We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real old world Cuba”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Islazul Hotel Colon
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camaguey
Reviewed July 16, 2012

What are other reviewers expecting? This is a one star hotel in the back streets of a small town in Cuba. Yes the rooms are tiny and you probably wouldn't want a week there, but the whole place exudes old world charm. Colourful tiling, stained glass windows, real wood and mirrors in the lobby/dining area and a charming shaded courtyard with bar at the back. The food was fine too for this standard of hotel. Handy location for walking round the town and an interesting crumbling railway station just up the road with loads of photo opportunities. Don't be put off by other reviews, give it a go, you might just be charmed too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamNigelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

The rooms were tiny, very basic but adequate if you just need a place to sleep. Avoid the restaurant, we ordered omlettes and they came out raw, we sent them back and they came out raw again and at breakfast the food was covered in flies. Also while I sat at the bar waiting for a drink a cockroach walked along the bar top.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreathnachI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

As said by previous reviewers, rooms were small with very noisy air conditioning. The choice was roast in the heat and try to sleep or be cooler but unable to sleep because of the noise from the air conditioning. The hotel is dramatically different to the 2008 pictures posted here. The restaurant was being refurbished so we had our meals in the front "area/reception" fronting onto the street with the windows and doors open. All the food and tables were covered with flies. We were told this was the best option in Colon by our tour guide! Avoid at all costs!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Grumpyoldman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night during our road trip in Cuba. We chose this hotel because of the location. It is a little difficult to find as the streets are quite narrow and crooked, but it is actually fun to drive through and see the town.

The hotel is very centrally located, but in a quite busy street. Other reviewers have said that they heard the noise from the street, but we found it to be quiet and did not hear noise.
The rooms are small and have high ceilings. The rooms smell strongly of some kind of strong soap/toilet cleaner. The rooms are relatively clean.

We only had breakfast at the hotel which was fine and we sat in the beautiful place in the center of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Situated on the main street in a rural town this hotel is VERY noisy, so don't expect a peaceful stay.
Rooms tiny, poorly maintained and cooled by the noisiest air-conditioning units in the world (don't try to control them.....they're ten feet in the air !)
Very basic and like most smaller Cuban hotels facilities are poor and badly maintained, but there doesn't appear to be an acceptable alternative locally when you're travelling West to East or vice versa
Whatever the holiday company blurb says, don't have high expectations of this place.
Be prepared to share the restaurant with plenty of pesky flies.

Room Tip: there aren't any "good" rooms, sorry to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrucieBEssexBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had an over night stay here and not very impressed. We did have water which is good but it was like staying in a cupboard. The room had a lot of height but in our twin there was so little space we couldn't actually lay the cased down anywhere. No lift which some struggled with (for bags and the bottom of the stairs was so full of bags at breakfast it was a struggle to get through. It was okay for passing through but would want to be based here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sacredcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a little oasis in the centre of this busy noisy city - close to almost everything - 2 blocks to the pedestrian precinct. On the first floor is a nice patio to enjoy drinks. they are in the process of adding a kitchen to adjoin the patio - I'd stay there again. Food good in the restaurant on the ground floor. No elevator, but the stairs are not steep. Rooms are sparse and comfortable and plenty of hot water - hotel has solar heating for water.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you really want a bit more space - but how long do you plan on spending in your room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigger_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaguey
0.2 mi away
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
#3 of 12 in Camaguey
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel E Santa Maria
Hotel E Santa Maria
#1 of 12 in Camaguey
47 reviews
57.5 mi away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel E El Marques
Hotel E El Marques
#2 of 12 in Camaguey
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel E La Sevillana
Hotel E La Sevillana
#4 of 12 in Camaguey
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel E La Avellaneda
Hotel E La Avellaneda
#5 of 12 in Camaguey
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islazul Hotel Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islazul Hotel Colon

Address: Republica 472, Camaguey, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camaguey
Price Range: $75 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Islazul Hotel Colon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Islazul Hotel Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islazul Hotel Camaguey
Islazul Hotel Colon Cuba/Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing