We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbearable waiting time” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Templete

El Templete
Ranked #155 of 765 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: El Templete is a bayside restaurant. This restaurant is named ofter neighboring landmark built in 1928 that marks the spot where the settlement of San Cristóbal de la habana was founded in 1519. Originally opened sometimes between 1928 and 1931, it was the second restaurant in the city to have this name, and soon became the favorite of sailors, ahip captains and port pilots. Known since the 1950s as ¨The house of shellfish and international cuisine¨it was famous for its lobsters, shrimps, prawn, clams and delicious paellas, served while customers took in the splendid view of Havana.Today, El Templete revives its seafering tradition in the same atmosphere and continues serving delicious dishes prepared by its excellent Spanish Chef.Past and present come togetherto offer us first-class service and a wide variety of dishes to choose from.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unbearable waiting time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Well, I was there on the 19th Nov 2013 and unfortunately I am veeeery disappointed. Not because of food (but definitely far from the best ones in Cuba- that is my opinion after spending a month in travelling all over Cuba - if able try for example 'Restaurante 1800' in Camaguei - lovely place and food by every means) but because of service. I was in the middle of the day, half of the tables were occupied, appetizers were served in 15minutes but we spent over an hour waiting for the main course - two times a fish of the day..... And 10% added to the bill - what for???? No more El Templete!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chrystian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Customer
We regret your dissatisfaction with the service into our own restaurant and we appreciate you let us know your opinion. In this way, we can work in terms of improving aspects that make customers feel bad and cause negative reviews of our restaurant. Thanks for communicating your concerns with the exact date of your visit. These facts should not occur again because we will take the necessary measures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    223
    84
    45
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First night in Cuba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was my first introduction to Cuban food and what a pleasant one it was.
Had it been a little warmer it would have been nice to sit outside and look at the bay but was satisfied to be indoors. Great place to begin exploring Cuban food, drink and culture.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Customer
Thanks for writing your opinions on the site to share with visitors. We appreciate that you have felt comfortable with the first meal you had in Cuba. We hope that in future visits you can enjoy the wonderful view from our terrace over the bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Havana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is not in a great position, especially in the night, but I had a great dinner. It was delicious and I would come back there.
The prices are high for the standard of Havana, that's sure, but it was worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tessafisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente:
Muchas gracias por los comentarios favorables que ha publicado en el sitio para compartir con otros visitantes.Nos complace mucho conocer que durante su estancia en Cuba tuvo su mejor cena en nuestra casa y que la considere especialmente la mejor de La Habana. El equipo se siente muy motivado cuando clientes satisfechos comparten su bienestar con nuestra oferta y el hecho de que haya tenido una estancia feliz y placentera nos impulsa a continuar trabajando. Nos encantaría conocer el porque usted comenta que la ubicación no es beneficiosa porque tenemos una maravillosa vista al mar y gran accesibilidad. Detodas formas esperamos sus comentarios al respecto. Lo esperamos siempre de vulelta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best meal in Cuba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

After eating a lot of plain grilled food this was a very welcome relief, much like an American restaurant but the prices are high... for Cuba!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada cliente:
Gracias por considerarnos la mejor comida de Cuba, para nosotros es un inemnso placer que usted nos recomiende de esa forma y que se haya sentido completamente a gusto con la oferta que degustó en nuestra casa. Cierto que los precios son altos pero teniendo en consideración la calidad con pretendemos ofrecer al cliente y el servicio que nos esmeramos en dar cada día, contamos con que este no sea el atributo que más recuerde el cliente que nos visita y sí que se lleve las memorias de su estancia. La esperamos siempre de vuelta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Really good food is difficult to find in Cuba so I was delighted to end up at this place. This was not the best food I have ever tasted but after a week of bland food it was a welcomed delight.This was one of the few restaurants that seem to have any flavoring to their food. Herbs and spices must be difficult to come by in Cuba because of the American blockade. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere with a wide open front space where you can eat as people pass by on the street. They had a full bar and the waitstaff were very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank User85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente:
Recibimos con placer sus comentarios favorables sobre nuestro restaurante, nos sentimos muy complacidos de que se haya sentido a gusto con nuestra comida y que la considere buena. Esperamos que cuando regrese algún día a visitar nuestro país decida visitarnos nuevamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Templete also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Templete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing