We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Hotel, Down on its Luck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Islazul Hotel Plaza
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Reviewed April 13, 2012

You can tell this used to be a great hotel, but that was probably 80 years ago. These days it's a little seedy, a little rundown, and not up to first world standards. Food is as bland as elsewhere in Cuba, but plentiful. Water is not safe to drink. The elevator is for baggage only. Expect to climb stairs. No Internet access of any kind. Still it's clean, air conditioned, and central (not that central Camaguey is a major tourist destination). There seem to be better hotels in Camaguey, but if you have to be here, this hotel suffices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Islazul Hotel Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 62 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed a part night waiting for a plane as part of a sunwing tour. It is not a place for a good nights sleep for sure as the train whistle does blow on a regular basis. The place had a decent buffet meal and our room was okay with 2 small beds and appeared rather clean and everything worked not much different than the resort we stayed at. Lots of people hanging around the train station but did not appear to be causing any problems. I stood around outside for awhile giving away some clothing items I had to people who appeared to need them the most. I did not feel threatened in anyway. If you are tired and need a place to lay your head you could likely do much worse.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTMres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Stayed one night while driving across Cuba. Hotel rather worn and run down, but the price wasn't more than a casa, so then I guess it's to be expected. They had satellite with a range of US channels, incl HBO. So good if you want to watch a movie. The location is a bit of a walk away from the city centre, but it is very convenient for the train station (just opposite). If you're having breakfast, try their snack bar/restaurant on the corner: good food and extremely cheap compared to rest of Cuba!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oslostudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Not the best place i stayed on a recent trip to Cuba. The hotel had a seedy atmosphere and we were warned not to go into the all night piano bar after dark, as it's a haunt for local prostitutes. However, two of us (both female, in our 30s) did venture in during the day, assuming it would be alright in daylight. It was dark, with curtains drawn, and was clearly no better by day than by night, although as the prostitutes hadn't arrived yet, the chaps in there were pleased to see us - we got our Tu Kolas and fled!

I agree the water pressure was iffy, but after two days' camping, at least it was hot!

Stayed: March 2009
2  Thank TheBlackWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Not even worth reviewing, do not book yourself and make sure your travel agency doesn't use this hotel as replacement if othere are fully booked

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galvanitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We were on a 10 day flydrive holiday in Cuba. The plaza was by far the worst hotel we encountered. The staff were sullen, The room was very basic and not particularly clean. The food was grim. The hotel itself is dark and seedy and is in a poor location. Parking is on the street outside and you have to pay a guy to mind you car. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

This is the worst situated hotel in Camaguey. It is opposite the train station and the noise from the trains, and outside on the street, is dreadful so don't expect a good night's sleep! Our room was very basic. There were cigarette burns on the bed covers, the dressing table unit had fallen off the wall and was balanced on a stool, the air-con unit was broken, and there was chewing gum on the floor. Breakfast is very basic too.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seajaySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaguey
0.3 mi away
Islazul Hotel Colon
Islazul Hotel Colon
#7 of 11 in Camaguey
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
#3 of 11 in Camaguey
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel E Santa Maria
Hotel E Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Camaguey
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel E El Marques
Hotel E El Marques
#2 of 11 in Camaguey
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel E La Avellaneda
Hotel E La Avellaneda
#5 of 11 in Camaguey
17 reviews
57.4 mi away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islazul Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islazul Hotel Plaza

Address: Calle Van Horne No. 1 e/ Republica y Avellaneda, Camaguey, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Price Range: $38 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Islazul Hotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Islazul Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islazul Hotel Camaguey
Islazul Hotel Plaza Cuba/Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing