We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant at the sea side”
Review of El Templete

El Templete
Ranked #151 of 854 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: El Templete is a bayside restaurant. This restaurant is named ofter neighboring landmark built in 1928 that marks the spot where the settlement of San Cristóbal de la habana was founded in 1519. Originally opened sometimes between 1928 and 1931, it was the second restaurant in the city to have this name, and soon became the favorite of sailors, ahip captains and port pilots. Known since the 1950s as ¨The house of shellfish and international cuisine¨it was famous for its lobsters, shrimps, prawn, clams and delicious paellas, served while customers took in the splendid view of Havana.Today, El Templete revives its seafering tradition in the same atmosphere and continues serving delicious dishes prepared by its excellent Spanish Chef.Past and present come togetherto offer us first-class service and a wide variety of dishes to choose from.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Mostly a touristic restaurabts but they have good choice of starters and sea food dishes. Lobster with the sauce is very delicious but a little bit expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AresK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Sir:
Thanks for posting your views on the site to share with other visitors. We are happy that you have been pleased with the selection of starters and seafood, particularly lobster, one of our specialties. We hope you always choose come back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 125 of 625 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Enjoyed a tasty entree of salt and pepper squid, and shared mains of melt in your mouth steak, complimented with a choice of 3 sauces. (The blue cheese sauce was Devine. ) So nice after the many chewy meats and dry fish we had during our 10 day stay. Good choice of wines, and service was great. Would definitely go back again.

Thank Fiji1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Sir:
Our management team thank you for the positive comments published on the site. It's a pleasure to hear that you felt comfortable in our restaurant and it seemed appropriate our wines ´s offer. We hope that whenever you visit our country you decide back to our house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Probably the best food we had during our 3 week tour through Cuba. We were forced to eat at this restaurant due to the extremely heavy rain. (the bus stopped in front of the entrance) It was a well escape from the rain as the food was excellent. The menu had plenty of choices but the prices were pretty close to European prices. Havana is more expensive than the rest of Cuba, but this one came even above. Still a restaurant I would recommend to other travelers. Also because it is located close to many of the wonderful sites.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 14NABster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Sir:
A pleasure to receive your feedback. We feel comfortable that you have been pleased with our meal. It is true that our restaurant prices are high, but we made up for with the quality of products and we hope always be liked by the customers, you came here by chance and the rain brought you to this site and we hope you come back any time even when the rain is not present.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Frankly, prices are European and food isn't bad at all, so if you're ready for this, and after a few experience of rather tasteless food you usually are, then go for it! I went there on two occasions (dinner and lunch). I had been warned about the fact that also they are supposed to accept your credit card, they usually claim it's not working on that day. All you have to do is say that you don't have the cash and then suddenly a miracle occurs and your card works again. Their bread is warmed for you (they say baked but it tastes like the bread I buy frozen and that I simply put into my oven) and their olive oil is really tasty. I had a ceviche, it's nice but I recommend to share it with a friend as it's too generous for one person with a normal appetite, their lobster is good but very pricely (28 cuc) compared to other places where it's identical if not better for 12 cuc. Their dessert was OK (I had a tiramisu version of catalan cream and my son who had ordered something else was in fact happy with his tiramisu) and looked really nice. My son had a huge piece of lamb the first time and cod the second time. Again, lamb was too big a portion for one person. I had a nice tuna in sesame crust (that's the name, the reality was a tuna with a bit of sesame on it). So I guess with these tips I can recommend it. At lunch, stay on the terrace to watch the boats.
Service was just the Cuban average, meaning that staff is excellent at overlooking you when they are set to do something else...
And avoid lunch when it's full of tourist buses with set menus and loud stupid comments.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DRM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Sir:
Thanks for posting your views on the site to share with other visitors. It is a pleasure you have visited on 2 occasions our restaurant and decided to promote our site by view. We are pleased you have felt comfortable with your ​​son and appreciate all tips and suggestions you give us about certain dishes that drives us to improve our product to prospective customers.You will always be welcome back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

State owned restaurant with a good reputation that, based on our experience with a few friends, is not warranted. Service was patchy at best with meals served to wrong people, and waiters strongly denying they had it wrong, to the "suspect" bottle of Spanish wine we had started but they refused to accept had a problem. Food quality was mixed, with some very content and others just so so. And of course, mysteriously the credit card option disappeared (it was said dot be one of the few that do take cards) and cash was demanded

Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Sir:
It's a shame to read these as negative comments about our restaurant, but we thank you for sending us your impressions that always help us improve. We regret all the mistakes we made and made you feel upset. Everything will be strictly analyzed and the necessary measures will be taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Templete also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Templete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing