We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Havana
Post
Inbox
Search

“Extraordinary ”
Review of Hecho en Casa

Hecho en Casa
Ranked #166 of 991 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Description: Small and cozy place, where the client and what he likes, leads the proposal of this "Home-Restaurant" of authentic homemade cuisine. "Hecho en Casa", a different experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Small and cozy place, where the client and what he likes, leads the proposal of this "Home-Restaurant" of authentic homemade cuisine. "Hecho en Casa", a different experience.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

We went 6 times during our 2 week stay in Miramar. It was the best food of any of the places in visited all over Havana. It is a short walk from the International School and several embassies. The chef, Alina, came out and explained every dish she served to our group. She paid special attention to my gluten and dairy sensitivities and served me something different when necessary. She also adjusted the meal for one of our vegetarian guests. The waiters are very friendly and accommodating.
We learned that she declined the opportunity to serve Prince Charles during our stay because of prior reservations. She told us that "my guests are my royalty". This deep passion on her part comes through in her cooking every time!!

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank grandmareads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 52 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2019

Last year we were thrilled to get to know Hecho en Casa and Chef Alina during our 2 week trip to Miramar as Global Volunteers. This year she greeted us like family and treated us like royalty. We dined with her 5 times during our two week stay and each time she amazed us with her passion for Cuba and for cooking. She accommodated our large group with flexibility and taught our "youth corps" how make mojitos.
Do not miss the gem and this wonderful team at Hecho en Casa
We are already looking forward to next year!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Destination821468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

The chef came out to explain some of the dishes. Very nicely seasoned dips for warm fresh bread, pumpkin soup, entree of meat and rice. Healthy, creative, different,
with excellent service.

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank 724elaineq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019

This was a bit out of our Old Havana area in Miramar. The cab ride was $15. The prices are higher than the Old Havana Restaurants we went to, and the food is fancier. We aren't very "fancy" eaters but enjoyed the novelty of some of the dishes. The best part of the visit was the service. The waiter was attentive and wonderfully versed in cuisines and drinks. He even gave us an unsolicited, but welcomed, rum "tasting" to show us the differences in them.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019 via mobile

We went here for my birthday. We were lucky enough to get a table out on the beautiful terrace. The food was amazing, fresh based on what they got at the market that day and the chefs inspiration. They even came out and sang happy birthday to me! I felt so welcomed and special here. They were even nice enough to call us a cab at the end of our evening. I highly recommend Hecho en Casa to anyone looking for amazing food in Havana.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hecho en Casa also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Hecho en Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing