We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly owners”
Review of Casa Caridad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camaguey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Caridad
Ranked #2 of 46 Camaguey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“friendly owners”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

we had to shorten our stay than we reserved (of course we called in advance) but the owners are still very friendly.

unfortunately we had the worst room but the owners were happy to make adjustments to the best they could.

they have a library worth of books and helped arranging pick-up, on-ward transport at a good price etc.

lovely garden!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    46
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
23
125
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Deventer
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Caridad and Jose are very nice people who run a beautiful casa right in the centre of Camaguey. Comfortable rooms with private bathroom and nice garden to relax. Fantastic meals and the best mango juice of Cuba. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is by way of further information to my review above with specific reference to people travelling to Cuba with children.

I have stayed at Casa Caridad many times with my daughter since she was very young and have been very pleased with the consideration and care shown towards her by Caridad and her family. This has been a major factor in my returning there time and again.

The Cubans are known for their love of children and certainly this has been my experience at Casa Caridad. They genuinely seem to enjoy having her there and have gone out of their way to look after her during our visits, catering to her needs as a small child without complaint or indifference.

I initially used to be concerned as she ran about the place playing that it would be an inconvenience and disturb the family but it has always been treated as totally normal without a hint of complaint.

I have no qualms about leaving her in their care should I go out at any time and am grateful for the peace of mind their acceptance of her gives me.

Anyone with a family visiting Camaguey should seriously consider stopping at Casa Caridad.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank davidfromlondon1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

With a number-one-rating on tripadvisor I was looking forward to my stay at Casa Caridad. My cheerfulness got dragged down a bit by the gloomy room I got at the casa with little space and odd bathroom. Checking the pics I get the impression I got the worst room. But breakfast was tasty and filling. Since I had to leave early I got two sandwiches wrapped up to take away along with all the yummy bananas I had not yet finished.

The hosts are nice - though nothing really clicked between us - and provided me with a map pointing out sights of interest in Camaguey. Plaza del Carmen was the nicest spot of all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaridadGarciaValera, Owner at Casa Caridad, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our
house. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could
have been.
We take very seriously our family business and for that reason we are very sorry that your room was not at the level you expected, our third room is now open remodeling we hope to have ready soon. Rooms deteriorate much when we are in high season in the austral winter.
However, we have to disagree on some elements of evaluation with respect to cleaning, because it has always been one of our priorities, but we will take action in terms of improving those elements that can have a negative influence.
Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling
to Camagüey again so that I may personally take care of you and your next
stay and we give you our best room.
Once again please do accept my apologies.
Sincerely
Caridad García Valera
caridadgarciavalera@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Large comfortable casa with multiple high ceiling rooms located conveniently a few blocks from the main street. Peaceful leafy garden courtyard to relax on rocking chairs and eat meals. Clean rooms with ensuite and a fridge with plenty of drinks and pricelist. Meals are good, particularly the soup at dinner. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and put in the effort to communicate despite our bad spanish. Slightly busy feel at times with visitors and guests in other rooms, but overall very good.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Although the casa is nice, spacious and clean, we did not get the same homie feeling as we had in other casas. The owner is very friendly (bit too much) and runs her casa as a real business which makes it a less genuine experience. The garden is nice to have meals. Diner is cooked by an emplyee and the langoustine we had was average compared to other casas. Soup however was very good. In-room fridge with plenty of beverages but no pricelist. Make sure you do inventory of number of beverages in the fridge at arrival, cause we were charged a sparkling water without having touched any. Another negative point was breakfast. The owner asked us what time we wanted breakfast but the two mornings we had to wait 30 minutes before we received any food on the table, which is a bit anoying when you have a tight planning for visiting. We have not encountered this problem in any other casa, where breakfast would be ready at agreed time. Overal nice casa but not very pleasantly managed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDutchMan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A lovely casa
It was a great pleasure to stay at Casa Caridad, which is centrally situated but still quiet. Mrs. Caridad, her husband and her staff welcome you with their warm hospitality in this lovely house.
We had made a reservation for 3 nights and had a beautiful spacious room with a high ceiling and doors and a separated bathroom tiled in art-deco style…….beautiful. The beds were excellent to sleep on and there was a lovely garden with flowers and plants and enough seats to relax or to have your breakfast and dinner. Because we had the experience in Vinales, Cienfuegos and Trinidad that having dinner in a casa particular is much, much better than in local restaurants we enjoyed the excellent delicacies Caridad and her staff served us during our stay. A stay to remember that’s why we highly recommend this casa particular to everybody visisting Camaguey.
camagueyrentals@gmail.com / Phone: +53 32 291554

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank aadentony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camaguey
0.2 mi away
Hotel E Santa Maria
Hotel E Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Camaguey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Islazul Hotel Colon
Islazul Hotel Colon
#7 of 11 in Camaguey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
57.4 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
Hotel E Camino de Hierro
#4 of 11 in Camaguey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel E La Avellaneda
Hotel E La Avellaneda
#5 of 11 in Camaguey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel E El Marques
Hotel E El Marques
#2 of 11 in Camaguey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caridad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caridad

Property: Casa Caridad
Address: Oscar Primelles (San Esteban) 310-A | Entre/ Bartolome Maso (San Fernando) Y Padre Olallo (Pobre), Camaguey 70100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Camaguey Province > Camaguey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Camaguey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a residence located in the center of the city of Camaguey, with the possibility of renting to tourists traveling in Cuba. The rooms are ventilated and air conditioned, with two large beds, ceiling fan, private bathroom with hot water, refrigerator, TV, and a large and beautiful inner courtyard, in touch with nature with appropriate furniture for rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Caridad Cuba/Camaguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing