We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not one of our favorites.”
Review of El Templete

El Templete
Ranked #152 of 858 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: El Templete is a bayside restaurant. This restaurant is named ofter neighboring landmark built in 1928 that marks the spot where the settlement of San Cristóbal de la habana was founded in 1519. Originally opened sometimes between 1928 and 1931, it was the second restaurant in the city to have this name, and soon became the favorite of sailors, ahip captains and port pilots. Known since the 1950s as ¨The house of shellfish and international cuisine¨it was famous for its lobsters, shrimps, prawn, clams and delicious paellas, served while customers took in the splendid view of Havana.Today, El Templete revives its seafering tradition in the same atmosphere and continues serving delicious dishes prepared by its excellent Spanish Chef.Past and present come togetherto offer us first-class service and a wide variety of dishes to choose from.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Unfortunately the service was slow because of tour groups but the staff tried hard. It was ok, on the road with a view of the water, but not one of our favorite places.

Thank LeonNoel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Señor:
Lamentamos mucho que no se haya sentido complacido con nuestro servicio. Le puedo asegurar que siempre tomamos en cuenta todas las sugerencias de nuestro clientes y las analizamos de manera profunda en función de mejorar nuestra oferta. Estamos trabajando para agilizar la rapidez el servicio y que no ocurran situaciones similares a las percibidas por usted. Gracias de igual forma por hacernos saber y darnos una oportunidad para mejorar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 160 of 625 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went for a late lunch so we had the restaurant more or less to ourselves, in the evening it’s probably safer to book. We ate inside because it was windy, the decor was oldie worlde, spotlessly clean with nice tables covered with white linen tablecloths, decent wine glasses and good service. My wife had lobster tail served on top of the shell, the presentation was lovely as was the taste, I had two huge pieces of the most delicious tuna stuffed with cheese and tomato both came with mixed veg and potatoes washed down with a couple of glasses of very drinkable house white, we finished with ice-cream and coffee. The cost was 70CUC's fairly expensive for Havana but worth it for the quality and service.This is still cheap compared to UK prices. If you like fish don't hesitate just go you won't be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rickytricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Customer
Thanks for posting your comments on the site and help us with others visitors who can learn more about our restaurant. We are pleased and happy to have made ​​your stay a pleasant one at our house. Thanks for commenting on our offer, the decor of the place and the quality of service. All positive reviews and pleased customers greatly motivates our staff to work in order to keep the customer satisfaction. You will be always welcome and we hope you decide to come back and visit us when you return to Cuba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Situated on a noisy street overlooking the harbor, the El Templete serves really great seafood. We, being a party of 20, had a set menu lunch. Prawn starter, tuna wrapped in red pepper, a potato roll, maui maui with egg plant and some variety of potato that we did not recognise, a brownie with ice cream and coffee.
Really good tasty food

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear customer:
The restaurant manager wishes to thank your comments posted on the site to share with other visitors. Our restaurant gets a lot of client that are part of groups that visit us through travel agencies and we received very few reviews of tourists who consume a fixed supply. That's why, we are very grateful for this opinion and you recommend it as a good option. We hope you return to visit us always

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The best restaurant we came acrooss in Cuba. Good menu/wine list, reasonably priced and good service. As good as any international restaurant of its type. Great location if staying in Old Havana.

1  Thank jior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear customer:
We feel very happy with your opinions. Thank you for considering and recommending a good restaurant to live up to any international restaurant. For us it is a great pleasure to make customers feel at home in our place and are really pleased with our offer. See you back forever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had heard good things about El Templete, but found that dinner there was nothing special. We had the paella which was more than edible, but certainly not memorable. Service was good. The night we went the restauant was surprisingly quiet so the atmosphere was quite subdued. Overall just of for us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2sleepypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Customer
Thanks for posting your comments on the site. For us it is always very important to know the opinions of our visitors. We regret that we not exceeded your expectations and have dinner at our house only have seemed acceptable. However, we will endeavor to find alternatives on future occasions to delight our customers. We hope to always you return to visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Templete also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Templete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing