food (for Cuba). Self service starters, side dishes and deserts speeded up service and enabled a good range of the food on offer to be tasted. It was nice to have a range of salad items to choose from, escaping from the ubiqitous cabbage, tomato and cucumber... even satifying my thirst for olives. If deserts are your thing, then you may be dissapointed. There is a seemingly large range but nothing that really stands out.

The usual range of beers (Crystal and Bucanero) and assorted rum cocktails were available to accompany the meal.

Service was OK, but as it was mainly limited to drinks and main course, the waiter was not overstretched and possibly had time to be a bit more attentive.

Booking seems to be essential, and I did find the people hanging around outside the retaurant (we were near the main entrance) a bit intrusive when they stood by our table having shuffled through the door.

In summary - wider choice than anywhere else we ate in Cuba, good decor and packed. Definately worth visiting... but more memorable food can ofter be had at one of the small b&b restaurants - and there you'll get to visit the kitchen and shake hands with the chef!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phlute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 1800 also viewed

Camaguey, Camaguey Province
Camaguey, Camaguey Province
 
Camaguey, Camaguey Province
Camaguey, Camaguey Province
 
Camaguey, Camaguey Province
Camaguey, Camaguey Province
 

Been to Restaurant 1800? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing