We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable!”
Review of El Templete

El Templete
Ranked #190 of 839 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: El Templete is a bayside restaurant. This restaurant is named ofter neighboring landmark built in 1928 that marks the spot where the settlement of San Cristóbal de la habana was founded in 1519. Originally opened sometimes between 1928 and 1931, it was the second restaurant in the city to have this name, and soon became the favorite of sailors, ahip captains and port pilots. Known since the 1950s as ¨The house of shellfish and international cuisine¨it was famous for its lobsters, shrimps, prawn, clams and delicious paellas, served while customers took in the splendid view of Havana.Today, El Templete revives its seafering tradition in the same atmosphere and continues serving delicious dishes prepared by its excellent Spanish Chef.Past and present come togetherto offer us first-class service and a wide variety of dishes to choose from.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Delicious food and international wine. Very friendly staff. The only fly in the ointment is a bit the busy street - you hardly see the water due to the cars and sometimes parking tourist buses. We enjoyed our stay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MooliArt-Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente:
Gracias por recomendarnos en el sitio de Tripadvisor para compartir su experiencia con los clientes que lo visitan. Nos complace mucho que se haya sentido satisfecho y especialmente el título de su opinión refleja su gratitud con la experiencia vivida aca en nuestra casa. Esperamos que siempre decida volver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 112 of 622 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

El Templete is located next to La Barca, both in Old Havana and on the Malecon.
They are similar in food and service, both very good for individual tourists or for groups.
We had good soup and a choice between 2 main meals, ropa vieja and shrimps with pineapple
both of which were very good. We had ice cream and a small piece of flan as dessert.

El Templete is conveniently located, also for the handicapped as cars can come next to it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nesligul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada:
Gracias por publicar su opinión favorable sobre el restaurante. Para nosotros es un placer que usted coloque sus comentarios y los decida compartir con otros visitantes haciendoles conocer su satisfacción por el lugar. Nos encanta que comente sobre los turistas en grupos que recibimos porque casi siempre como es un menú dirigido el que consumen no tenemos muchos comentarios al respecto. Esperamos que siempre decida visitarnos cuando vuelva a cuba en otra ocasión

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

only ate 2 starters but they were excellent - shrimps in garlic and broken eggs. Drinks (mojitos and cuba libres) were ones of the best we've had. waiter was friendly. A little expensive.

Thank Happy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente:
Gracias por la opinión publicada en el siiot sobre nuestro restaurante. Nos complace que se haya sentido a gusto y que las ofertas hayan sido de su agrado, para nosotros es un gran placer poder contar con clientes sarisfechos y esperamos que siempre regrese a visitarnos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Rated as one of the best restaurants in Havana and also, by Cuban standards, quite expensive.
Most of the food was disappointing to say the least - a Shrimp Cocktail was just a small pile
of shrimps on a plate with a small dollop of standard sauce. I had the grilled squid which was
tough, rubbery and inedible. We finished with a fairly nondescript bowl of ice-cream.
Not recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Customer
Thank you for publishing your views on the site but for us it would have been more effective than all your dissatisfactions were resolved in the restaurant. Regarding the food surprised us much feedback from some of the stars of the house dishes like squid, but we respect your opinion. If you would like to contact us, our intention is always to please customers and a bad reference is taken as an opportunity for improvement. We regret your dissatisfaction and we urge you to contact us
Marisol Vento Gort
comercial@templete.habaguanex.cu

It will be a pleasure to listen to your own criteria details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Mar 23
We held our farewell dinner here on the terrace. Unfortunately, it is not an attractive terrace with its awning and abutting the crowded public sidewalk. The management told us not to place personal items, eg, cameras, purses, on the table's edge because passerbyes have known to swipe items off the tables. Plus being next to a busy street exposes us to the choking diesel fumes.
Our set dinner included stuffed bell peppers, shrimp in garlic oil, overcooked fish, and brownie/ice cream dessert.
This place has very little ambience.

Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Customer.
We appreciate your feedback on the site to share with our visitors. You went to this place as part of a group with a menu that we offer to our travel agency, at least that's what the menu description it says. Regarding outside noise due to the proximity of the cars, I think it is inevitable due to the location of the restaurante. Havana is a city of much noise and ancient and historical area where it is our restaurants is much worse, it's part of our charm. As for the comments of the administration of the place in relation to accessories, I think that is part of the safety and warn all customers to take good care of your belongings staff can access the restaurant. It's a shame that the atmosphere will not be happy for you if we visit on another occasion you can find the room inside with more privacy and quieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Templete also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Templete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing