We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Havana
Post
Inbox
Search

“Cooking with passion”
Review of Hecho en Casa

Hecho en Casa
Ranked #166 of 991 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Description: Small and cozy place, where the client and what he likes, leads the proposal of this "Home-Restaurant" of authentic homemade cuisine. "Hecho en Casa", a different experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Small and cozy place, where the client and what he likes, leads the proposal of this "Home-Restaurant" of authentic homemade cuisine. "Hecho en Casa", a different experience.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I took a group of 17 and not only did we feast like royalty, but we were treated as such. The chef is very passionate and attentive; explained every dish. She made sure that we were comfortable and felt at home. Nothing better than eating from the hands of a perfectionist. I HIGHLY recommend this foodie experience. Until next time ...

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank 55jannellec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2019

Hecho en Casa is a gem. It was our favorite meal of our trip. Chef Alina was so gracious and hospitable, explaining the different dishes to us. We asked her to cook whatever she would recommend for us and every single dish was perfect and delicious. We were traveling with young kids -- everything was so palatable for them and she made them a special mango drink which they still talk about! The mojito was the best we had in Havana. The service and ambience was wonderful as well.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 310jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

The experience I have had each time at "Hecho en Casa" can't be found in many other places. This is definitely the best spot. Great food, great environment, and great attention and those are just some of the qualities which make it a go-to spot when visiting Havana.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Shari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

We went 6 times during our 2 week stay in Miramar. It was the best food of any of the places in visited all over Havana. It is a short walk from the International School and several embassies. The chef, Alina, came out and explained every dish she served to our group. She paid special attention to my gluten and dairy sensitivities and served me something different when necessary. She also adjusted the meal for one of our vegetarian guests. The waiters are very friendly and accommodating.
We learned that she declined the opportunity to serve Prince Charles during our stay because of prior reservations. She told us that "my guests are my royalty". This deep passion on her part comes through in her cooking every time!!

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank grandmareads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

Last year we were thrilled to get to know Hecho en Casa and Chef Alina during our 2 week trip to Miramar as Global Volunteers. This year she greeted us like family and treated us like royalty. We dined with her 5 times during our two week stay and each time she amazed us with her passion for Cuba and for cooking. She accommodated our large group with flexibility and taught our "youth corps" how make mojitos.
Do not miss the gem and this wonderful team at Hecho en Casa
We are already looking forward to next year!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Destination821468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hecho en Casa also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Hecho en Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing