We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience ...”
Review of El Templete

El Templete
Ranked #181 of 829 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: El Templete is a bayside restaurant. This restaurant is named ofter neighboring landmark built in 1928 that marks the spot where the settlement of San Cristóbal de la habana was founded in 1519. Originally opened sometimes between 1928 and 1931, it was the second restaurant in the city to have this name, and soon became the favorite of sailors, ahip captains and port pilots. Known since the 1950s as ¨The house of shellfish and international cuisine¨it was famous for its lobsters, shrimps, prawn, clams and delicious paellas, served while customers took in the splendid view of Havana.Today, El Templete revives its seafering tradition in the same atmosphere and continues serving delicious dishes prepared by its excellent Spanish Chef.Past and present come togetherto offer us first-class service and a wide variety of dishes to choose from.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We ate here on a windy evening, so decided to have a table inside. Liked the decoration which was very attractive.

Unlike some reviewers, we had smiling and very helpful staff and good service. Also fantastic wine and very good fish. No complaints at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank j1954g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear customer:
Thank you for your comments posted. We are pleaced that you felt comfortable in our restaurant with food and service. Thank you for choosing our wine and our fish. Hope you always decide to return and become a loyal customer of the house

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 165 of 623 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Went to El Templete for our farewell dinner!
Staff was not friendly
Service just ok
Food was very mediocre.
Will not go back !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QuePasa405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente:
La dirección del restaurante lamenta mucho que no se haya sentido a gusto en nuestro sitio. Realmente nos apena que haya tenido esa mala experiencia a tal punto que decida publicar sus comentarios alegando que no volverá. Nuestro equipo considera sus valoraciones como oportunidades de mejora y le agradecería que se comunicara directamente con nosotros para conocer detalles y poder darle una mejor solución al problema que usted tuvo aca. Gracias por sus comentarios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went there for dinner based on recommendations and on the fact that I don't eat meat, but we did not know what to expect. The fish dishes were really delicious. The service was very good too. As we had not booked, we were given a table in the air-conditioned dining room rather than on the front terrace. But we did not have to wait and all was fine. We had a very pleasant experience there. It is very close to the Old Havana area, so walking distance from places where you can have an after dinner drink whilst listening to some wonderful Cuban music.

1  Thank martine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear customer:
It is always a pleasure to receive good feedback from our restaurant and our customers decide to write to the site to share their experiences with other visitors. We are pleased that you felt comfortable and the offer has seemed you pleasant. We hope you return to visit us when you visit our country again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went to this restaurant based on recommendations from guide books and were disappointed...we found much better food elsewhere! The lobster was completely overcooked, as was the other fish we ordered. The octopus appetizer was unpleasant, too. An expensive, unpleasant meal, though the service was nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LollipopLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear customer:
The management of the restaurant is very sorry that you have felt uncomfortable in our place. It's a shame that you were not enjoy supply and doesn´t commented on your disagreement on site to offer better proposals and you have left satisfied, which would have been more profitable for both. Anyway we always consider the opinions of our customers and opportunities for improvement and we hope when you return all this problems has been solved .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had Lunch here based on all the good reviews we had read and were not dissapointed. Great wine list and appatizers - the fish was the most impressive. Would go back it was our 4th day in Havana and was a nice change from the typical Cuban food we had elsewhere for lunches.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bararteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Customer:
Thanks for for your posting on the website about our restaurant. We are glad that you felt comfortable and consider our food. as ¨Great¨. We hope when you decide to return to Cuba, you always visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Templete also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Templete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing