We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“READ CAREFULLY IF YOU HAVE A CAR” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel e Gran Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camaguey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel e Gran Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“READ CAREFULLY IF YOU HAVE A CAR”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

A hotel with an excellent location in the center of Camaguey, with a restaurant on the top floor with great views overlooking the entire city. However, we did have a very serious issue with the hotel staff regarding our rental car. Upon arrival we were asked to leave our the keys to our car at the reception desk and were assured that the hotel staff would handle the parking. As we stayed two nights in Camaguey and did everything by foot, we actually didn't use the car until we left the city two days later. To our surprise when we were brought the car (by Edgar), we first noticed that more than a half of a full tank of gas had disappeared and then that over 300 kilometers had been added on the meter! We asked to speak to the hotel manager who claimed that this had never happened before and was at a loss to explain how this had transpired. Edgar, the man who brought us the car, told us that he didn't have the key with him at all times and left it at the reception desk at night. In any case, at some point our car was used during our stay while in Camaguey-- and 300km plus over a half tank of gas!

*NOTE- The swimming pool is rather small and is open to the general public until 5pm. As a result, don't count on enjoying it until very late afternoon...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SPLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    84
    136
    69
    39
See reviews for
38
174
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
387 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at the hotel one night (luckily) on a group tour.
The hotel is situated in a pedestrian area, so the bus (and cars) cannot drive up to it. Prepare to hoist your luggage.
The hotel looks nice from the outside, and even the lobby is reasonable by Cuban standards, but then it turned out they have no elevator (under re-construction). Luckily we had a room on the first floor, Which doesn't mean much because the dining room is on the top floor (6) and we had to climb anyway.
The room was tiny with no space to open two suitcases. Beds were two separated singles. only good thing was the air conditioning,
Food was OK, nothing special.
They had a program of entertainment which turned out to be not relevant because there were festivities in the town, so they cancelled it.
Bottom line: if this is hotel #3 - they have a very long way to go!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camaguey hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

True; Camagüey is a labyrinth and the hotel isn't the easiest to find, but once you arrive, the hotel looks nice and the lobby is nicely restaurated. The front desk staff looks if they do not really care, and probably don't, which probably explains why they are letting through intimidating touts and jineteras (prostitutes) into the bar. They will walk up to you and offer you their service. I cannot explain how a hotel can let this happen. The top floor restaurant (breakfast buffet is over average) is fine and the room was nice and clean, but our experience at the lobby really left a bitter taste. Would not go to Camagüey again in any case, and certainly not stay at the Gran Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LourensNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

nice hotel but tiny room. It did have a window that we could open (no view) but it did not have any hot water. Maids left trolleys and rubish out in the corridors.
restaurant small but OK. Very good water ballet in hotel pool.
We stayed here as part of a Travelsphere tour - thankfully one night only.

Room Tip: as with most things in Cuba bribery is probably the best way to get a good room if there are any
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakerybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We chose this hotel because of it's location. Do not expect too much ! this hotel is not only state owned like all others but, state run at the same time. Neither expect a warm welcome nor an excellent hospitality. In such a governemental sytem there is no unemployment problem, everybody has a job. You work with all your hart or you pretend to work, you get your salary ! This a brief summary.

I speak spanish that's why I didn't face any communication problem. Please prepare yourself so that you will face the most limited conditions of your Cuban vacation and that will be only one (or max. two) nights. Dark rooms, some smell in rooms, extremely limited access to the lift and a very modest breakfast !

Don't blame anybody neither be upset for anything. Their limits are so.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turkishfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

It is not worth to accommodate if you have other alternatives. If you have room in front of building ( road side) no problem. But others are terrible. Windows were small and above your head level. Impossible to see outside. In bath room hair drier was not working and they did not have spare one. So bring yours together in order not to have similar surprise like me.
Dinner and breakfast -> limited menu but eatable.

Room Tip: Elevator is only for luggage. Ask street side room at 1. or 2.nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EGE1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Postage stamp sized room with a low cot. An ac stuck in a tiny window overlooking a roof. and a bathroom an average person has to turn sideways to enter. Forget it! Not even for one night is this hotel worth staying at.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank veracruzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaguey
0.2 mi away
Islazul Hotel Colon
Islazul Hotel Colon
#6 of 11 in Camaguey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
165.4 mi away
Melia Santiago de Cuba
Melia Santiago de Cuba
#1 of 12 in Santiago de Cuba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
#4 of 11 in Camaguey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel E Santa Maria
Hotel E Santa Maria
#2 of 11 in Camaguey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
170.7 mi away
Jagua Hotel
Jagua Hotel
#2 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
232.3 mi away
Hotel El Castillo
Hotel El Castillo
#1 of 5 in Baracoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel e Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel e Gran Hotel

Property: Hotel e Gran Hotel
Address: Maceo No. 64 e/ General Gomez e Ignacio | Agramonte, Camaguey, Cuba (Formerly Islazul Gran Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Camaguey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Islazul Gran Camaguey
Hotel e Gran Hotel Cuba/Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing